This Day In Wrestling History – October 6th

Oct 6, 2017 - by Bill Fenbers


Happy birthday Bruno!!

1972Chris Colt & Bobby Duncum defeat The Flying Redheads (Red Bastien & Billy Red Lyons), to win the NWA Texas Tag Team Championship.

1985 – WCCW’s Cotton Bowl Extravaganza is held at the Cotton Bowl stadium in Dallas, in front of 30,214 fans.

The Great Kabuki defeats Mark Lewin via disqualification.
Killer Brooks defeats Scott Casey.
Kelly Kiniski defeats Tommy Montana.
The Fantastics (Bobby Fulton & Tommy Rogers) defeat Dave Peterson & John Tatum.
Brian Adias defeats Jack Victory.
Iceman Parsons defeats One Man Gang in a Taped Fists Match.
– In a tag team Hair Match, Kevin & Kerry Von Erich defeat The Dynamic Duo (Gino Hernandez & Chris Adams).  Adams would lose his hair.

1997 – In the Monday Night Wars, WCW Monday Nitro (3.9 TV rating) beats WWF RAW IS WAR (3.1 rating).

1998Tamon Honda & Jun Izumida defeat Wolf Hawkfield & Johnny Smith, to win the AJPW All Asia Tag Team Championship.

1999Esther Moreno defeats Xochitl Hamada, to win the AAA Reina de Reinas Championship.

1999 – WWF Hall of Famer Gorilla Monsoon passes away after heart failure brought on by complications from diabetes.  Gorilla was 62 years old.

2006 – In a Five-Way Elimination Match, Delirious defeats Austin Aries, Jay Briscoe, Mark Briscoe, and Matt Sydal, to win Ring of Honor’s Survival of the Fittest tournament.

2007 – ROH Undeniable is held at the Inman Sports Club, in Edison, New Jersey.  The event was taped and aired on pay-per-view in January 2008.

Daizee Haze defeats Sara Del Rey (with Chris Hero, Larry Sweeney, & Bobby Dempsey)
Bryan Danielson defeats Chris Hero (with Larry Sweeney)
Austin Aries defeats Roderick Strong
The Briscoe Brothers (Jay & Mark) defeat The No Remorse Corps (Davey Richards & Rocky Romero), to retain the ROH World Tag Team Championship.
Nigel McGuinness defeats Takeshi Morishima, to win the ROH World Championship.

2013 – WWE’s first Battleground pay-per-view is held in Buffalo, in front of 11,700 fans.

Dolph Ziggler defeats Damien Sandow.
Battleground PPV:
– In a Hardcore Match, Albert Del Rio defeats Rob Van Dam, via submission, to retain the World Heavyweight Championship.
The Real Americans (Antonio Cesaro & Jack Swagger) defeat The Great Khali & Santino Marella.
Curtis Axel (with Paul Heyman) defeats R-Truth, to retain the WWE Intercontinental Championship.
AJ Lee (with Tamina Snuka) defeats Brie Bella (with Nikki Bella), to retain the WWE Divas Championship.
Goldust & Cody Rhodes defeat The Shield (Seth Rollins & Roman Reigns);  Goldust & Rhodes get reinstated by WWE after winning the match.
Bray Wyatt (with Erick Rowan & Luke Harper) defeats Kofi Kingston.
CM Punk defeats Ryback.
– With the vacant WWE Championship at stake, Randy Orton and Daniel Bryan fight to a no-contest;  the title remains vacant.

2016 – On Impact Wrestling, Eddie Edwards defeats Bobby Lashley, to win the TNA World Heavyweight Championship.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO:  former WWE talent Afa Jr. (33 years old);  3-time WWF Tag Team Champion Barry Darsow (58 years old);  WWE Hall of Famer Bruno Sammartino (82 years old);  one-time RAW guest host Ricky Hatton (39 years old);  and former TNA President Dixie Carter (53 years old).

Leave a Reply