This Day In Wrestling History – March 19th

Mar 19, 2017 - by Bill Fenbers

Happy birthday to AJ Lee!!

1968Tojo Yamamoto defeats Len Rossi, to win the NWA Southern Junior Heavyweight Championship.

1978Mr. Wrestling defeats Blackjack Mulligan, to win the NWA Mid-Atlantic United States Championship.

1979Rick Martel defeats Mad Dog Martin, to win the vacant New Zealand NWA British Empire Heavyweight Championship in Auckland, New Zealand.  Leo Burke had vacated the title earlier in the year.

1988Badd Company (Paul Diamond & Pat Tanaka) defeat The Midnight Rockers (Marty Jannetty & Shawn Michaels), to win the AWA World Tag Team Championship.

1989George Takano & Super Strong Machine defeat Masa Saito & Riki Choshu, to win the IWGP Tag Team Championship.

1995Cactus Jack defeats T. Rantula, to win the Steel City Wrestling Heavyweight Championship.

1995 – WCW’s first Uncensored pay-per-view is held in Tupelo, Mississippi in front of 5,782 fans.  No titles were on the line.  Meng defeats Jim Duggan in a Mixed Martial Arts Match.  In a Boxer vs Wrestler Match, Johnny B Badd (Boxer) defeats Arn Anderson (Wrestler).  In the main event, Hulk Hogan is declared the winner over Big Van Vader, in a Leather Strap Match;  this despite Hogan actually dragging an interfering Ric Flair, not Vader, while he touched all four turnbuckles.

2000 – The final WCW Uncensored is held in Miami, with only 5,000 fans in attendance.  Brian Knobbs defeats 3 Count (Shannon Moore, Shane Helms, & Evan Karagias), to win the Hardcore Championship.  The Harris Brothers (Ron & Don) defeat The Mamalukes (Big Vito & Johnny the Bull), to win the WCW World Tag Team Championship.  Sid Vicious defeats Jeff Jarrett, to retain the World Heavyweight Championship.  In the main event, Hulk Hogan defeats Ric Flair, in an Yappapi Indian Strap Match.  Hogan was featured in the main event of all six Uncensored pay-per-views.

2001 – In the second to last edition of the Monday Night Wars, WWF RAW IS WAR (4.6 TV rating) beats WCW Monday Nitro (2.1 rating).  Nitro features a live message from an absent Eric Bischoff;  Bischoff explains that he and his group attempting to purchase WCW had hit a few potential “brick walls.”  He goes on to announce that the March 26th Nitro, possibly the final episode ever, will be a “Night of Champions” event, with all five WCW titles on the line.  The video below has the entire message from Bischoff, plus Scott Steiner & Booker T brawling during a contract signing afterwards.  A bonus in this video is Dusty Rhodes making Ric Flair kiss his “ass” at the end of the show (Rhodes had brought a donkey with him to the arena).

Over on RAW, Raven wins the WWF Hardcore Championship for the 11th time, pinning The Big Show in the backstage area.  Also, Edge & Christian steal The Dudley Boyz’ #1 contender spot for the Tag Team Championship;  The Dudleys were late arriving to the arena.  Edge & Christian would defeat The Hardy Boyz, with an assist from Rhyno (in his WWF debut), to become new Tag Team Champions.  When the Dudleys arrive they’re granted their title shot;  with an assist from Spike Dudley (also in his WWF debut), The Dudleys defeat Edge & Christian, to win the Tag Team Championship.

2007Sports Illustrated reported that several WWE wrestlers were linked to Scottsdale, Arizona doctor David Wilbirt.  Wilbert was under investigation by the Drug Enforcement Agency, for being part of an Internet drug ring, writing nearly 4,000 illegal prescriptions.  Names included in the report included Kurt Angle, Edge, Eddie Guerrero, Gregory Helms, Rey Mysterio, Randy Orton, and at least five others.

2010La Legion Extranjera (Taiji Ishimori & Takeshi Morishima) defeat La Hermandad 187 (Joe Lider & Nicho El Millionario), to win the AAA World Tag Team Championship.

2011 – At Ring of Honor’s Manhattan Mayhem IV, Eddie Edwards defeats Roderick Strong, to win the ROH World Championship.  In doing so, Edwards becomes ROH’s first Triple Crown Champion.

2015 – It is announced on, and then again on this evening’s  SmackDown, that Tatsumi Fujinami would be inducted into the WWE Hall of Fame class of 2015.

2016 – At Pro Wrestling NOAH’s Great Voyage 2016 in Korakuen, Hajime Ohara & Kenoh defeat Atshushi Kotege & Daisuke Harada, to win the GHC Junior Tag Team Championship.

2016 – At Day 1 of New Japan’s Road to Invasion Attack 2016, Steve Anthony defeats Tiger Mask IV, to win the NWA Junior Heavyweight Championship.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO: 3-time WWE Divas Champion AJ Lee (30 years old);  former WWE & ROH Tag Team Champion Evan Bourne/Matt Sydal (34 years old);  longtime WWF/E referee Jim Korderas (55 years old);  former CMLL World Heavyweight Champion Brazo de Plata (44 years old);  and current IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Champion Taichi Isikari (37 years old).

Today would’ve been the 57th birthday for 4-time USWA World Tag Team Champion Lanny Keane (Moondog Cujo).

SOURCES: DDT Digest,, The Internet Wrestling Database,

Leave a Reply