This Day In Wrestling History – November 11th

Nov 11, 2016 - by Bill Fenbers

Happy birthday, Eli Drake!

Happy birthday, Eli Drake!

1939 – Red Ryan defeats John Grandovitch, to win the NWA Florida Heavyweight Championship.

1959 – Bobby and Don Fields defeat John Smith and Tosh Togo, to win the NWA Mid-Southern Tag Team Championship.

1960 – Fred Blassie defeats Tiny Evans, to win the NWA (Georgia) Southern Heavyweight Championship for the 16th time.

1970 – Mr. Wrestling defeats Johnny Valentine, to win the NWA Texas Heavyweight Championship.

1971 – Ken Lucas defeats Eddie Sullivan, to win the NWA (Gulf Coast) Mississippi Heavyweight Championship.

1974 – Jerry Lawler and Tojo Yamamoto defeat Al Greene and Phil Hickerson, to win the NWA Mid-Southern Tag Team Championship.

1978 – Randy Savage defeats Dutch Mantel, to win the NWA Mid-America Heavyweight Championship.

1985 – Eddie Gilbert and The Nightmare defeat Al Perez and Wendell Cooley, to win the Mid-South Wrestling Tag Team Championship.

1988 – Eric Embry defeats Jeff Jarrett, to win the WCWA World Light Heavyweight Championship.

1991 – On a taping of WWF Survivor Series Showdown, Ted DiBiase defeats Virgil, to win the Million Dollar Championship.  This would be televised November 24th.

1996 – In the Monday Night Wars, WCW Monday Nitro (3.7 TV rating) beats WWF Monday Night Raw (2.5 rating).

1998 – On this evening’s ECW Hardcore TV, The Dudley Boyz (Bub Buh Ray and D-Von) defeat Balls Mahoney and Masato Tanaka, to win the ECW World Tag Team Championship for the 5th time.

1999 – Arnold Schwarzenegger guest stars on this evening’s WWF SmackDown.  He’s presented with a WWF Championship belt as the “Box-office Champion,” and assists in the outcome of the main event involving D-Generation X and the team of Kane, The Rock, Test, and Shane McMahon;  Stone Cold Steve Austin served as special outside enforcer.

On the same episode, The Big Boss Man interrupts the funeral of Big Show’s father;  he eventually chains a casket to his car and drives off with it, with Big Show jumping on the casket and being dragged away.

2000 – Nate Hatred defeats Wifebeater, to win the Combat Zone Wrestling (CZW) Ironman Championship.

2005 – This evening’s broadcast of WWE Friday Night SmackDown is the last-ever event for Eddie Guerrero.  He would pass away two days later.

2006 – The BLK-OUT (Robbie Mireno and Sabian) defeat The Kings of Wrestling (Chris Hero and Castagnoli), to win the CZW World Tag Team Championship.

2007 – TNA Genesis is held at the Impact! Zone in Orlando in front of 900 fans.  Booker T made his TNA debut in the main event;  a tag team match involving himself & Sting against Kevin Nash & World Heavyweight Champion Kurt Angle.  Sting & Booker T were attacked during the match by A.J. Styles and Tomko;  Angle then hit Nash with the championship belt and Olympic slammed Sting, to retain the World Heavyweight Championship.  In another match, Kaz becomes #1 contender to the World Heavyweight Championship, defeating Christian Cage in a Ladder Match.  Full results of Genesis ’07 can be found here.

2009 – In Ohio Valley Wrestling, Mike Mondo and Turcan Celik defeat Big Men on Campus (Moose and Tilo), to win the OVW Southern Tag Team Championship.

2011 – The CMLL World Heavyweight Championship is vacated, after champion Hector Garza decides to leave the company.

2012 – Two titles change hands at NJPW Power Struggle ’12The Time Splitters (Alex Shelley and Kushida) defeat Forever Hooligans (Alex Koslov and Rocky Romero), to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Championship.  Also Low Ki defeats Prince Devitt, to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Championship.

2012 – TNA Turning Point is held at the Impact! Zone in Orlando in front of 1,100 fans.  Jeff Hardy retains the TNA World Heavyweight Championship after defeating Austin Aries.  James Storm defeats A.J. Styles and Bobby Roode, to become #1 contender for the World Heavyweight Championship.  Since Styles was pinned to end the match, he was not eligible to compete for the World Heavyweight Championship again, until Bound for Glory in October 2013.  Full results from Turning Point 2012 can be found here.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO: Former WWE & TNA talent Kristal Marshall (33 years old);  former WCW wrestler Van Hammer (49 years old);  the first & only champion in Wrestlicious & former NWA World Women’s Champion Christie Ricci aka “Glory” (34 years old);  former All Japan Women’s Champion Dump Matsumoto (56 years old);  former NWA Intercontinental Tag Team Champion Matt Ghaffari (55 years old);  2-time Combat Zone Wrestling (CZW) Wired Champion & current ROH wrestler Lio Rush (22 years old);  and 2016 TNA “Bound for Gold” winner & former King of the Mountain Champion Eli Drake (34 years old).

SOURCES: The Internet Wrestling Database, The People’s Wrestling Website, YouTube, RAW Wrestling Rants, Pro Wrestling Wiki, WrestleView

(Visited 140 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply