This Day In Wrestling History – June 6th

Jun 6, 2014 - by staff


1985 – Ken Patera & Mr. Saito are found guilty of charges filed against them following the infamous “McDonald’s Incident” in Waukesha, Wisconsin when Patera threw a brick through the window of a closed McDonald’s when the staff refused to reopen & serve them. This led to a confrontation with police later on, & the 2 men were arrested & charges were filed. Patera was convicted of 2 counts of battery on a police officer, & 1 count of criminal damage to property. Saito was convicted of 3 counts of battery on a police officer, & 1 count of obstructing the law. Both men were sentenced to prison time

2003 – Carly Colon, soon to be known as Carlito, signed with WWE

2002 – NWA-TNA announced that they added the following wrestlers to their company: Lenny & Lodi, The Harris Brothers, Christian York & Joey Matthews, David Young, Jorge Estrada, Sonny Siaki, Jimmy Yang, Murray Happer, Bill Mueler, Psicosis, Chris Harris, Michael Staples, Daffney, Miss Joni, & referees Mark “Slick” Johnson, & Scott Armstrong
2006  WWE released Road Warrior Animal from his contract

2011 – Andy Leavine won the revival series of WWE Tough Enough


In 1997, ECW Wrestlepalooza was held live at the ECW Arena, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. With an attendance of 1,250:

– Shane Douglas (with Francine) defeated Chris Chetti to retain the ECW World Television Title
– The Pitbulls (#1 & #2) defeated The F.B.I (Tracy Smothers & Little Guido) (with Tommy Rich)
– The Dudley Boyz (D-Von & Buh Buh Ray Dudley) (with Big Dick Dudley, Joel Gertner, & Sign Guy Dudley) defeated The Sandman & Balls Mahoney
– Terry Funk defeated Chris Candido to retain the ECW World Heavyweight Title
– Tommy Dreamer (with Beulah McGillicutty) defeated Raven (with Chastity & Lupus)
– Sabu (with Bill Alfonso) defeated Taz
– Taz defeated Shane Douglas (with Francine) to win the ECW World Television Title
– The Eliminators (John Kronus & Perry Saturn) defeated The Dudley Boyz (Buh Buh Ray & D-Von Dudley) (with Sign Guy Dudley, Joel Gernter, & Big Dick Dudley) to retain the ECW World Tag Team Titles

In 1997, The Ilio DiPaolo Memorial Show was held at the Marine Midland Arena, in Buffalo, New York. The show was promoted by Ilio’s son Dennis in association with WCW. All proceeds from the show were donated to local children’s charities:

– Gino Brito defeated Tony Parisi defeated Dory Funk Jr. & Greg Valentine
– Dean Malenko defeated Alex Wright to retain the WCW United States Title
– The Steiner Brothers (Scott & Rick) defeated The Public Enemy (Rocco Rock & Johnny Grunge)
– Diamond Dallas Page defeated Randy Savage
– Chris Benoit defeated Meng via countout
– Dean Malenko fought Rey Misterio Jr to a time-limit draw to retain the WCW United States Title
– The Outsiders (Kevin Nash & Scott Hall) defeated Lex Luger & The Giant to retain the WCW Tag Team Titles

In 2001, New Japan Pro Wrestling held an untitled PPV in Tokyo, Japan:

– Mitsuya Nagai defeated Takashi Iizuka by TKO
– Toshiaki Kawada defeated Satoshi Kojima
– Jinsei Shinzaki, Taiyo Kea & Jushin Liger defeated Akira Nogami, Hiroyoshi Tenzan & Masa Chono
– Keiji Mutoh defeated Hiroshi Hase
– Kazuyuki Fujita defeated Yuji Nagata via TKO to retain the IWGP Heavyweight Title

In 2010, AAA TripleMania XVIII was held in Mexico City. The show featured the induction of Abismo Negro into the AAA Hall of Fame:

– Octagoncito defeated Mini Abismo Negro, Mini Charly Manson, Mascarita Divina, Mini Psicosis, Mini Histeria, Mascarita Sagrada, La Parkita & Mini Chessman in a TLC Match to win the AAA Mini-Estrellas Title
– Los Maniacos (Silver Cain & Ultimo Gladiator) defeated Beer Money Inc. (Robert Roode & James Storm), Atsushi Aoki & Go Shiozaki, & La Hermandad 187 (Nicho & Joe Lider) in a Four-Way Elimination Tag Team Match to win the AAA Tag Team Titles
– Cibernetico & Abyss defeated El Zorro & Vampiro in an Extreme Rules Tag Team Match
– Jack Evans defeated Extreme Tiger, Christopher Daniels, & Nosawa in a Four-Way Elimination Match to win the AAA Cruiserweight Title
– Dr. Wagner Jr defeated Electroshock to retain the AAA World Title
– LA Park defeated La Parka to win the rights to the name ‘La Parka’

Title Changes

1930 – Jim Londos defeated Dick Shikat to win the NWA (National Wrestling Association) World Heavyweight Wrestling Title in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

1964 – Luke & Dr Jerry Graham defeated Don McClairty & Argentina Apollo to win the WWWF United States Tag Team Titles

1966 – Fritz von Erich defeated Brute Bernard to become the first WCCW American Heavyweight Champion

1979 – Verne Gagne & Mad Dog Vachon defeated Pat Patterson & Ray Stevens to win the AWA World Tag Team Title in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

1981 – Jake Roberts defeated The Grappler to win the MSW North American Title

1982 – Jimmy Valiant defeated Ivan Koloff to win the NWA Television Title

1993 – Shawn Michaels defeated Marty Jannetty to win the WWF Intercontinental Title at a house show in Albany, New York. This match saw the WWF debut of Michael’s bodyguard Diesel (Kevin Nash)

2000 – on Thunder, Lieutenant Loco (Chavo Guerrero Jr.) defeated Daffney, & Disco Inferno in a Triple Threat Match to win the WCW Cruiserweight Title. Also, Eric Bischoff awards the WCW Hardcore Title to Johnny Stamboli & Big Vito, though for unknown reasons, Vito would eventually be named sole champion

2003 – Tamon Honda & Kenta Kobashi defeated Jun Akiyama & Akitoshi Saito to win the GHC Tag Team Titles

2008 – The Age of the Fall (Jimmy Jacobs & Tyler Black) defeated Kevin Steen & El Generico in the final of a tournament to win the vacant ROH Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to former WWF wrestler Ted Arcidi (56), current TNA star Gunner (32), indy hardcore star 2 Tuff Tony (40), one-time WWE Intercontinental & Tag Champion Drew McIntyre (29), one-time WWF Intercontinental Champion Ahmed Johnson (44), & 3-time TNA Knockouts Champion ODB (36)

Also, today would have been the birthday of former NWA star Rip Hawk (84)

(Visited 23 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply