This Day In Wrestling History – October 15th

Oct 15, 2016 - by Bill Fenbers

1963 – Bobo Brazil vs. Tino Tim Anderson marks the first professional wrestling bout involving black male wrestlers in Tampa, Florida.

1965 – Johnny De Fazio defeats Paul DeGalles, to win the WWWF Junior Heavyweight Championship.

1978 – David and Kevin Von Erich defeat Terry Funk and Dory Funk, Jr., to win the NWA American Tag Team Championship.

1981 – Junkyard Dog and Mike George defeat The Samoans (Afa and Sika), to win the Mid-South Tag Team Championship.

1988 – Steve Cox and Michael Hayes defeat The Samoan Swat Team, to win the WCWA World Tag Team Championship.  Also, Jeff Jarrett defeats Eric Embry, to win the WCWA World Light Heavyweight Championship.

1994 – In Smoky Mountain Wrestling, Scotty Studd defeats Boo Bradley, to win the SMW Television Championship.

2000 – Day two of the NWA 52nd Anniversary Show is held in Nashville, Tennessee.  Only 200 people attended the second night, after 500 attended the night before.

-Blade Boudreaux defeats Bulldog Raines, to win the NWA Mid-South Heavyweight Championship.
-In Fatal Four-Way Magic defeats Biggie Biggs, Eric Kreed, and  Zieg, to retain the NWA New York Heavyweight Championship.
-N8 Mattson defeats Ricco Rodriguez to win the NWA Great Lakes Junior Heavyweight Championship.

-The Maniacal Crew (Brother Love and Joey Venture) defeat The New Texas Outlaws (Ricky Murdock and Austin Rhodes), to win the NWA Southern Tag Team Championship.
– Jimmy Angel and Paul Atlas defeat Big Poppa Gator and Brandon K (subbing for JB Destiny), to win the NWA East Tag Team Championship.
– Jason Rumble defeats Beau Douglas to win the NWA New England Heavyweight Championship.

2003 – In Ohio Valley Wrestling, Mark Magnus defeats Johnny Jeter, to win the OVW Heavyweight Championship.

2004 – The NWA 56the Anniversary Show is held in Winnipeg, Manitoba over a two-night period.  The results below are from the first night.

-Tejas defeats Dustin Masters, to retain the NWA Texas Heavyweight Championship.
-Conscience defeats LA Warren, to retain the NWA Scottish Heavyweight Championship.
– Dru Onyx defeats Will Phoenix, to win the vacant NWA British Commonwealth Heavyweight Championship
– Vid Vain defeats Kerry Brown, to win the NWA Canadian Heavyweight Championship.
– Spyder defeats Rick Murdock, to win the NWA National Heavyweight Championship.

2004 – On TNA Impact!, Team Canada (Bobby Roode and Eric Young) defeat Christopher Daniels and James Storm, to win the NWA World Tag Team Championship.

2005 – In World Women’s Wrestling, Violet Flame defeats Natalia, to win the NECW World Women’s Championship.

2006 – Former USWA Heavyweight Tag Team and Junior Heavyweight Champion Joey Maggs dies at the age 0f 37.  The cause of death has ever been made public.

2008 – In Ohio Valley Wrestling, Igotta Brewski defeats Jamin Olivencia, to win the OVW Television Championship.

2010 – WWE confirms the release of Matt Hardy.  Hardy says he was released two weeks prior.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO: Five-time GHC Tag Team Champion & 3-time GHC Heavyweight Champion Takeshi Morishima (38 years old), 2-time (and current) IWGP Tag Team Champion & 2-time CMLL World Tag Team Champion Tama Tonga (34 years old), and former WWF Hardcore Champion Joey Abs (45 years old).

Leave a Reply