All 12 participants in Continental Classic tournament announced

Nov 22, 2023 - by Colin Vassallo

All the 12 participants of the Continental Classic tournament were announced during a streaming special which aired a few hours ago on AEW’s social media properties.

The round-robin tournament will have two groups of six – the Blue League and the Gold League – and matches will take place across all three AEW shows: Dynamite, Rampage, and Collision. The first matches air tonight on Dynamite.

The Blue League has Bryan Danielson, Andrade, Brody King, Claudio Castagnoli, Eddie Kingston, and Daniel Garcia. The Gold League consists of Jon Moxley, Swerve Strickland, Mark Briscoe, Rush, Jay Lethal, and Jay White.

Each match will have a 20-minute time limit and points are three for a win and one for a draw. The winners of their respective groups with the most points will face off at the Worlds End pay-per-view on December 30 where they will be crowned the new AEW Triple Crown champion.

2 Responses

  1. Kenny Koolaid says:

    It’s a nice field but am I the only one that thinks round robin tournaments with blocks kinda ruins the whole gimmick of round robin? As to me the idea everybody in the tournament has to fight everybody else one on one is always appealing in any competition.

    But when you do blocks it’s just “everybody has to face half the competition unless you win the block then you get to fight one person from the other block” and that is just so less cool.

  2. What? says:

    I understand where you’re coming from, but it probably just came down to logistics. Twelve people in a true round robin would take a lot more time to get through, and the longer it goes on the more you risk most fans losing interest. The way they’re doing it is a more simplified version of a World Cup format, where it starts with round-robin group play and then single-elimination matches decide the winner. Or, you know, almost exactly like the Global Heritage Invitational that NXT just ran.

Leave a Reply