NWA U.S. Tag Team Championships returning at NWA 74th anniversary PPV

Jul 19, 2022 - by Marc Middleton

NWA announced the following today-

NWA United States Tag Team titles return at NWA 74!

ST. LOUIS – The National Wrestling Alliance (NWA) has a storied history which includes a number of different championships and belts.

With the recent success of the NWA, owned by William Patrick Corgan, and the level of interest in tag team wrestling seen during the recent Crockett Cup pay-per-views, the NWA is proud to announce we are reviving the NWA United States Tag Team Championships.

The new champions will be crowned on night 2 of NWA 74 on Aug. 28, 2022 in a 10 Team Battle Royale match involving several worthy contenders to be announced. This title has a diverse legacy which touched many of the NWA territories of the past as well as some of the most revered legends of tag team wrestling.

“It’s an honor to be able to bring back the NWA United States Tag Team Championships,” said William Patrick Corgan. “Our tag team division is red hot and full of deserving athletes who will now have a chance to make history in this sport. We are also looking at top tier tag teams outside the NWA which could also have an opportunity to compete for the new U.S. tag titles,” Corgan said.

This championship will be defended exclusively on NWA USA, which airs Saturdays at noon EST on Fite TV and the NWA YouTube channel, as well as during NWA pay-per-views.

The belts themselves will be unveiled during the two day NWA 74 pay-per-view at the historic Chase Park Plaza Hotel in St. Louis. The NWA 74 anniversary show is the biggest wrestling event of the year for the National Wrestling Alliance where all of our championships will be defended.

Tickets for NWA 74 are available now at NWATIX.com and the event will be broadcast live on pay-per-view through the FITE TV streaming service and available as part of the NWA All Access Annual Pass.

3 Responses

  1. James says:

    I hope the U.S. Tag Team titles give the champions of that title automatic #1 contendership for the World Tag Team titles.

  2. Taxx W Hoodchicken says:

    I hope former United States Tag Champion presents the belts

  3. James says:

    Yes, but there’s ten versions of the title, so I’m guessing they’ll go for their well-known version from JCP/WCW. If that’s the case, the man who should present the new champions the belts should be one of the following…

    Krusher Khruschev (with the late Ivan Koloff, they were the first NWA U.S. Tag Team Champions)
    Ron Garvin (held the titles one time with Barry Windham)
    Barry Windham (held the titles one time with Ron Garvin)
    Stan Lane (held the titles three times with the late Bobby Eaton)
    Bobby Fulton (held the titles two times with the late Tommy Rogers)
    Kevin Sullivan (held the title one time with the late Steve Williams)
    Rick Steiner (held the titles two times, once with the late Eddie Gilbert, once with his brother Scott)
    Scott Steiner (held the titles one time with his brother Rick)
    Michael Hayes (held the titles two times with Jimmy Garvin)
    Jimmy Garvin (held the titles two times with Michael Hayes)
    Todd Champion (held the titles one time with Firebreaker Chip)
    Firebreaker Chip (held the titles one time with Todd Champion)
    Steve Armstrong (held the titles one time with the late Tracy Smothers)
    Ron Simmons (held the titles one time with the late Big Josh)
    Terry Taylor (held the titles one time with Greg Valentine)
    Greg Valentine (held the titles one time with Terry Taylor)
    The Barbarian (with the late Dick Slater, they were the final U.S. Tag Team Champions)

Leave a Reply