This Day In Wrestling History– July 22nd

Jul 22, 2014 - by staff


1994 After 16 hours of deliberation, a jury found WWF owner Vince McMahon not guilty of conspiracy to distribute steroids to wrestlers

1996 – The Monday Night War continued: WCW Monday Nitro defeated WWF Monday Night Raw: 2.6 to 2.2


In 2001, WWF Invasion was held at Gund Arena, in Cleveland, Ohio. With an attendance of 17,964. It was the 1st PPV to feature the WCW/ECW Invasion storyline:

Sunday Night Heat:
– Chavo Guerrero Jr. (WCW) defeated Scotty 2 Hotty (WWF)
– Edge & Christian (WWF) defeated Mike Awesome & Lance Storm (WCW)
– Earl Hebner (WWF) defeated Nick Patrick (WCW) with Mick Foley as special guest referee
– The APA (Faarooq & Bradshaw) (WWF) defeated The Natural Born Thrillers (Chuck Palumbo & Sean O’Haire) (WCW)
– Billy Kidman (WCW) defeated X-Pac (WWF)
– Raven (ECW) defeated William Regal (WWF)
– Chris Kanyon, Shawn Stasiak, & Hugh Morrus (WCW) defeated Albert, The Big Show, & Billy Gunn (WWF)
– Tajiri (WWF) defeated Taz (ECW)
– Rob Van Dam (ECW) defeated Jeff Hardy (WWF) to win the WWF Hardcore Title
– Trish Stratus & Lita (WWF) defeated Torrie Wilson & Stacy Keibler (WCW) in a Bra & Panties Match with Mick Foley as special guest referee
– The Alliance (Booker T, Diamond Dallas Page, Rhyno, Bubba Ray Dudley, & D-Von Dudley) (with Paul Heyman, ECW Owner Stephanie McMahon-Helmsley, & WCW owner Shane McMahon) defeated The WWF (Steve Austin, Kurt Angle, Chris Jericho, The Undertaker, & Kane) (with WWF Chairman Vince McMahon) in a 10-Man Tag Team Match. Austin defected to the Alliance during the course of the match

In 2007, WWE’s The Great American Bash was held at the HP Pavilion, in San Jose, California. With an attendance of 13,034:

Dark Match:
– Chuck Palumbo defeated Chris Masters
– MVP defeated Matt Hardy to retain the WWE United States Title
– Hornswoggle defeated Chavo Guerrero Jr., Jimmy Wang Yang, Shannon Moore, Funaki, & Jamie Noble in a Cruiserweight Open Match to win the WWE Cruiserweight Title
– Carlito defeated The Sandman in a Singapore Cane On A Pole Match
– Candice Michelle defeated Melina to retain the WWE Women’s Title
– Umaga defeated Jeff Hardy to retain the WWE Intercontinental Title
– John Morrison defeated CM Punk to retain the ECW Title
– Randy Orton defeated Dusty Rhodes in a Texas Bullrope Match
– The Great Khali (with Ranjin Singh) defeated Kane & Batista in a Triple Threat Match to retain the World Heavyweight Title
– John Cena defeated Bobby Lashley to retain the WWE Title

Title Changes

1943 – Earl McCready defeated Whipper Billy Watson to win the Toronto British Empire Heavyweight Title in Toronto, Ontario

1947 – Herb Welch defeated Tex Riley to win the Tennessee World Junior Heavyweight Title in Nashville, Tennessee

1960 – Danny Hodge defeated Angelo Savoldi to win the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title

1963 – Gene Kiniski defeated Whipper Billy Watson to win the Vancouver British Empire Heavyweight Title in Vancouver, British Columbia

1964 – The Destroyer defeated Dick the Bruiser to win the WWA World Heavyweight Title in Los Angeles, California

1968 – Paddy Barrett & Don Leo Jonathan defeated Abdullah the Butcher & Armand Hussein to win the Vancouver NWA Canadian Tag Team Title in Vancouver, British Columbia

1974 – Tex McKenzie & Ken Patera defeated The Blackjacks (Lanza & Mulligan) to win the NWA American Tag Team Title in Fort Worth, Texas

1977 – Keith Franks (Adrian Adonis) & Roddy Piper defeated Mando Guerrero & Tom Jones to win the NWA Americas Tag Team Title

1979 – Mark Lewin defeated Bruiser Brody to win the Texas Brass Knuckles Title

1981 – Bob Roop defeated Super Destroyer to win the MSW Louisiana Title

1985 – Butch Reed defeated Dutch Mantel to win the MSW Television Title

1985 – Phil Hickerson defeated Terry Taylor to win the CWA/AWA International Heavyweight Title in Memphis, Tennessee

1986 – The Masked Superstar defeated Lex Luger to win the Florida NWA Southern Heavyweight Title in Tampa, Florida

1989 – Jumbo Tsuruta & Yoshiaki Yatsu defeated Stan Hansen & Genichiro Tenryu to win the AJPW Unified World Tag Team Titles

1995 – Dick Slater & Bunkhouse Buck defeated Harlem Heat (Booker T & Stevie Ray) to win the WCW Tag Team Titles

1997 – on Nitro, Ultimo Dragon defeated Lord Steven Regal to win the WCW Television Title

1998 – The Haas Brothers (Charlie & Russ) defeated The Nation of Immigration (Homicide & Kane D), The Skinhead Express (Flash Wheeler & Lord Zieg) in a three-way match to win the vacant JAPW Tag Team Title in North Bergen, New Jersey

2000 – Rockford 2000 defeated Tony Kozina to win the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title

2002 – on Raw, Rob Van Dam defeated Jeff Hardy to unify the WWE European Title & the WWE Intercontinental Title. The European Title is retired

2005 – Bobby Roode defeated A-1 to win the Border City Wrestling Can-Am Heavyweight Title at “Wrestlefest” in Oldcastle, Ontario. At the same show, Phil Atlas & Jimmy Jacobs defeated Danny Daniels & N8 Mattson to win the BCW Can-Am Tag Team Title

2007 – Darkside defeated Drew Galloway (WWE’s Drew McIntyre), Jack Jester, Liam Thompson, & Wolfgang in a five-way match for the Insane Championship Wrestling Heavyweight Title at “ReZerection” in Glasgow, Scotland

2009 – Mick Foley defeated Kevin Nash to win the TNA Legends Title

2012 – 3 titles changed in NJPW. Firstly, Ten-Koji (Hiroyoshi Tenzan & Satoshi Kojima) defeated Chaos (Takashi Iizuka & Toru Yano) to win the vacant IWGP Tag Team Titles. Also, Forever Hooligans (Alex Koslov & Rocky Romero) defeated Jushin Liger & Tiger Mask IV to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Titles and finally, Shinsuke Nakamura defeated Hirooki Goto to win the IWGP Intercontinental Title

2012 – 2 titles changed in AJPW. Firstly, Magnus & Samoa Joe defeated Akitoshi Saito & Jun Akiyama to win the GHC Tag Team Titles. Secondly, Ricky Marvin & Super Crazy defeated Atsushi Aoki & Kotaro Suzuki to win the GHC Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to one-time ROH Tag & TNA X-Division Champion Kenny King (33), current WWE star Fandango (33), Dragon Gate regular Akira Tozawa (29), WWE Hall of Famer Shawn Michaels (49), & former WCCW star Shaun Simpson (48)

Also, today would have been the birthday of WWE Hall of Famers The Fabulous Moolah (91) & David Von Erich (56), as well as famed Japanese wrestler & trainer Hiro Matsuda (77)

Leave a Reply