This Day In Wrestling History – February 12th

Feb 12, 2020 - by Bill Fenbers

1966Joe McCarthy defeats Lorenzo Parente, to win the NWA Junior Heavyweight Championship.

1977Toru Tanaka defeats Chavo Guerrero, Sr., to win the NWA Americas Heavyweight Championship.

1978 Ted DiBiase defeats Dick Slater, to win the NWA Missouri Heavyweight Championship.

1985Jimmy Hart makes his WWF debut, at a TV taping in Poughkeepsie, NY, managing Jim Neidhart and Intercontinental Champion Greg Valentine.

1988Ivan Koloff and The Powers of Pain (Warlord & The Barbarian) defeat Dusty Rhodes, Road Warrior Hawk, & Paul Ellering, to win the NWA World Six-Man Tag Team Championship. Ellering substituted for Road Warrior Animal.

2000 – WCW’s Millennium Tour holds a show in Oberhausen, Germany, in front of 11,000 fans. The Harris Brothers defeat The Mamalukes (Big Vito & Johnny the Bull), become the new WCW World Tag Team Champions. In the main event, Sid Vicious defeats Jeff Jarrett, to retain the WCW World Heavyweight Championship.

2001 – In the Monday Night Wars, WWF RAW IS WAR (4.8 TV rating) beats WCW Monday Nitro (2.1 rating).

2003 – On the weekly NWA-TNA pay-per-view, Kid Kash defeats Sonny Siaki, to win the NWA-TNA X Division Championship.

2006 – TNA Against All Odds is held at the Impact! Zone in Orlando in front of 775 fans.

Pre-Show:Ron Killings defeats A-1. In a six-man tag team match, Lance Hoyt, Shark Boy, & Cassidy Riley defeat Shannon Moore & The Diamonds in the Rough (Elix Skipper & David Young).

PPV: The Naturals (Andy Douglas & Chase Stevens) defeat Austin Aries & Roderick Strong). In a Four-Way Match, Jay Lethal defeats Matt Bentley, Alex Shelley, and Petey Williams. The James Gang (Kip Games & B.G. James) defeat The Latin American Exchange (Homicide & Machete).  America’s Most Wanted (James Storm & Chris Harris) defeat Chris Sabin & Sonjay Dutt, to retain the NWA World Tag Team Championship.  Rhino defeats Abyss in a Falls Count Anywhere match.  In a Three-Way match, Samoa Joe defeats AJ Styles and Christopher Daniels, to retain the TNA X Division Championship. Team 3D (Brother Ray & Brother Devon) defeat Team Canada (Bobby Roode & Eric Young). Christian Cage defeats Jeff Jarrett, to win the NWA World Heavyweight Championship.

2007Matt Sydal defeats Masato Yoshino, to win the Dragon Gate “Open the Brave Gate” Championship.

2009 – It is announced that the Von Erich family would be inducted into the WWE Hall of Fame, as a group, on April 4th.  The group consisted of Fritz, Kerry, Kevin, Mike, David, and Chris. Kevin would represent the family on Induction Weekend.

2012 – TNA’s eighth and final Against All Odds pay-per-view is held at the Impact Zone in Orlando, in front of 1,100 fans.

Zema Ion defeats Jesse Sorensen via countout, to become the #1 contender for the X Division Championship.  Gail Kim defeats Tara, to retain the Knockouts Championship.  Samoa Joe & Magnus defeat Matt Morgan & Crimson, to retain the TNA World Tag Team Championship.  Robbie E. defeats Shannon Moore, to retain the TNA Television Championship. Austin Aries defeats Alex Shelly via submission, to retain the X Division Championship.  Kazarian defeats AJ Styles.  Gunner (with Eric Bischoff) defeats Garrett Bischoff (with Hulk Hogan).  In the main event, Bobby Roode wins a Four-Way Match over Bully Ray, James Storm, and Jeff Hardy, to retain the TNA World Heavyweight Championship.  Sting served as Special Guest Outside Enforcer.

2012 – NJPW’s 40th Anniversary Tour – The New Beginning 2012 is held in Osaka, Japan in front of 6,300 fans. Rocky Romero & Davey Richards defeat Apollo 55 (Prince Devitt & Ryusuke Taguchi), to win the IWGP Junior Tag Team Championship. Hirooki Goto defeats Masato Tanaka, to become the new IWGP Intercontinental Champion. In the main event, Kazuchika Okada defeats Hiroshi Tanahashi, to become the new IWGP Heavyweight Champion.

2016Kento Miyahara defeats Zeus, to win the vacant AJPW Triple Crown Championship. The title had been vacated by Suwama a month earlier, after he suffered a ruptured Achilles Tendon.

2017 – WWE Elimination Chamber is held in Phoenix, in front of 11,000 fans.

Preshow: Mojo Rawley defeats Curt Hawkins.

PPV: Becky Lynch defeats Mickie James. Apollo Crews and Kalisto defeat Dolph Ziggler in a Handicap Match. American Alpha (Chad Gable & Jason Jordan) win a Tag Team Turmoil Match, to retain the SmackDown Tag Team Championship. Natalya vs. Nikki Bella ends in a double countout.  Randy Orton defeats Luke Harper. Naomi defeats Alexa Bliss, to win the SmackDown Women’s Championship.  In an Elimination Chamber Match, Bray Wyatt defeats John Cena, The Miz, Dean Ambrose, AJ Styles, and Baron Corbin, to win the WWE Championship.

2019 – WWE Hall of Famer Pedro Morales passes away at age 76.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO:  Former CMLL wrestler Boby Zavala (29 years old); current CMLL wrestler Tiger (33 years old); indy wrestler Ashley Hollywood (34 years old); former WCW United States Champion & WWF Slammy Award winner, One Man Gang (60 years old); and mid-eighties WWF jobber Outback Jack (62 years old).

Leave a Reply