This Day In Wrestling History – July 12th

Jul 12, 2014 - by staff


1995 – WWF President Jack Tunney resigned from office

1999 – The WWF announced that Minnesota Governor Jesse Ventura will serve as a special guest referee at August 22’s SummerSlam in Minneapolis, Minnesota

1999 – The Monday Night War continued: WWF Monday Night Raw defeated WCW Monday Nitro: 6.0 to 3.4 in the ratings

2007 – World Wrestling Entertainment signed former TNA star Nick Cvjetkovich, who wrestles as Original Sinn, to a developmental deal. . He would debut on the main roster as Kizarny, being featured in a number of vignettes to debut the character, but was dropped after just a few appearances

2012 – Kharma aka Awesome Kong confirmed publicly that she has been released by WWE


In 1992, WCW’s The Great American Bash, held at the Gray Civic Center, in Albany, Georgia. With an attendance of 8,000. This was the last Bash until 1995. The event featured a one-night, 7-team tournament to crown new NWA World Tag Team Champions:

Dark Match:
– The Super Invader (Hercules) (with Harley Race) defeated Marcus Bagwell
– Nikita Koloff & Ricky Steamboat defeated Brian Pillman & Jushin Liger in a NWA Tag Team Title Tournament Quarter-Finals Match
– Dustin Rhodes & Barry Windham defeated Steve Austin & Rick Rude (with Madusa) in a NWA Tag Team Title Tournament Quarter-Finals Match
– Hiroshi Hase & Shinya Hashimoto defeated The Fabulous Freebirds (Michael Hayes & Jimmy Garvin) in a NWA Tag Team Title Tournament Quarter-Finals Match
– WCW World Tag Team Champions Terry Gordy & Steve Williams defeated Nikita Koloff & Ricky Steamboat in a NWA Tag Team Title Tournament Semi-Final Match (Gordy & Williams’ titles were not on the line)
– Dustin Rhodes & Barry Windham defeated Hiroshi Hase & Shinya Hashimoto (subbing for the injured Akira Nogami) in a NWA Tag Team Title Tournament Semi-Final Match
– Big Van Vader (with Harley Race) defeated Sting to win the WCW World Heavyweight Title
– WCW World Tag Team Champions Terry Gordy & Steve Williams defeated Dustin Rhodes & Barry Windham to win the vacant NWA World Tag Team Titles. (The NWA & WCW titles were deemed unified, & defended as so until WCW withdrew from the NWA in 1993)

In 1998, WCW Bash at the Beach was held at the Cox Arena, in San Diego, California. With an attendance of 10,095:

Dark Match:
– Villano IV & V defeated Damien & Ciclope
– Raven (with Lodi & Riggs) defeated Perry Saturn in a Raven’s Rules Match
– Juventud Guerrera defeated Billy Kidman
– Stevie Ray defeated Chavo Guerrero Jr.
– Eddie Guerrero defeated Chavo Guerrero Jr. in a Hair vs Hair Match (after the match Chavo shaved his own head)
– Konnan (with Lex Luger & Kevin Nash) defeated Disco Inferno (with Alex Wright)
– The Giant defeated Kevin Greene
– Rey Misterio Jr defeated Chris Jericho to win the WCW Cruiserweight Title. The belt was returned to Jericho the following night as Dean Malenko had interfered in the match
– Booker T defeated Bret Hart via DQ to retain the WCW Television Title
– Goldberg defeated Curt Hennig to retain the WCW World Title
– Hollywood Hogan & Dennis Rodman (with The Disciple) defeated Diamond Dallas Page & Karl Malone

In 2010, WWE Monday Night Raw was held at Rupp Arena, in Lexington, Kentucky:

– Alicia Fox defeated Gail Kim
– The Usos (Jimmy & Jey), & Tamina Snuka defeated The Hart Dynasty (D.H. Smith & Tyson Kidd), & Natalya in a 6-person tag match
– Edge defeated Randy Orton
– The Miz fought Mark Henry to a no contest
– The Great Khali, Vladimir Kozlov, Santino Marella, & Goldust defeated Doink The Clown (Steve Lombardi), William Regal, Zack Ryder, & Primo
– The Nexus (Michael Tarver, Skip Sheffield, David Otunga, Wade Barrett, Justin Gabriel, & Heath Slater) defeated John Cena in a Handicap Match

Title Changes

1933 – Thor Jenson defeated Harold Heibert to win the Pacific Coast Middleweight Title in Eugene, Oregon.

1946 – Tex Riley won a tournament to win the vacant Tennessee World Junior Heavyweight Title in Nashville, Tennessee

1946 – Joe Savoldi defeated Everett Marshall to win the Rocky Mountain Heavyweight Title in Colorado Springs, Colorado

1951 – Eduardo Perez & Red Roberts defeated Ray Piret & Herb Welch to win the Mid-America NWA Southern Tag Team Title in Chattanooga, Tennessee

1957 – Herb Freeman defeated Bill Savage to win the NWA Pacific Northwest Heavyweight Title

1966 – Louie Tillet defeated Bull Curry to win the Texas Brass Knuckles Title

1974 – Carlos Colon & Jose Miguel Perez defeated Jim Dalton & Bruce Swayze to win the WWC North American Tag Team Title in Ponce, Puerto Rico

1974 – Ernie Ladd defeated Porkchop Cash to win the NWA Americas Heavyweight Title in Los Angeles, California

1976 – John Tolos defeated Kinji Shibuya to win the Vancouver NWA Pacific Coast Heavyweight Title in Vancouver, British Columbia

1978 – Whipper Watson, Jr. defeated Dutch Mantel to win the NWA Mid-America Heavyweight Title in Nashville, Tennessee

1981 – Mr. Fuji defeated Angelo Mosca to win the Toronto NWA Canadian Heavyweight Title in Toronto, Ontario

1986 – The Fabulous Ones (Steve Keirn & Stan Lane) defeated The Sheepherders (Butch Miller & Luke Williams) to win the vacant Florida NWA United States Tag Team Title in a fictitious tournament final in Portland, Oregon

1989 – Riki Choshu defeated Salman Hashimikov to win the IWGP Heavyweight Title

1994 – Dan Kroffat defeated Masanobu Fuchi to win the AJPW Junior Heavyweight Title

1999 – on Nitro, Hulk Hogan defeated Randy Savage to win the WCW World Title

2002 – Chris Hero defeated Colt Cabana to win the IWA Mid-South Heavyweight Title in Clarksville, Indiana

2002 – the WWE Hardcore Title’s 24/7 Rule sees the belt pass from Bradshaw to Justin Credible, to Spike Dudley, to The Big Show, & back to Bradshaw

2007 – Austin Creed defeated Murder-1 in a tournament final for the Deep South Heavyweight Title, at Deep South Wrestling’s show in Locust Grove, Georgia. It was the 1st event held by DSW after WWE left the promotion in April

2011 – Miss Tessmacher & Tara defeated Mexican America (Rosita & Sarita) to win the TNA Knockouts Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to famed trainer Ric Drasin (70), former WWE & WCW Cruiserweight Champion Gregory ‘Hurricane’ Helms (40), former WWE, UFC and IWGP Champion Brock Lesnar (37), one-time WWWF Tag Team Champion Rene Goulet (82), current NXT star & former ROH Tag & Television Champion Sami Zayn/El Generico (30), & Mexican star El Alebrije (42)

Also, today would have been the birthday of NWA tag team star Roy Heffernan (89)

In Memoriam

In 1971, Yvon Robert died at age 56 in Laval, Quebec. Robért was a 16-time world champion in Montreal, as well as a world champion in the National Wrestling Association and the Boston American Wrestling Association. He was also one-half of the NWA Canadian Open Tag Team Champions with Whipper Billy Watson, & the Mid-America NWA World Tag Team Champions with Billy Wicks

In 2012, Indian wrestler Dara Singh passed away in Mumbai, India due to cardiorespiratory arrest at the age of 83 years old.  Singh was hospitalized on July 7 & sent home the day before he passed away.

(Visited 16 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply