This Day In Wrestling History – November 21st

Nov 21, 2016 - by Bill Fenbers

Happy birthday to the Bella twins!!

Happy birthday to the Bella twins!!

If you missed it yesterday, here’s the November 20th This Day In Wrestling History.

1966 – Joe Blanchard defeats Fritz Von Erich, to win the NWA Texas Heavyweight Championship.

1978 – Tony Garea and Larry Zbyszko defeat The Yukon Lumberjacks, to win the WWWF World Tag Team Championship.

1988 – Ted Turner and Turner Broadcasting System purchase a majority interest in Jim Crockett Promotions for $9 million.  Turner Broadcasting would rebrand Jim Crockett Promotions as World Championship Wrestling.

1999 – WCW Mayhem is held in Toronto in front of 13,839 fans.  Full results can be found here.  Norman Smiley defeats Brian Knobbs, to become the inaugural WCW Hardcore Champion.  Buff Bagwell defeats Curt Hennig in a Retirement Match, forcing Hennig to “hang up his boots.”  Bret Hart defeats Chris Benoit, in a tournament final, to win the vacant WCW World Heavyweight Championship.

2008 – In a match to determine if he’ll be included in the WWE Championship Match at Survivor Series, Jeff Hardy defeats WWE Champion Triple H, in a non-title match, on this evening’s Friday Night SmackDown.  Hardy’s victory makes the title match at the pay-per-view a Triple Threat Match;  Vladimir Kozlov is the third participant.


2010 – WWE Survivor Series is held in Miami in front of 8,000 fans.  Full results can be found here.  If not for public outcry and petitions being circulated, this would’ve been rebranded as a different pay-per-view;  the 2009 event was almost the finale in the Survivor Series chronology.  The main event saw Randy Orton retain the WWE Championship, after defeating Wade BarrettNEXUS member John Cena, the special guest referee, was “fired” per match stipulation.  If Barrett had won the match, Cena would no longer have to be part of NEXUS.  But since Orton retained the title, Cena was fired by Barrett.

2013 – Magnus and Bobby Roode win quarterfinal matches in the TNA World Title Tournament, on this evening’s Impact Wrestling.  In the semi-finals, Roode will face Jeff Hardy;  Magnus will face Kurt Angle.

2014 – On this evening’s WWE SmackDown, Triple H of The Authority announces that if Team Authority defeats Team Cena at Survivor Series, all members of Team Cena (except John Cena himself) would be fired.  Team Cena will consist of John Cena, Dolph Ziggler, Ryback, Big Show, and Erick Rowan.  Team Authority will consist of Seth Rollins, Kane, Mark Henry, Rusev, and Luke Harper;  Team Authority will also have Triple H, Stephanie McMahon, Joey Mercury, Jamie Noble, and Lana in their corner.  It was announced on the November 3rd Monday Night Raw, that if Team Authority LOSES, this match, Triple H and Stephanie McMahon will no longer be in power.

2015 – In Ohio Valley Wrestling, Jessie Belle wins the vacant OVW Women’s Championship.  Belle wins a Ten-Woman Battle Royal to become the first Women’s Champion, since the title was vacated November 1st, 2014.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO:  Indy wrestler Jay Jensen (38 years old);  former IWA Mid-South wrestler Holly Wood (36 years old);  former indy wrestler Dynamite D (47 years old);  former WCW wrestlers Jerry Flynn (57 years old) and Johnny Rich (60 years old);  4-time Ohio Valley Wrestling (OVW) Southern Tag Team Champion Cassidy O’Reilly aka Kassidy James (40 years old);  3-time WWF Tag Team Champion as part of The Wild Samoans, & 2007 WWE Hall of Famer Afa Anoa’i (74 years old);  4-time Dragon Gate Open the Dream Gate Champion Shingo Takagi (34 years old);  former AJPW Junior Heavyweight Champion & All Asia Tag Team Champion Tsuyoshi Kikuchi (52 years old);  4-time ECW World Heavyweight Champion & 2-time WCW Tag Team Champion Shane Douglas (52 years old);  and finally, 2-time WWE Divas Champion & current SmackDown Live wrestler Nikki Bella, along with her twin sister, another former Divas Champion, Brie Bella (both 33 years old).

SOURCES: WrestleView, The Internet Wrestling Database

(Visited 70 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply