This Day In Wrestling History – July 8th

Jul 8, 2014 - by staff


1996 – The Monday Night War continued: WCW Monday Nitro defeated WWF Monday Night Raw: 3.5 to 2.5 in the ratings

2002 – During the end of a 10 man match on Raw, Kevin Nash, in his 1st match back in action in months after recovering from a biceps injury, suffered an injury to his left quadriceps muscle. Nash tripped over Booker T’s foot after Nash hit a big boot to the face on Booker. After he hit the boot, Nash was running across the ring to hit Bubba Ray Dudley, who was on the apron. Because he had tripped on Booker’s foot, he landed awkwardly on his left leg

2008 – Rellik (the former Johnny Stamboli) & James Mitchell were released by TNA

2010 – Triple H underwent surgery on a biceps injury suffered while filming the WWE Studio’s “The Chaperone”

2012 – Former WWE Diva Serena Deeb was arrested and cited for what is described as BUI in the arrest report. BUI appears to stand for “Boating under the influence” in Pasco County, Florida


In 1985, the 1st WWF King of the Ring Tournament was held at Sullivan Stadium, in Foxborough, Massachusetts. With an attendance of 23,000:

1st Round Tournament Matches:
– Jim Brunzell defeated The Spoiler
– Tito Santana defeated Terry Funk via DQ
– The Iron Sheik defeated B. Brian Blair
– Ricky Steamboat defeated Greg Valentine
– Les Thornton defeated Steve Lombardi
– Don Muraco defeated The Junkyard Dog
– Pedro Morales defeated Johnny V.
– Paul Orndorff fought Bob Orton Jr. to a double DQ
Quarter–final Tournament Round Matches:
– Tito Santana fought Jim Brunzell to a draw (Brunzell then won a coin toss to advance)
– The Iron Sheik defeated Ricky Steamboat
– Don Muraco defeated Les Thornton
Semi–Final Tournament Matches:
– The Iron Sheik defeated Jim Brunzell
– Don Muraco defeated Pedro Morales
King of The Ring Tournament Final:
Don Muraco defeated The Iron Sheik to become the 1st ever WWF King of the Ring
– Hulk Hogan defeated Nikolai Volkoff to retain the WWF World Heavyweight Title

In 2012, TNA Destination X was held at the Impact Zone, in Orlando, Florida. With an attendance of 1,100.The event featured a 1-night tournament for the vacant X-Division Title. Jesse Sorensen also made his 1st TNA appearance since his neck injury at this event. This was also the 1st year that the X-Division Champion could cash in the X Title for a shot at the TNA World Title:

– Mason Andrews defeated Lars Only, Dakota Darsow, & Rubix to earn the final spot in the X-Division Title Tournament
– Mason Andrews defeated Kid Kash in a X–Division Title Tournament Semi-Final Match
– Kenny King defeated Douglas Williams in a X–Division Title Tournament Semi-Final Match
– Sonjay Dutt defeated Rashad Cameron in a X–Division Title Tournament Semi-Final Match
– Zema Ion defeated Flip Cassanova in a X–Division Title Tournament Semi-Final Match
– Samoa Joe defeated Kurt Angle in a Bound For Glory Series Match
– AJ Styles defeated Christopher Daniels in a Last Man Standing Match
– Zema Ion defeated Mason Andrews, Sonjay Dutt, & Kenny King in an Ultimate X Match (serving as the tournament final) to win the vacant TNA X–Division Title
– Austin Aries defeated Bobby Roode to win the TNA World Title

Title Changes

1968 – Fritz von Erich defeated Chris Markoff to win the Texas Brass Knuckles Title

1968 – Klondike Bill & Skull Murphy defeated Kintaro Ohki & Michiaki Yoshimura to win the JWA All Asia Tag Team Titles

1972 – Johnny Valentine defeated Billy Red Lyons to win the WCCW American Heavyweight Title

1988 – Kerry von Erich, Kevin von Erich, & Michael Hayes defeated Buddy Roberts, King Parsons, & Kamala (subbing for Terry Gordy) to win the WCCW World 6-Man Tag Team Titles. This was the final reign before the titles were abandoned later that year

1991 – Johnny Ace & Kenta Kobashi defeated Doug Furnas & Dan Kroffat to win the AJPW All Asia Tag Team Titles

1991 – The Barroom Brawlers defeated Jeff Jarrett & Robert Fuller for the USWA Tag Team Title in Memphis, Tennessee

1996 – on Nitro, Rey Misterio Jr defeated Dean Malenko to win the WCW Cruiserweight Title

2002 – on Raw, Jeff Hardy defeated William Regal to win the WWE European Title

2006 – Gedo & Jado defeated El Samurai & Ryusuke Taguchi to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Titles

2007 – Dos Caras Jr. (WWE’s Alberto Del Rio) defeated Universo 2000 to win the CMLL World Heavyweight Title

2008 – Tiger Mask IV defeated Prince Devitt in the final of a tournament to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title


Happy birthday to former WSX & XPW wrestler Luke Hawx, also known as Altar Boy Luke (33)

Also, today would have been the birthday of one-time WWWF Tag Team Champion Jerry Valiant (73)

Leave a Reply