This Day In Wrestling History – May 29th

May 29, 2015 - by staff


1999 – A scheduled WWF event in Montreal, Quebec at the Molson Centre was canceled following the passing of Owen Hart

2002 – NWA:TNA announced that Low Ki had signed for their debut event, as well as plans for a Gauntlet for the Gold to crown a new NWA champion

2008 – It was publicly announced that Dwayne Johnson has divorced his longtime wife Dani, who remains his business manager & partner after the end of the marriage through this day

2008 – The NWA announced that Ric Flair would be inducted into their Hall of Fame at a live event ceremony.  WWE later blocked Flair from appearing

2009 – Just days after his return to the company during a televised match on Raw, Ken Kennedy (Ken Anderson) is released by WWE.  The release stemmed from complaints made about Anderson’s work after he injured Orton during the return bout

2012 – Alex Shelley left TNA.  He would soon debut for New Japan Pro Wrestling


In 1991, WCW ran Roswell, New Mexico at the High School Gym, drawing 869 fans.  No aliens were spotted & neither were a number of wrestlers, including Butch Reed, WCW U.S. Tag Team Champion Jimmy Garvin, Tim Horner, & Dutch Mantell.  There were a number of refunds issued:

– Big Josh defeated Black Bart
– Mark & Chris Youngblood defeated The Angel of Death & Dan Spivey
– WCW World TV Champion Bobby Eaton defeated Terrence Taylor
– Ron Simmons defeated El Cubano (substituting for Butch Reed); the Junkyard Dog was the guest referee for the bout
– Tracy Smothers & Steve Armstrong defeated WCW U.S. Tag Team Champion Michael Hayes & Badstreet (a masked Brad Armstrong, substituting for Garvin)
– El Gigante defeated One Man Gang

In 1992,  WWF ran Winnipeg, Manitoba at the Arena, drawing 2500 fans:

– Nailz defeated Jim Brunzell
– Virgil defeated The Brooklyn Brawler
– The Mountie defeated Sgt. Slaughter via countout
– Earthquake defeated WWF Tag Team Champion Ted DiBiase
– Tatanka defeated Bob Bradley
– Kerry Von Erich defeated Skinner
– The Undertaker (with Paul Bearer) defeated The Berzerker
– WWWF World Champion Randy Savage defeated Ric Flair (with Mr. Perfect) via reverse decision.  Flair originally won the match and title after hitting Savage with a foreign object given to him by Perfect but the decision was reversed when an official came out & told the referee what had happened

In 2014, WWE “NXT Takeover” was held live on the WWE Network at Full Sail University, in Winter Park, Florida:

Dark Match:
– Baron Corbin defeated Wesley Blake
– Adam Rose (with The Exotic Express) defeated Camacho
– The Ascension (Konnor & Viktor) defeated El Local (Ricardo Rodriguez) & Kalisto to retain the NXT Tag Team Titles
– Tyler Breeze defeated Sami Zayn to become the #1 contender for the NXT Title
– Rusev (with Lana) defeated Mojo Rawley
– Charlotte (with her father Ric Flair) defeated Natalya (with her Uncle Bret Hart) in the finals of the NXT Women’s Title Tournament to win the vacant NXT Women’s Title
– Adrian Neville defeated Tyson Kidd to retain the NXT Title

Title Changes

1964 – Giant Baba & Toyonobori defeated Caripus Hurricane & Gene Kiniski to win the JWA All Asia Tag Team Titles

1970 – The Hollywood Blondes (Jerry Brown & Buddy Roberts) defeated Luke Brown & Danny Hodge to win the TSW United States Tag Team Titles

1978 – Paul Orndorff defeated Ernie Ladd to win the TSW North American Title

1995 – Brian Christopher defeated Doug Gilbert to win the USWA Southern Heavyweight Title in Memphis, Tennessee

2000 – on Raw, Too Cool (Scotty 2 Hotty & Grandmaster Sexay) defeated Edge & Christian to win the WWF Tag Team Titles

2000 – on Nitro, Kevin Nash gives the WCW World Title back to Ric Flair, claiming that Flair was unfairly stripped of the title. However, Jeff Jarrett defeated Flair later in the night to win back the title


Happy birthday to one-time ECW World Champion Steve Corino (42), 2-time WWF Hardcore Champion Pete Gas (45), the last WWE Cruiserweight Champion Hornswoggle (29), former WWE & World Tag Team Champion Brian Kendrick (36), & one-time WWF Tag Team Champion Samu (52)

Leave a Reply