This Day In Wrestling History – July 9th

Jul 9, 2014 - by staff


2007 – World Wrestling Entertainment signed former Million Dollar Tough Enough competitor Daniel Rodimer. A Florida native, Rodimer did not make it to the main WWE roster

2008 – WWE released Diva Ashley Massaro, who had publicly stated several days earlier that she had requested her release due to her child being ill.   She has not worked in the business since

2012 – Former WCW star Marcus Bagwell was arrested in Cherokee County, Georgia for reckless driving. He was later released on bond


In 2000, WCW Bash At The Beach was held at the Ocean Center, in Daytona Beach, Florida. With an attendance of 6,572. This was the final BATB PPV, & was also the last WCW appearance of Hulk Hogan:

– Lt. Loco defeated Juventud Guerrera to retain the WCW Cruiserweight Title
– Big Vito defeated Norman Smiley & Ralphus in a Handicap Match to retain the WCW Hardcore Title
– Daffney (with Crowbar) defeated Miss Hancock (with David Flair) in an Evening Gown Match
– KroniK (Brian Adams & Bryan Clark) defeated The Perfect Event (Shawn Stasiak & Chuck Palumbo) to win the WCW World Tag Team Titles
– Kanyon defeated Booker T
– Mike Awesome defeated Scott Steiner (with Midajah) via DQ (Steiner retains the WCW United States Title, though was immediately stripped of it after the match)
– Vampiro defeated The Demon in a Graveyard Match
– Shane Douglas defeated Buff Bagwell
– Hulk Hogan defeated Jeff Jarrett to win the WCW World Title. Vince Russo had ordered Jarrett to lie down for Hogan, but after the match, Russo fired Hogan, & reinstated Jarrett as champion
– Goldberg defeated Kevin Nash to banish Scott Hall from WCW
– Booker T defeated Jeff Jarrett to win the WCW World Title

Title Changes

1963 – Bobo Brazil defeated Johnny Barend to win the WWWF United States Title

1963 – The Crusher defeated Verne Gagne to win the AWA World Title

1975 – Danny Hodge & Jay Clayton defeated Stan Hansen & Frank Goodish to win the TSW United States Tag Team Titles

1979 – Angelo Mosca defeated Mike Sharpe Jr. to win the TSW Brass Knucks Title

1985 – The Rock N Roll Express (Ricky Morton & Robert Gibson) defeated Ivan Koloff & Krusher Krushchev to win the NWA World Tag Team Title in Shelby, North Carolina. This marks the 1st NWA World Tag Title reign for the Rock N’ Roll Express

1986 – The Fabulous Moolah defeated Velvet McIntyre to win the WWF Women’s Title

2001 – on Raw, The APA (Faarooq & Bradshaw) defeated The Dudley Boyz (Bubba Ray & D-Von) to win the WWF Tag Team Titles

2005 – The Carnage Crew (HC Loc & Tony Devito) defeated BJ Whitmer & Jimmy Jacobs to win the ROH Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to 3-time WWE Intercontinental Champion Shelton Benjamin (38), 3-time WCW Television Champion Marc ‘Johnny B Badd’ Mero (53), 6-time World Heavyweight Champion Kevin Nash (54), & former WCW and ECW wrestler PN News (47)

Leave a Reply