This Day In Wrestling History – May 27th

May 27, 2015 - by staff


1996 – 1 of the most famous moments in modern wrestling history takes place, as Scott Hall (Razor Ramon), fresh from his stint in WWF, showed up during the first-ever 2 hour edition of WCW Monday Nitro, entering from the crowd & informing Eric Bischoff that he was there to “declare war” on WCW. This was the beginning of what would become the New World Order

2005 – TNA’s contract with Fox Sports Net is not renewed. Impact aired for the final time on the network


In 1994, AAA TripleMania II-C was held in Tijuana, Mexico:

– El Torero, Rey Misterio, & Rey Misterio Jr defeated Fuerza Guerrera, Fishman, & Pirata Morgan
– Blue Panther defeated Octagon via forfeit to win the Mexican National Middleweight Title
– Perro Aguayo, Lizmark, El Hijo Del Santo, & Mascara Sagrada defeated La Parka, Psicosis, Black Cat, & El Satanico
– Los Hermanos Dinamita (Cien Caras, Mascara Ano 2000 & Universo 2000) defeated Los Payasos (Coco Rojo, Coco Verde, & Coco Amarillo) in a Cage Match
– Konnan defeated Jake Roberts in a Hair vs Hair Match

Title Changes

1957 – Red Bastien defeated Rito Romero to win the NWA Texas Junior Heavyweight Title in Fort Worth, Texas

1959 – Jerry & Eddie Graham defeated Mark Lewin & Don Curtis to win the NWA Northeast United States Tag Team Titles

1970 – Luke Brown & Danny Hodge defeated The Hollywood Blondes (Jerry Brown & Buddy Roberts) to win the TSW United States Tag Team Titles

1976 – Jackie West & Yukari Lynch defeated The Beauty Pair (Jackie Sato & Maki Ueda) to win the World Women’s Wrestling Association World Tag Team Title in Kawasaki, Japan

1977 – Jimmy Snuka defeated El Gran Goliath to win the Texas Heavyweight Title

1988 – Owen Hart defeated Hiroshi Hase to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title

1989 – Steve Strong defeated Carlos Colon to win the WWC Universal Heavyweight Title in Caguas, Puerto Rico

1997 – Johnny Ace & Kenta Kobashi defeated The Holy Demon Army (Toshiaki Kawada & Akira Taue) to win the AJPW Unified World Tag Team Titles

2002 – on Raw, Rob Van Dam defeated Eddie Guerrero in a Ladder Match to win the WWE Intercontinental Title. Also, Terri pins Steven Richards to win the WWE Hardcore Title, but loses it back to Richards later in the night

2012 – KAI defeated Kenny Omega to win the AJPW Junior Heavyweight Title


Happy birthday to current TNA & former WCW executive Eric Bischoff (60), one-time WCCW Television Champion Kelly Kiniski (55), &  one-time WWE Divas Champion Natalya (33)

Also, today would have been the birthday of Canadian tag team star and SMW co-founder Sandy Scott (81)

Leave a Reply