This Day In Wrestling History– August 5th

Aug 5, 2014 - by staff


1996 – The Monday Night War continued: WCW Monday Nitro defeated WWF Monday Night Raw: 3.0 to 2.8 in the ratings

2011 – WWE released a number of talents.  Melina, Vladimir Kozlov, Chris Masters, Harry Smith were let go, while Gail Kim was released from her deal several days after telling the company she was quitting at a Raw taping


In 1994, SMW Night of Legends was held at the James White Civic Coliseum, in Knoxville, Tennessee. With an attendance of 5,000:

–Chris Walker defeated Richard Slinger
– Doug Furnas defeated Killer Kyle
– Dick Slater & Bob Orton Jr. defeated Ronnie Garvin & The Mountain Stomper
– The Rock n Roll Express (Robert Gibson & Ricky Morton) defeated Brian Lee & Chris Candido to win the SMW Tag Team Titles
– The Thrillseekers (Chris Jericho & Lance Storm) defeated The Heavenly Bodies (Dr. Tom Pritchard & Jimmy Del Ray) in a Street Fight
– Dirty White Boy defeated Terry Gordy via DQ to retain the SMW Heavyweight Title
– Road Warrior Hawk, Bob Armstrong, & Tracy Smothers defeated Dory Funk Jr., Bruiser Bedlam, & Terry Funk (with Jim Cornette) in a Coward Waves The Flag Match

In 1996, ECW Wrestlepalooza was held at the ECW Arena, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. With an attendance of 1,150:

– JT Smith defeated Hack Myers
– Val Puccio defeated Tony Stetson via DQ
– Dudley Dudley, Raven, Big Dick Dudley, & Stevie Richards defeated The Pitbulls (#1 & #2), Cactus Jack, & Tommy Dreamer
– Dean Malenko, Cactus Jack, & 2 Cold Scorpio defeated Eddie Guerrero, The Steiner Brothers (Scott & Rick)
– Mikey Whipwreck defeated The Sandman in a Singapore Cane Match
– The Gangstas (Mustafa Saed & New Jack) defeated Public Enemy (Rocco Rock & Johnny Grunge) in a Stretcher Match

In 2006, ROH Fight of the Century was held at the Inman Sports Center, in Edison, New Jersey. With an attendance of 800:

– Colt Cabana defeated Sal Rinauro (with The Embassy)
– Shane Hagadorn defeated Bobby Dempsey to retain the ROH Top of the Class Trophy
– Nigel McGuinness defeated Christopher Daniels, Jay Lethal, & Claudio Castagnoli in a 4 Corner Survival Match
– Roderick Strong & Austin Aries defeated Irish Airborne (Jake & Dave Crist), The Briscoe Brothers (Mark & Jay), and Jack Evans & Matt Sydal in an Ultimate Endurance Match to retain the ROH World Tag Team Titles
– BJ Whitmer & Homicide defeated Steve Corino & Adam Pearce via DQ
– KENTA defeated Davey Richards
– Bryan Danielson fought Samoa Joe to a 60-minute time limit draw to retain the ROH World Heavyweight Title

In 2012, AAA TripleMania XX was held in Mexico City. The event featured the induction of Perro Aguayo into the AAA Hall of Fame:

– La Hermandad 187 (Joe Lider & Psicosis) lost a Parejas Suicidas Cage Match to Chessman & Juventud Guerrera, La Familia de Tijuana (Extreme Tiger & Halloween) & The Hart Foundation 2.0 (Jack Evans & Teddy Hart)
– Psicosis defeated Joe Lider in a Hair vs Hair Match
– Team Joaquin Roldan (Electroshock & LA Park) defeated Team Dorian Roldan (Jeff Jarrett & Kurt Angle) forcing Dorian to shave his head
– El Mesias defeated El Hijo del Perro Aguayo to retain the AAA World Heavyweight Title
– Dr. Wagner Jr. defeated Mascara Ano 2000 Jr. in a Mask vs Mask Match

Also in 2012, New Japan Pro Wrestling held their first iPPV in Osaka, Japan:

– Lance Archer defeated Hiroyoshi Tenzan
– Karl Anderson defeated Shelton Benjamin
– Togi Makabe defeated Tetsuya Naito
– Shinsuke Nakamura defeated Kazuchika Okada
– Naomichi Marufuji defeated Hiroshi Tanahashi

Title Changes

1958 – Bill Longson defeated Fritz von Erich to win the vacant Texas Brass Knuckles Title

1969 – Hiro Matsuda & Missouri Mauler defeated Cyclon Negro & Jack Brisco to win the NWA Florida Tag Team Title in Tampa, Florida

1975 – Billy Graham defeated Mad Dog Vachon to win the Texas Brass Knuckles Title

1979 – El Halcon defeated The Spoiler to win the WCCW American Heavyweight Title

1985 – John Tatum defeated Shawn Cody to win the vacant WCCW Television Title

1986 – Akira Maeda & Osamu Kido defeated Kengo Kimura & Tatsumi Fujinami to win the IWGP Tag Team Titles

1988 – King Parsons defeated Kerry von Erich (subbing for his brother Kevin) to win the WCCW Texas Heavyweight Title

1991 – Big Josh, Dustin Rhodes. & Tom Zenk defeated The Fabulous Freebirds (Badstreet, Jimmy Garvin, & Michael Hayes) to win the WCW Six-Man Tag Team Titles

1991 – Bill Dundee defeated Danny Davis to win the USWA Junior Heavyweight Title

1993 – The Jurassic Powers (Hercules Hernandez & Scott Norton) defeated The Hell Raisers (Hawk Warrior & Power Warrior) to win the IWGP Tag Team Titles

1996 – The Moondogs (Spot & Rover) defeated Brickhouse Brown & Reggie B. Fine to win the USWA Tag Team Title in Memphis, Tennessee

1996 – The Great Sasuke won an 8-Man Tournament to become the 1st holder of the J-Crown

2010 – on Impact, Taylor Wilde & Hamada defeated The Beautiful People (Velvet Sky & Lacey Von Erich) to win the TNA Knockout’s Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to tag team legend Stan Lane (61), one-time AWA Tag Team Champion Pat Tanaka (53), former IWGP & AJPW Junior Heavyweight Champion Kendo Kashin (46), current WWE wrestler Hunico  (37), & one-time GHC Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Champion Ikuto Hidaka (42)

Also, today would have been the birthday of one-time NWA Women’s Champion Mildred Burke (99)

(Visited 20 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply