This Day In Wresting History – November 6th

Nov 6, 2014 - by Bill Fenbers



2006 – Masahiro Chono & Shinsuke Nakamura win the NJPW G1 Climax Tag League, defeating Koji Kanemoto & Hiroshi Tanahashi in the final

2011 – Suzuki Army (Lance Archer & Minoru Suzuki) win the NJPW G1 Climax Tag League, defeating Giant Bernard & Karl Anderson in the final


In 1994, AAA When Worlds Collide was held in front of 13000 people at the Los Angeles Memorial Sports Arena in Los Angeles, California. The event was a cross-promotion with WCW.

– Mascarita Sagrada & Octagoncito defeat Espectrito & Jerrito Estrada
– Fuerza Guerrera, Madonna’s Boyfriend & Psicosis defeat Rey Misterio Jr, Heavy Metal & Latin Lover
– The Pegasus Kid, 2 Cold Scorpio & Tito Santana defeat Jerry Estrada, La Parka & Blue Panther
– Octagon & El Hijo del Santo defeat La Pareja del Terror (Art Barr & Eddie Guerrero) in a Masks vs Hair Match, forcing Barr & Guerrero to shave their heads
– Perro Aguayo defeats Konnan in a Cage Match

Title Changes

1977 – Dick Murdoch defeats Jerry Oates to win the TSW North American Title

1977 – Animal Hamaguchi & Mighty Inoue defeat The Great Kojika & Motoshi Okuma to win the AJPW All Asia Tag Team Titles

1978 – Jerry Stubbs wins a tournament to win the vacant TSW Mississippi Title

1989 – Jerry Lawler defeats The Soultaker to win the USWA Unified World Heavyweight Title

1995 – Ahmed Johnson defeats Jerry Lawler to win the USWA Unified World Heavyweight Title

1998 – The Dudley Boyz (Buh Buh Ray & D-Von) defeat Balls Mahoney & Masato Tanaka to win the ECW Tag Team Titles for the 5th time

2000 – Right To Censor (Bull Buchanan & The Goodfather) defeat The Hardy Boyz (Matt & Jeff) to win the WWF Tag Team Titles

2002 – Jerry Lynn defeats AJ Styles to win the TNA X-Division Title

2006 – Christopher Daniels defeats AJ Styles & Chris Sabin in a 3-Way Dance to win the TNA X-Division Title

2006 – on Raw, Johnny Nitro defeats Jeff Hardy in a No-DQ Match to win the WWE Intercontinental Title

2010 – Craig Classic defeats Mike Quackenbush to win the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title


Happy birthday to former ROH and CZW Tag Team Champion Johnny Kashmere (36), one-time WWF Intercontinental Champion Ken Patera (72), former TNA World Champion Magnus (27), Joshi star Hiroyo Matsumoto (29) and Mexican legend Mascara Sagrada (55)

In Memoriam

On this day in 2003, the wrestling world lost former WWE Tag, European, Light Heavyweight and Hardcore Champion Mikey ‘Crash Holly’ Lockwood aged just 32. Lockwood began his career in the Bay Area before making a name for himself in APW, where he was scouted by Taz, who recommended him to ECW. He competed in ECW briefly in 1998 before signing a WWF deal early the following year. He would debut for the WWF in August 1999 as the ‘cousin’ of Hardcore Holly; the pair initially competed as a tag team, but soon split and each joined the WWF’s Hardcore division. In February 2000, Lockwood left what is probably his biggest legacy in the wrestling business as he introduced the 24/7 Rule on the WWF Hardcore Title. This led to the title being defended in a vast array of locations, including a funfair, an airport and hotel rooms. The demise of the hardcore division proved to be the end of Lockwood’s WWF career. He continued competing through to mid-2003 but failed to regain the same level of popularity that he had as a hardcore competitor. In July 2003, he made an appearance for TNA, losing to Elix Skipper. He was still active on the California indies when he was found dead of an intentional overdose at his friend Steven Richards’ home. A deep depression stemming from the downfall of his wrestling career and an impending divorce were cited as the causes of his suicide. At 2005’s ECW One Night Stand, Lockwood was honored as one of the deceased former ECW wrestlers

Leave a Reply