This Day In Wrestling History– September 7th

Sep 7, 2014 - by staff


2009 – Bob Barker guest hosted WWE Monday Night Raw

2010 – WWE NXT Season 3 began airing on Syfy


In 1988, NWA Clash of Champions III: Fall Brawl was held at the Albany Civic Center, in Albany, Georgia. With an attendance of 3,700. This TV special was the last to be promoted by Jim Crockett before he was bought out by Ted Turner:

– Mike Rotunda fought Brad Armstrong to a 20-minute time-limit draw to retain the NWA Television Title
– Nikita Koloff & Steve Williams defeated The Sheepherders (Luke & Butch) (with Rip Morgan)
– Dusty Rhodes defeated Kevin Sullivan (with Gary Hart) in a Grudge Match
– Ricky Morton defeated Ivan Koloff in a Russian Chain Match
– Sting defeated Barry Windham via DQ (Windham retains the NWA United States Title)

In 1991, WWF King of the Ring was held at the Providence Civic Center, in Providence, Rhodes Island. With an attendance of 2,400:

1st Round Matches:
– Jerry Sags (with Jimmy Hart) defeated Hawk via DQ
– Ted Dibiase fought Ricky “The Dragon” Steamboat to a 15-minute time limit draw
– Jim Duggan defeated Brian Knobbs (with Jimmy Hart)
– Irwin R. Schyster defeated The Berzerker via countout
– Bret Hart defeated Pete Doherty
– Skinner defeated Virgil
– Sid Justice defeated The Warlord
– The Undertaker (with Paul Bearer) defeated Animal
Non Tournament Match:
The Beverly Brothers (Beau & Blake) defeated The Bushwhackers (Luke & Butch
Quarterfinal Round Matches:
– Irwin R. Schyster defeated Jim Duggan
– Bret Hart defeated Skinner
– The Undertaker (with Paul Bearer) fought Sid Justice to a double DQ
Semifinal Round Match:
– Irwin R. Schyster defeated Jerry Sags
King of the Ring Tournament Final:
– Bret Hart defeated Irwin R. Schyster

In 1997, WWF Ground Zero: In Your House was held a the Louisville Gardens, in Louisville, Kentucky. With an attendance of 4,963. This was the 1st 3 hour IYH PPV & the 1st to use IYH as the subtitle rather than the main title:

– Brian Pillman defeated Goldust (with Marlena) to win the services of Marlena for 30 days
– Brian Christopher defeated Scott Putski via countout
– Savio Vega defeated Crush & Faarooq in a Triple Threat Match
– Max Mini defeated El Torito (Espectrito, not current WWE star)
– The Headbangers (Mosh & Thrasher) defeated Owen Hart & The British Bulldog, The Legion Of Doom (Hawk & Animal), & The Godwinns (Henry & Phineas) in a Four Way Elimination Match to win the vacant WWF Tag Team Titles
– Bret Hart defeated The Patriot to retain the WWF Title
– Shawn Michaels fought The Undertaker to a no contest due to excessive outside interference

In 2008, the 11th & final WWE Unforgiven was held at the Quicken Loans Arena, in Cleveland, Ohio. With an attendance of 8,707:

Dark Match:
– Evan Bourne defeated John Morrison
– Matt Hardy defeated Mark Henry, The Miz, Chavo Guerrero Jr., & Finlay in a Championship Scramble Match to win the ECW Title
– The Legacy (Cody Rhodes & Ted DiBiase) defeated Cryme Tyme (JTG & Shad Gaspard) to retain the World Tag Team Titles
– Shawn Michaels defeated Chris Jericho (with Lance Cade) in an Unsanctioned Match
– Triple H defeated Jeff Hardy, The Brian Kendrick, Shelton Benjamin, & MVP in a Championship Scramble Match to retain the WWE Title
– Michelle McCool defeated Maryse to retain the WWE Divas Title
– Chris Jericho defeated JBL, Batista, Rey Mysterio Jr., & Kane in a Championship Scramble Match to win the World Heavyweight Title. CM Punk was champion going into the event, but was unable to compete, thereby forfeiting the title

Title Changes

1927 – Jack Reynolds defeated Bert Willard to win the World Welterweight Title in Columbus, Ohio

1936 – Honey Boy Hackney defeated Ben Jordan to win the Southern Light Heavyweight Title in Atlanta, Georgia

1945 – Buddy Rogers defeated Ted Cox to win the Texas Heavyweight Title in Houston, Texas

1963 – AWA World Heavyweight Champion Verne Gagne defeated Omaha World Heavyweight Champion Fritz Von Erich to unify the titles in Omaha, Nebraska

1964 – NWA World Heavyweight Champion Lou Thesz defeated American Wrestling Alliance World Heavyweight Champion Karl Krauser (Karl Gotch) to unify the titles in Columbus, Ohio

1967 – Raul Guerrero defeated Raul Rojas to win the Mexican National Lightweight Title in Mexico City, Mexico

1973 – Masked Lee & Lita Marez defeated Mariko Akagi & Jumbo Miyamoto to win the WWWA World Tag Team Title in Nagasaki, Japan

1974 – Man Mountain Mike defeated Manny Soto to win the NWA Beat the Champ Television Title in Hollywood, California

1975 – Pat Patterson defeated Angelo Mosca to win the NWA United States Heavyweight Title in Sacramento, California

1977 – Texas Red defeated Chavo Guerrero Sr. to win the NWA Americas Heavyweight Title in Los Angeles, California

1981 – Dory Funk, Jr. defeated El Gran Apolo to win the NWA Florida Television Title in Tampa, Florida

1983 – The Dynamite Kid defeated Curt Hennig to win the NWA Pacific Northwest Heavyweight Title in Seattle, Washington

1987 – Carl Fergie defeated Jeff Jarrett to win the NWA Mid-America Heavyweight Title in Memphis, Tennessee

1990 – Johnny Ace & Kenta Kobashi defeated The Fantastics (Bobby Fulton & Tommy Rogers) to win the vacant AJPW All Asia Tag Team Titles

1999 – on Smackdown, The Unholy Alliance (The Big Show & The Undertaker) defeated The Rock n Sock Connection (The Rock & Mankind) in a Buried Alive Match to win the WWF Tag Team Titles. Also, The British Bulldog defeated The Big Boss Man to win the WWF Hardcore Title, though he immediately awarded the title to Al Snow

2001 – Miss Janeth defeated Zuleyma to win the UWA World Women’s Title in Monterrey, Mexico

2002 – Yoshihiro Takayama defeated Yoshinari Ogawa to win the GHC Heavyweight Title

2004 – on Smackdown, Rene Dupree & Kenzo Suzuki defeated Billy Kidman & Paul London to win the WWE Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to 2-time WWE Women’s Champion Nora ‘Molly Holly’ Greenwald (38). Some sources also put today as the birthday of former WCW & JCP opener George South (52) but I cannot verify this

(Visited 22 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply