This Day In Wrestling History– September 20th

Sep 20, 2014 - by staff


1999 – The Monday Night War continued: WWF Monday Night Raw defeated WCW Monday Nitro: 6.1 to 3.1 in the ratings

2004 – Christy Hemme won the 1st televised (2nd overall) WWE Diva Search. Other participants included Amy Weber, Carmella DeCesare, Joy Giovanni, Michelle McCool, Tracie Wright, & Maria Kanellis

2006 – WWE announced the following: “WWE has come to terms on the release of Boogeyman (Marty Wright) as of today 9/20/06. We wish Marty the best in all future endeavors.”  The reasoning was that WWE didn’t feel Boogey was working hard in rehabbing from injuries that had sidelined him, as he had missed several doctor’s appointments.  However, WWE would rehire him less than a month later, reportedly at the behest of Booker T, who brought Boogeyman to his wrestling school where he saw that Boogey was dedicated to returning to the ring.  He would later be released again


In 1968, the EMLL 35th Anniversary Show was held in Mexico City:

– El Santo & Rey Mendoza defeated Angel Blanco & Dr. Wagner
– Rene Guajardo defeated Tony Oxford to retain the NWA Middleweight Title
– Karloff Lagarde defeated Blue Demon to retain the NWA Welterweight Title

In 1974, the EMLL 41st Anniversary Show was held in Mexico City:

– Anibal defeated El Cobarde to win the vacant NWA Middleweight Title
– Dr. Wagner & El Blanco defeated Super Star & Enrique Vera in a Mask vs Hair Match

In 1996, the CMLL 63rd Anniversary Show was held in Mexico City:

– Lioness Asuka defeated Lola Gonzales to win the TWF Women’s Title
– Lizmark, Lizmark Jr., & Olimpico defeated Satanico, Scorpio Jr., & Bestia Salvaje
– Dos Caras, Silver King, & Atlantis defeated Miguel Perez Jr., Emilio Charles Jr., & El Canek
– Negro Casas defeated El Hijo Del Santo
– Rayo de Jalisco Jr. defeated Gran Markus Jr. to retain the CMLL Heavyweight Title

In 1997, WWF One Night Only was held at the NEC Arena, in Birmingham, England. With an attendance of 11,000: It aired only in Europe & Canada, but was later released on VHS in the US:

– Hunter Hearst Helmsley (with Chyna) defeated Dude Love
– Tiger Ali Singh defeated Leif Cassidy (Al Snow)
– The Headbangers (Mosh & Thrasher) defeated Los Boricuas (Savio Vega & Miguel Perez Jr.) to retain the WWF Tag Team Titles
– The Patriot defeated Flash Funk
– The Legion of Doom (Hawk & Animal) defeated The Godwinns (Henry O. & Phineas I.)
– Vader defeated Owen Hart
– Bret Hart defeated The Undertaker via DQ to retain the WWF Title
– Shawn Michaels (with Rick Rude, Chyna, & Hunter Hearst Helmsley) defeated The British Bulldog to win the WWF European Title

In 2009, TNA No Surrender was held at the Impact Zone, in Orlando, Florida. With an attendance of 1,100:

– Taylor Wilde & Sarita defeated The Beautiful People (Velvet Sky & Madison Rayne) to become the 1st TNA Knockouts Tag Team Champions
– Hernandez defeated Eric Young
– Samoa Joe defeated Daniels to retain the TNA X-Division Title
– D’Angelo Dinero defeated Suicide in a Falls Count Anywhere Match
– ODB defeated Cody Deaner to win the vacant TNA Knockouts Title
– Kevin Nash defeated Abyss to retain the TNA Legends Title & claim the $50,000 bounty on Abyss from Dr. Stevie
– Beer Money Inc. (James Storm & Robert Roode) & Team 3D (Brother Ray & Brother Devon) defeated The Main Event Mafia (Scott Steiner & Booker T), & The British Invasion (Doug Williams & Brutus Magnus) in a Lethal Lockdown Match
– Bobby Lashley defeated Rhino
– AJ Styles defeated Kurt Angle, Matt Morgan, Sting & Hernandez to win the TNA World Title

Title Changes

1957 – Ivan The Terrible & Nikita Zolotoff defeated Pepper Gomez & El Medico to win the NWA Texas Tag Team Title in Houston, Texas

1975 – Ric Flair defeated Wahoo McDaniel to win the NWA Mid-Atlantic Heavyweight Title in Hampton, Virginia

1978 – Jose Lothario defeated Assassin #1 to win the TSW Louisiana Title

1981 – Big John Studd defeated Angelo Mosca to win the NWA Canadian Heavyweight Title in Toronto, Ontario

1985 – The Von Erichs (Kerry & Kevin) defeated The Dynamic Duo (Gino Hernandez & Chris Adams) to win the vacant WCCW American Tag Team Titles

1987 – Hurricane Castillo Jr. defeated Gran Mendoza to win the WWC World Junior Heavyweight Title in San Juan, Puerto Rico . On the same show, Carlos Colon defeated Hercules Ayala to win the WWC Universal Heavyweight Title

1989 – Masa Saito & Shinya Hashimoto defeated Riki Choshu & Takayuki Iizuka to win the IWGP Tag Team Titles

1993 – Shinya Hashimoto defeated The Great Muta to win the IWGP Heavyweight Title

1993 – Jerry Lawler defeated Tatanka to win the USWA Unified World Heavyweight Title

1997 – Devil Masami defeated Zero to win the vacant WCW Women’s Title. Also, Sugar Sato defeated Yoshiko Tamura to win the vacant WCW Women’s Cruiserweight Title

1997 – The Gangstanators (New Jack & Kronus) defeated The Dudley Boyz (Buh Buh Ray & D-Von) to win the ECW Tag Team Titles

1999 – on Raw, Mr McMahon vacated the WWF Title. Also, The Rock n Sock Connection (The Rock & Mankind) defeated The Unholy Alliance (The Undertaker & The Big Show) in a Dark Side Rules Match to win the WWF Tag Team Titles

2003 – The Backseat Boyz (Johnny Kashmere & Trent Acid) won a Gauntlet Match to win the vacant ROH Tag Team Titles

2007 – D’Lo Brown & Buchanan won a 4-team Round Robin Tournament to win the GHC Tag Team Titles

2008 – Adam Pearce defeated Brent Albright to win the NWA World Title


Happy birthday to WWE Hall of Famers Arn Anderson (56), Greg ‘The Hammer’ Valentine (63), 5-time WW(W)F Tag Team Champion Tony Garea (68), 6-time WWA Women’s Champion Megumi Kudo (44) and former ECW personality Joel Gertner (39)

Today also would have been the birthday of 2-time AWA Light Heavyweight Champion Mike Graham (63)

In Memoriam

2 years ago today, the wrestling world lost former NWA United States Tag Team Champion ‘Handsome’ Johnny Barend aged 72. Barend served in the Navy towards the end of World War II and began wrestling whilst on active duty. Upon leaving the Navy, he trained under Ed Don George and would go on to make his professional wrestling debut in Buffalo in 1948. His first notable run began in the mid-1950’s, when he tagged with Enrique Torres. The pair failed to win gold, but it was a perfect platform from which to launch Barend’s career. He would go on to compete and win NWA/AWA championships in San Francisco, Ohio, Indiana, New York and Detroit, though it was in Hawaii where he found most success, winning a mammoth 13 championships on the islands. He also competed briefly for the WWWF, winning their United States Title, before a falling-out with McMahon over money led to Barend leaving the promotion. Barend retired from wrestling in the early 1970’s and operated a collection of rental cottages in Rochester, NY before shuttering them in 1995. His final major wrestling appearance came a year later at WCW’s Ilio DiPaolo Memorial show, which he almost failed to attend as the arena security had no idea who he was! Barend lived out a quiet retirement in Avon, New York and died peacefully at his home

(Visited 36 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply