This Day In Wrestling History – June 4th

Jun 4, 2014 - by staff


1981 – For the 3rd straight year, Antonio Inoki won the NJPW MSG League by defeating Stan Hansen in the final

2001 – Jushin Liger won the NJPW Best of the Super Juniors Tournament, defeating Minoru Tanaka in the final

2002 – NWA-TNA announced the signing of Rick Steiner for their 1st PPV event.

2007 – WWE requested that Ric Flair not appear at a NWA live event where Flair was to be inducted into the NWA Hall of Fame.  Flair canceled his appearance, but his induction goes on as planned

2009 – World Wrestling Entertainment released 2nd generation star Maverick Darsow (son of Barry “Demolition Smash” Darsow) & Lupe Santiago, both developmental stars stationed in Tampa, FL for FCW

2009 – WWE signed Chris Masters to return to the company for a 2nd run.  During the 2nd run, Masters showed a ton of improvement as a worker, working an undercard babyface role


In 2001, WWF Monday Night Raw was broadcast live from the Target Center, in Minneapolis, Minnesota:

– Kane defeated Christian (with Edge) to retain the WWF Intercontinental Title
– Jeff Hardy defeated Matt Hardy (with Lita) in a 2001 King of The Ring Qualifying Match
– The Dudley Boyz (Spike Dudley, D-Von Dudley, & Bubba Ray Dudley) defeated Crash Holly, Hardcore Holly, & Kurt Angle in a 6-man tag team match
– Chris Benoit defeated The Big Show
– Rhyno defeated Tazz in a 2001 King of The Ring Qualifying Match
– Trish Stratus defeated Terri in a Bra & Panties Match
– Steve Austin defeated Chris Jericho to retain the WWF World Heavyweight Title

In 2004, After 2 years as a “PPV Only” company, the very 1st episode of TNA Impact airs on Fox Sports Net.  The show, taped in Universal Studios in Orlando, Florida, would later move from it’s Friday afternoon slot on FSN to a late night Saturday slot on SpikeTV, before becoming a late night Thursday show for Spike, then finally becoming a primetime show on Thursdays. The show would also see the debut of the 6-sided ring in TNA, which was previously a staple of the AAA promotion in Mexico:

Team International (Hector Garza, Red, & Sonjay Dutt) defeated Team Canada (Eric Young, Petey Williams, & Robert Roode) (with Scott D’Amore)
– Abyss defeated Shark Boy
– America’s Most Wanted (Chris Harris & James Storm) defeated Kid Kash & Dallas (Lance Hoyt) to win the NWA World Tag Team Titles
– AJ Styles defeated Elix Skipper, Michael Shane, & Chris Sabin

In 2012, WWE Monday Night Raw was broadcast live from the Bi-LO Center, in Greenville, South Carolina:

Dark Match:
– Richie Steamboat defeated JTG
– Jinder Mahal defeated Alex Riley
– Jack Swagger defeated Zack Ryder
– Sheamus defeated Dolph Ziggler (with Vickie Guerrero)
– Sin Cara defeated Hunico (with Camacho)
– Ryback defeated Stan Stansky & Arthur Rosenberg in a 2 on 1 Handicap Match
– Kane defeated CM Punk
– R-Truth & Kofi Kingston defeated Tyler Reks & Curt Hawkins
– John Cena defeated Tensai (with Sakamoto)
– John Cena defeated Michael Cole in a No Disqualification Match

Title Changes

1962 – Buddy Austin & Mike Sharpe defeated Rikidozan & Toyonobori to win the JWA All Asia Tag Team Titles

1981 – Kerry von Erich defeated Ernie Ladd to win the WCCW American Heavyweight Title

1986 – Kerry von Erich is injured in a motorcycle accident, so passes his share of the WCCW World 6-Man Tag Team Titles to his brother Mike

1999 – NO FEAR (Takao Omori & Yoshihiro Takayama) defeated Hayabusa & Jinsei Shinzaki to win the AJPW All Asia Tag Team Titles

2002 – on Smackdown, Billy & Chuck defeated Rico & Rikishi in an Elimination Match to win the WWF Tag Team Titles. Billy Gunn becomes the 1st 10-time WWF/E Tag Team Champion

2006 – Takashi Sugiura defeated KENTA to win the GHC Junior Heavyweight Title. Also, Tamon Honda & Kenta Kobashi defeat Takeshi Morishima & Mohammed Yone to win the GHC Tag Team Titles

2007 – on Raw, Lance Cade & Trevor Murdoch defeated The Hardys (Matt & Jeff) to win the World Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to 2-time AJPW Junior Heavyweight Champion Joe Malenko (59), former WWF & ECW worker Pablo “Babu” Marquez (41), & ECW Triple Crown Champion Mikey Whipwreck (41)

Also, today would have been the birthday of WWE Hall of Famer Gorilla Monsoon (77)

(Visited 40 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply