WrestleMania 35 featured the most title changes in a single night in WWE history

Apr 8, 2019 - by Colin Vassallo

Last night’s WrestleMania had the most title changes in a single WWE event ever.

Out of 16 matches on the card, nine of them were title matches and when you factor in that the main event was for both titles, then there were a total of eight title changes. Only The Usos and Samoa Joe – who defended the Smackdown Tag Team and United States titles respectively – managed to hang on to their belts. For Joe, it was a quick one too, finishing off the injured Rey Mysterio in one minute.

Tony Nese, Curt Hawkins and Zack Ryder, Seth Rollins, The IIconics, Kofi Kingston, Finn Balor, and Becky Lynch were all crowned winners throughout the 7.5-hour night as the Cruiserweight, Raw Tag Teams, Universal, Women’s Tag Teams, WWE Heavyweight, Intercontinental, and Raw and Smackdown Women’s titles all swapped owners.

Apart from the quick United States title match, two other title matches were over relatively quick. After the bell officially rang, it only took Seth Rollins two minutes and 30 seconds to win the Universal title from Brock Lesnar. The other quick match was Finn Balor vs Bobby Lashley for the Intercontinental title and Demon Balor was crowned a new champion just four minutes and five seconds later.

Leave a Reply