Tokyo Sports releases the names of winners for their annual awards

Dec 13, 2018 - by Steve Gerweck

Tokyo Sports have released the names of winners for their annual awards.

Hiroshi Tanahashi has been named the MVP of the year, the first time he’s won the award since 2014. This is the fourth time he’s won the award overall. He won with eighteen votes. Kazuchika Okada came in second with twelve votes, while Kenny Omega got three.

New Japan also won Best Bout, with the Dominion match between Kazuchika Okada and Kenny Omega for the IWGP title winning that category. Tetsuya Naito also walked away with the Technique award.

Shuji Ishikawa and Suwama, who team regularly in All Japan Pro Wrestling, won the Best Tag Team award.

Pro Wrestling NOAH got a couple of nods as well. Kaito Kiyomiya won the Fighting Spirit award, while Naomichi Marufuji won a special award for his 20th anniversary, with an event taking place earlier this year where he faced the former KENTA (Hideo Itami). Tsukasa Fujimoto of Ice Ribbon also won for Joshi wrestler of the year.

The awards are usually divided out each year by Tokyo Sports and are given to the bigger pro wrestling promotions in Japan. For whatever reason, Dragon Gate did not get an award this year.


Leave a Reply