This Day In Wrestling History– August 9th

Aug 9, 2014 - by staff


1999 – The Monday Night War continued: WWF Monday Night Raw defeated WCW Monday Nitro: 6.4 to 3.0 in the ratings

1999 – On WWF Monday Night Raw, the millennium clock hit zero & “Y2J” Chris Jericho made his World Wrestling Federation debut


In 1997, WCW Road Wild was held at the motorcycle rally in Sturgis, South Dakota. With an attendance of 6,500:

– Harlem Heat (Stevie Ray & Booker T) defeated Vicious & Delicious (Scott Norton & Buff Bagwell) (with Vincent)
– Konnan defeated Rey Misterio Jr. in a Mexican Deathmatch
– Steve McMichael & Chris Benoit defeated Dean Malenko & Jeff Jarrett in an Elimination Match
– Alex Wright defeated Chris Jericho to retain the WCW Cruiserweight Title
– Ric Flair defeated Syxx
– Curt Hennig defeated Diamond Dallas Page (with Kimberly Page)
– The Giant defeated Randy Savage (with Miss Elizabeth)
– The Steiner Brothers (Rick & Scott) (with Ted Dibiase) defeated The Outsiders (Kevin Nash & Scott Hall) via DQ (The Outsiders retain the WCW Tag Team Titles)
– Hollywood Hogan defeated Lex Luger to win the WCW World Title

Also in 1997, ECW Born To Be Wired was held at the ECW Arena, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. With an attendance of 1,800:

– Little Guido defeated Prodigy
– Mikey Whipwreck defeated Louie Spicolli
– Spike Dudley defeated Bam Bam Bigelow
– Chris Candido defeated Chris Chetti
– Shane Douglas defeated Lance Storm
– Taz defeated Al Snow to retain the ECW World Television Title
– The Dudley Boyz (Big Dick, Buh Buh Ray, & D-Von Dudley) defeated Hack Myers, Balls Mahoney, & Axl Rotten
– Rob Van Dam defeated Tommy Dreamer
– Sabu defeated Terry Funk in a Barbed Wire Match to win the ECW World Title

In 2001, HWA’s 4th Annual Brian Pillman Memorial Show was held at the Oak Hills High School, in Cincinnati, Ohio. & featured numerous WWF stars:

– Nigel McGuinness (HWA) defeated Machine (Doug Basham) (OVW) in an interpromotial Match
– Ron Waterman & Rob Conway defeated The Disciples of Synn (Damien & Payne)
– JR Ryder (ECWA) defeated Richard Pound (Stampede Wrestling)
– Chad Collyer (HWA) defeated Donovan Morgan (APW)
– Lance Cade & Cody Hawk defeated The Island Boyz (Jamal & Rosie)
– Randy Orton defeated Flash Flanagan
– The Damaja (Danny Basham) & Hardcore (OVW) defeated The “A” Squad (HWA)
– The Haas Brother (Russ & Charlie) (HWA) defeated Steve Bradley (HWA) & Rico Constantino (OVW)
– Matt Stryker defeated Shark Boy, Chad Collyer, & Pepper Parks to win the HWA Cruiserweight Title
– Nick Dinsmore defeated Race Steele to win the HWA Heavyweight Title
– Terry Taylor defeated Bobby Eaton with Ricky Steamboat as the special guest referee
– Steve Corino defeated David Flair to retain the NWA World Heavyweight Title
– Mark Henry defeated Hugh Morrus
– Lita defeated Victoria
– Evan Karagias defeated Chris Candido
– Dean Malenko & Perry Saturn (WWF) defeated Raven & Justin Credible (ECW)
– The Hardy Boyz (Jeff & Matt) (WWF) defeated Edge & Christian (WWF), and Diamond Dallas Page & Kanyon (WCW)

In 2003, CZW Aftermath was held at The Arena, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania:

– Jon Dahmer defeated Jude
– Cory Kastle defeated Niles Young & GQ
– Ruckus defeated Hurricane Kid to retain the CZW Junior Heavyweight Title
– Greg Matthews (Rockin Rebel) defeated Z-Barr
– Derek Frazier (with Rockin Rebel) defeated Chris Cash & Nick Berk
– Nate Hatred defeated Nick Gage to win the BJW Death Match Title in a Tables Match
– The Backseat Boyz (Trent Acid & Johnny Kashmere) defeated Adam Flash & Ian Knoxxx to retain the CZW Tag Team Titles
– Nick Berk defeated Jonny Storm
– The Messiah (with Dewey Donovan) defeated Brad Bradley to retain the CZW World Heavyweight Title
– Sonjay Dutt defeated JC Bailey to win the IWA Mid-South Light Heavyweight Title in a Ladder Match
– Ruckus defeated B-Boy to retain the CZW Junior Heavyweight Title
– Ian Rotten defeated Corporal Robinson, Necro Butcher, & Nate Webb in a Hardcore 4-way Dance

In 2008, CZW Deja Vu IV was held at The Arena, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania:

– Ryan McBride defeated Drew Blood & LJ Cruz in an Aerial Assault Match
– Alex Colon & Joe Gacy defeated Shane Matthews & Jagged
– The Necro Butcher & Nicky Benz defeated Nate Hatred & Danny Havoc
– Sami Callihan defeated Jon Dahmer & WHACKS
– Drew Gulak & Andy Summer defeated Greg Excellent & Beef Wellington, Dustin Lee & Scotty Vortekz, and Cheech & Cloudy to retain the CZW World Tag Team Titles
– Pinkie Sanchez defeated Sabian to become the #1 contender for the CZW Junior Heavyweight Title
– Brain Damage defeated DJ Hyde & Kobain to retain the CZW New Horror Title
– Drake Younger defeated Ruckus to retain the CZW World Heavyweight Title
– Devon Moore defeated Nick Gage in a No Rope Barbed Wire & Taipei Death Match

In 2012, JCW Arena Chicks at the Gathering was held at Wrestling Stage, in Cave-In-Rock, Illinois:

– Ring Girl Randy defeated Jessie Belle
– Heidi Lovelace defeated CJ Lane
– Sojo Bolt defeated Taryn Shay
– Fantasia defeated Crazy Mary Dobson
– Reby Sky defeated Angel Orsini
– Shelly Martinez defeated Amber O’Neal

In 2013, PWG Ten was held at American Legion Post #308, in Reseda, Ca:

– Willie Mack, Candice LaRae, & B-Boy defeated Ryan Taylor, Peter Avalon, & Joey Ryan
– Brian Cage defeated Anthony Nese
– Alex Koslov & Rocky Romero defeated Johnny Goodtime & Johnny Yuma
– Michael Elgin defeated A.R. Fox
– Chuck Taylor & Johnny Gargano defeated Paul London & Brian Kendrick
– Kyle O’Reilly defeated TJ Perkins
– Adam Cole defeated Drake Younger & Kevin Steen to retain the PWG Title in a Guerilla Warfare 3-way Match
– The Young Bucks (Nick & Matt Jackson) defeated The Inner City Machine Guns (Rich Swann & Ricochet), & The Dojo Bros (Eddie Edwards & Roderick Strong) to retain the PWG World Tag Team Title  in a 3-way Ladder Match

Title Changes

1967 – Buddy Moreno defeated Buddy Austin to win the Texas Heavyweight Title

1969 – Antonio Inoki & Michiaki Yoshimura defeated Crusher Lisowski & Al Mahilik to win the vacant JWA All Asia Tag Team Titles

1980 – Bob Backlund & Pedro Morales defeated The Wild Samoans (Afa & Sika) to win the WWF Tag Team Titles

1986 – Ric Flair defeated Dusty Rhodes to win the NWA World Title in St. Louis, Missouri

1991 – Akira Nogami defeated Jushin Liger to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title

1999 – on Raw, Kane & X-Pac defeated The Acolytes (Bradshaw & Faarooq) to win the WWF Tag Team Titles

1999 – on Nitro, Chris Benoit defeated David Flair to win the WCW United States Title

2002 – the WWE Hardcore Title is passed from Tommy Dreamer to Shawn Stasiak, to Steven Richards, & back to Tommy Dreamer

2009 – The Weedman & Billy Bong defeated Vito & Brandon Thomaselli to win the JCW Tag Team Titles

2010 – Angelina Love defeated Madison Rayne to win the TNA Knockout’s Title on a special TNA Impact titled “The Whole F’n Show”

2011 – Cody Rhodes defeated Ezekiel Jackson to win the WWE Intercontinental Title at the Smackdown taping in Sacramento, California

2011 – Mexican America (Anarquia & Hernandez) defeated Beer Money Inc. (James Storm & Bobby Roode) to win the TNA Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to former TNA wrestler D-Ray 3000 (32), & Japanese hardcore star Kintaro Kanemura (44)

In Memoriam

On this day in 1999, the wrestling world lost Japanese female star Jackie Sato. She was just 41. Having competed in AJW for most of her career, Sato, along with others, broke away from the promotion in the 80′s to form JWP, AJW’s 1st true competition. Sato retired from the ring in 1988 and took a behind-the-scenes role at JWP. It was her influence that saw the mandatory retirement policy dropped from Japanese female wrestling, allowing wrestlers to retire when they wanted to, rather than when they were told to by their promoter. Sato succumbed to stomach cancer around a decade after her in-ring retirement. She was still active in the wrestling community until shortly before her death

(Visited 14 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply