This Day In Wrestling History – December 3rd

Dec 3, 2016 - by Bill Fenbers


1984 – Ted DiBiase and Hercules Hernandez defeat The Rock ‘n’ Roll Express (Ricky Morton and Robert Gibson), to win the Mid South Wrestling Tag Team Championship.

1991 – WWF This Tuesday In Texas is held in San Antonio in front of 8,000 fans.  In the main event, Hulk Hogan defeats The Undertaker, to become the new WWF Champion.

2000 – ECW Massacre on 34th Street is held at the Hammerstein Ballroom in New York with 2,600 fans in attendance.  Rhino defeats Spike Dudley to retain the ECW World Television ChampionshipSteve Corino retains the World Heavyweight Championship, after winning a Three-Way Dance involving Jerry Lynn and Justin CredibleDanny Doring and Amish Roadkill become the new Tag Team Champions after defeating The F.B.I. (Little Guido and Tony Mamaluke).  Doring and Roadkill would hold the tag team titles up until ECW’s closure in April 2001.

2005 – Joey Ryan defeats Kevin Steen, to become the new Pro Wrestling Guerilla World Champion.  This begins a 406-day reign as champion for Ryan.

2006 – The WWE-produced ECW December to Dismember is held in Augusta, Georgia in front of 4,800 fans.  In the main event, Bobby Lashley becomes the new ECW World Champion;  Lashley defeats Big Show, Rob Van Dam, Hardcore Holly, Test, and CM Punk in an Extreme Elimination Chamber Match.  Paul Heyman would leave WWE after this event, after clashing with Vince McMahon before the event, regarding Big Show dropping the championship to Lashley rather than to Punk (both Heyman and Big Show were in favor of Punk winning the title while Vince was not).

2007 – On Monday Night Raw, Jeff Hardy retains the WWE Intercontinental Championship after defeating Snitsky.

2010 – Montel Vontavious Porter (MVP) makes his final WWE appearance, on this evening’s Friday Night SmackDown; the show had been taped on November 30th, two days before MVP’s release.

2011 – At Ohio Valley Wrestling’s Saturday Night Special, Johnny Spade and Shiloh Jonze become the new OVW Southern Tag Team Champions;  known as OMG, Spade and Jonze defeat incumbent champs The Elite (Adam Revolver and Ted McNaler), along with James Ono and Tony Gunn in a Three-Way Tag Match.

2011 – At DREAMWAVE The Fight Before Christmas, Cousin Bobby and Cousin Dixie defeat Brett Gaikya and C.J. Esparza, to win the DREAMWAVE Tag Team Championship.

2012 – On Monday Night Raw, Antonio Cesaro retains the WWE United States Championship, after winning a Fatal 4-Way Match that included Wade Barrett, Kofi Kingston, and R-Truth.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO: Indy wrestlers Jonathan Ramser (26 years old), Ray Beez (36 years old), and Jordan Cage (35 years old);  CMLL performer Ramstein (42 years old);  former ECW World Television Champion Super Crazy (43 years old);  former WCWA Tag Team Champion Steve Simpson (53 years old);  WWE RAW Guest Host 11/2/2009 Ozzy Osbourne (68 years old);  and 3-time IWGP Heavyweight Champion Riki Chosu (65 years old).

Today would’ve been the 63rd birthday for indy wrestler Ray Candy.

SOURCES: The Internet Wrestling Database, Pro Wrestling Torch, Gerweck Archives

Leave a Reply