This Day In Wrestling History – February 14th

Feb 14, 2017 - by Bill Fenbers


1986Lex Luger defeats Jesse Barr, to win the NWA (Florida) Southern Heavyweight Championship.

1988 – John Tatum & Jack Victory reclaim the vacant WCWA Texas Tag Team Championship, after winning a high-card draw.

1994Eddie Gilbert wins the USWA Unified World Heavyweight Championship, defeating Jerry Lawler.

1999 – WWF’s In Your House: St. Valentine’s Day Massacre is held at The Pyramid in Memphis, in front of 19,028 fans.  The newly named Hardcore Holly defeats Al Snow, to win the vacant WWF Hardcore Championship.  The title had been vacated by Road Dogg after he was attacked backstage.  Val Venis wins the Intercontinental Championship after defeating Ken Shamrock (Billy Gunn served as special guest referee).  Mankind retains the WWF Championship, after his match with The Rock ends in a draw.  In the main event, Stone Cold Steve Austin wins a Steel Cage Match against Mr. McMahon, to become the #1 contender for the WWF Championship, at WrestleMania XV.  Austin was inadvertently helped by a debuting Paul Wight.  Wight had thrown Austin into the cage so hard that a panel swung open, allowing Austin to win via escaping the cage.

2000 – In the Monday Night Wars WWF RAW IS WAR (4.4 TV rating) beats WCW Monday Nitro (3.6 rating).

2004 – At Ring of Honor’s Second Anniversary Show, AJ Styles defeats CM Punk, in a tournament final, to become the inaugural ROH Pure Champion.  Jay & Mark Briscoe retain the ROH World Tag Team Championship, defeating Johnny Kashmere & Trent Acid.  And Samoa Joe wins a Four Corners Survival Match (with B.J. Whitmer, Low Ki, & Dan Maff), to retain the ROH World Championship.

2010 – TNA Against All Odds is held at the TNA Impact! Zone in Orlando, in front of 1,100 fans.  Samoa Joe cashes in his “Feast or Fired” briefcase and challenges AJ Styles for the TNA World Heavyweight Championship.  In a No Disqualification Match, with Eric Bischoff serving as special guest referee, Styles defeats Joe, to retain the title.  The 8-Card Stud Tournament is held also.  D’Angelo Dinero defeats Mr. Anderson in the finals, to win the tournament.  Earlier Dinero had defeated Desmond Wolfe and Matt Morgan.

2010Negro Casas wins the CMLL World Middleweight Championship, defeating El Hijo del Fantasma.

2011 – The host of WrestleMania 27 is revealed to be The Rock, who makes his first appearance on WWE RAW in almost seven years.

2015 – NJPW’s The New Beginning 2015 in Sendai is held in Sendai, Japan in front of 2,900 fans.  Jushin Thunder Liger retains the NWA Junior Heavyweight Championship after defeating Chase Owens.  Hiroyoshi Tenzan wins the NWA World Heavyweight Championship after defeating Rob Conway.  Shinsuke Nakamura retains the IWGP Intercontinental Championship after defeating Yuji Nagata.  And Tomohiro Ishii wins the vacant NEVER Openweight Championship, defeating Tomoaki Honma.  The title was vacated by Togi Makabe, who came down with influenza.

2016Kenny Omega defeats Hiroshi Tanahashi, to win the IWGP Intercontinental Championship.

2016 – Jay & Mark Briscoe, along with Toru Yano, win the NEVER Openweight 6-Man Tag Team Championship, defeating The Bullet Club (Bad Luck Fale, Tama Tonga, & Yujiro Takahashi).

Happy Birthday to independent wrestler Mistress Belmont.

Leave a Reply