This Day In Wrestling History – May 30th

May 30, 2015 - by staff


1978 – Antonio Inoki won the NJPW MSG League, defeating Andre The Giant in the final

2008 – WWE Heat aired for the final time on, ending a near decade-long run

2008 – WWE transferred Hacksaw Jim Duggan from a full-time talent to a talent under a legends deal

2008 – Bobby Lashley appeared at an American Fight League MMA card in Atlanta to announce his signing with the company, setting the stage for his 1st MMA bout following his WWE run

2012 – WWE announced that Randy Orton was suspended effective for 60 days for his 2nd violation of the WWE Wellness Policy

2012 – WWE released Dr. Tom Prichard from his position in WWE developmental, where he had been a top trainer


In 1986, A tournament was held to crown the 1st ever Universal Wrestling Federation Champion in Houston, Texas. The UWF was the new name for Bill Watts’ Mid-South Wrestling, which had grown and expanded to include more cities outside of it’s original Louisiana & Oklahoma territory. Prior to the tournament, “Hacksaw” Jim Duggan, the reigning Mid-South North American Champion, vacated his title, as the UWF Title would now be the top championship for the company:

First Round:
– Jim Duggan defeated Buddy Roberts
– Chavo Guerrero Sr. vs. Buzz Sawyer ended in a double DQ
– Jack Victory defeated Brett Sawyer
– Kamala defeated Sting
– Steve Williams defeated Rick Steiner
– Terry Taylor vs. Michael Hayes ended in a draw
– Ted DiBiase defeated Rock (Ultimate Warrior)
– Terry Gordy defeated Koko B. Ware
– Jim Duggan received a bye to the semifinals
– Kamala defeated Jack Victory
– Steve Williams received a bye to the semifinals
– Terry Gordy defeated Ted DiBiase
– Jim Duggan defeated Kamala
– Terry Gordy defeated Steve Williams
– Terry Gordy defeated “Hacksaw” Jim Duggan to become the 1st UWF Heavyweight Champion

In 2005, WWE Monday Night Raw was broadcast live at the Pengrowth Saddledome, in Calgary, Alberta, Canada:

– Christy Hemme defeated Candice Michelle, Victoria, Lilian Garcia, & Maria Kanellis in a Memorial Day Swimsuit Competition
– Rosey & The Hurricane (with Stacy Keibler) defeated The Heart Throbs (Antonio & Romeo) to retain the World Tag Team Titles
– Shelton Benjamin defeated Rob Conway, & Sylvain Grenier to retain the WWE Intercontinental Title in a 3-way Match
– Edge (with Lita) defeated Chris Benoit in a Tables Match
– Batista defeated Mohammad Hassan (with Daivari) via DQ to retain the WWE World Title

In 2011, WWE Monday Night Raw was broadcast live from The Qwest Center, in Omaha, Nebraska:

Dark Match:
Drew McIntyre defeated Chris Masters
Monday Night Raw:
– Dolph Ziggler (with Vickie Guerrero) defeated Kofi Kingston
– Kelly Kelly & Eve Torres defeated The Bella Twins (Nikki & Brie Bella)
– CM Punk (with Mason Ryan) defeated Rey Mysterio Jr.
– Evan Bourne defeated Jack Swagger
– R-Truth defeated John Cena via countout
Dark Main Event:
– John Cena defeated The Miz to retain the WWE Title

Title Changes

1925 – Joe Stecher defeated Stanislaus Zbyszko to win the World Heavyweight Title in St. Louis, Missouri

1943 – Joe Silva defeated Adolfo Bonales to win the Mexico National Lightweight Title in Mexico City, Mexico

1945 – Marshall Esteppe defeated Ken Fenelon to win the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title

1970 – Bobby Hart defeated Johnny Valentine to win the NWA Southern Junior Heavyweight Title in Memphis, Tennessee

1973 – Haystacks Calhoun & Tony Garea defeated Mr. Fuji & Professor Tanaka to win the WWWF Tag Team Titles

1981 – Jack Brisco defeated Kim Song to win the WWC Caribbean Heavyweight Title in San Juan, Puerto Rico

1981 – Ron Bass defeated Greg Valentine to win the NWA Television Title

1983 – The Mongol defeated King Parsons to win the WCCW Television Title

1984 – Angelo Mosca defeated Mike Rotundo to win the Florida version of the NWA Southern Heavyweight in Tampa, Florida

1986 – The Shadow (Jaymie Knight) wins a 13-man battle royal to win the vacant NWA Central States Heavyweight Title in Des Moines, Iowa

1996 – Sean Morley (Val Venis) defeated El Bronco to win the WWC Television Title in Caguas, Puerto Rico. This reign would actually last nearly three years, as the title was not officially vacated until March 3, 1999, despite his working for the WWF since 1997

2000 – In Nampa, Idaho, in a match taped for the May 31st edition of WCW Thunder, Sean Stasiak & Chuck Palumbo defeated Kronik (Brian Adams & Brian Clark) to win the WCW World Tag Team Title

2001 – Evolution (Nova & Frankie Kazarian) win a tournament to win the vacant UPW Tag Team Title in Santa Ana, California. The title had been stripped from the Ballard Brothers (Shane and Shannon) on January 31

2004 – Lacey defeated Mercedes Martinez, & Daizee Haze in a 3-way match to become the 1st NWA Midwest Women’s Champion in Highland, Indiana


Happy birthday to former WWF star Jake ‘The Snake’ Roberts (60), & one-time NWA Women’s Champion Lexie Fyfe (46)

Leave a Reply