This Day In Wrestling History- December 12th

Dec 12, 2014 - by staff


1983 – Bruiser Brody & Stan Hansen won the All Japan World’s Strongest Tag Team League

1984 – Genichiro Tenryu & Jumbo Tsuruta won the All Japan World’s Strongest Tag Team League

1985 – Ted DiBiase & Stan Hansen won the All Japan World’s Strongest Tag Team League

1986 – Genichiro Tenryu & Jumbo Tsuruta won the All Japan World’s Strongest Tag Team League, defeating Ted DiBiase & Stan Hansen by countout in the ‘final’ after both teams finished with 10 points


In 1999, the 1st WWF Armageddon was held in Sunrise. Florida:

– Miss Kitty defeats Ivory, Jacqueline & BB in a Swimming Pool Evening Gown Match with Mae Young & The Fabulous Moolah as special guest referees to win the WWF Women’s Title
– Val Venis defeats The British Bulldog & D’Lo Brown in a Triple Threat Match to win the WWF European Title
– Chris Jericho defeats Chyna to win the WWF Intercontinental Title
– The Rock n Sock Connection (The Rock & Mankind) defeat The New Age Outlaws (Road Dogg & Billy Gunn) by DQ (The Outlaws retain the WWF Tag Team Titles)
– The Big Show defeats The Big Boss Man to retain the WWF Title
– Triple H defeats Vince McMahon in a No Holds Barred Match

In 2004, WWE Armageddon was a Smackdown-exclusive event, held in Duluth, Georgia:

– Rob Van Dam & Rey Mysterio defeat Rene Dupree & Kenzo Suzuki to retain the WWE Tag Team Titles
– Daniel Puder defeats Mike Mizanin in a Dixie Dog Fight
– John Cena defeats Jésus in a Street Fight to retain the WWE United States Title
– Funaki defeats Spike Dudley to win the WWE Cruiserweight Title
– JBL defeats Eddie Guerrero, The Undertaker & Booker T in a Fatal Four Way Match to retain the WWE Title

In 2011, the WWE Slammy Award Show was held in Norfolk, Virginia:

– Jim Ross won the ‘Tell Me I Did Not Just See That’ Award for his dancing on Raw
– Big Show & Mark Henry breaking the ring won the ‘Holy !@#$ Moment of the Year’
– Kelly Kelly winning the Divas Title won the ‘Divalicious Moment of the Year’
– Triple H giving The Undertaker the Tombstone Piledriver won the ‘OMG Moment of the Year’
– Snooki won the ‘WWE A-Lister of the Year’
– CM Punk won ‘Superstar of the Year’ in an online vote

Title Changes

1966 – Jack Brisco & Lou Thesz defeat The Assassins (1 & 2) to win the TSW United States Tag Team Titles

1971 – Seiji Sakaguchi & Michiaki Yoshimura defeat Dory Funk Jr & Dick Murdoch to win the vacant JWA All Asia Tag Team Titles

1977 – Fritz von Erich defeats Ox Baker to win the WCCW American Heavyweight Title

1980 – Bugsy McGraw defeats Bruiser Brody to win the Texas Brass Knuckles Title

1985 – Kengo Kimura & Tatsumi Fujinami defeat Antonio Inoki & Seiji Sakaguchi in the final of a tournament to become the first IWGP Tag Team Champions

1990 – The AWA World Title is retired. The company would close shortly after

2004 – Hiroyoshi Tenzan defeats Kensuke Sasaki to win the IWGP Heavyweight Title


Happy birthday to former WWF/E developmental talents Chad Collyer (40), Jeremiah Riggs (32), & Bobbi Billard (39), 2-time ECW World Champion Sabu (50), one-time ECW Television Champion Jason Knight (50), Japanese legend Ultimo Dragon (49), longtime announcer Gary Michael Cappetta (62), former NWA star Jose Lothario (80), & 3-time CMLL Tag Team Champion Mephisto (46)

Also, as stated yesterday, several sources put today as the birthday of Rey Mysterio (40)

In Memoriam

On this day in 1982, the wrestling world lost 3-time National Wrestling Association World Champion Wild Bill Longson aged 76. Longson spent most of his career in Missouri as an arrogant heel and is credited with inventing the Piledriver manoeuvre. Longson was the final National Wrestling Association champion, losing a unification bout to NWA Champion Lou Thesz

Leave a Reply