Bray Wyatt

Mar 6, 2010 - by Jamie Cruickshank

Real name: Windham Lawrence Rotunda
Height: 6’3″
Weight: 295 lbs.
Date of birth: May 23, 1987
Date of death: August 24, 2023
Hometown: Brooksville, Florida
Pro debut: 2009
Trained by: FCW/NXT
Finishing move: Sister Abigail


– Rotunda made his FCW debut in February 2009, competing as ‘Tank Mulligan’. He went through several changes of ring name before settling on ‘Duke Rotundo’ to team with brother Bo
– On April 9, 2009, Rotundo made his TV debut, defeating Jon Cutler
– On June 18, 2009, Rotundo & Vic Adams fought FCW Tag Team Champions The DudeBusters (Caylen Croft & Trent Barreta) to a double countout
– On July 9, 2009, The Rotundos defeats FCW Tag Team Champions The DudeBusters by DQ
– On July 23, 2009, The Rotundos defeated Justin Gabriel & Kris Logan to win the FCW Tag Team Titles
– On August 13, 2009, The Rotundos defeated Dylan Klein & Vance Archer to retain the FCW Tag Team Titles
– On October 23, 2009, The Rotundos defeated Donny Marlow & Jimmy Uso to retain the FCW Tag Team Titles
– On November 12, 2009, The Rotundos defeated Curt Hawkins & Heath Slater to retain the FCW Tag Team Titles
– On June 1, 2010, Rotunda (as Husky Harris) was announced as a competitor on NXT Season 2, with Cody Rhodes as his mentor
– One week later, Harris made his NXT debut, teaming with Rhodes in a loss to MVP & Percy Watson
– On August 17, 2010, Harris was eliminated from NXT, placing equal 3rd
– In early October 2010, Harris began competing on Smackdown house shows
– At Hell In A Cell 2010, a disguised Harris interfered in the John Cena-Wade Barrett match, securing a win for Barrett
– The next night on Raw, Harris’ identity was revealed
– On October 18, 2010, Harris & Michael McGillicutty were defeated by John Cena & Randy Orton. The pre-match stipulation stated that they would be inducted into Nexus if they won
– One week later, Harris & McGillicutty were inducted into The Nexus anyway!
– In January 2011, CM Punk took over The Nexus from Wade Barrett, forcing Harris to go through another initiation
– On January 31, 2011, Harris & McGillicutty lost to Santino Marella & Vladimir Kozlov. Following the match, Harris was punted in the head by Randy Orton. He was sent back to FCW without making another televised appearance
– On March 18, 2011, Rotunda debuted a new character, ‘Axel Mulligan’. Unfortunately, it was not a success and he soon reverted to ‘Husky Harris’
– On September 1, 2011, Harris defeated Big E Langston to qualify for the FCW Heavyweight Title finals match, but lost a 4-Way to Leo Kruger
– On February 2, 2012, Harris & Bo Rotundo defeated Brad Maddox & Eli Cottonwood to win the vacant FCW Tag Team Titles. The pair defeated Antonio Cesaro & Alexander Rusev that same night to retain the titles
– In March 2012, Rotunda debuted a new character, ‘Bray Wyatt’
– On April 5, 2012, Wyatt made his televised debut, defeating Aiden English
– In July 2012, Wyatt formed ‘The Wyatt Family’ alongside Luke Harper & Erick Rowan
– On May 2, 2013, The Wyatt Family (Harper & Rowan) defeated Adrian Neville & Bo Dallas (subbing for the injured Oliver Grey) to win the NXT Tag Team Titles
– In May 2013, The Wyatt Family debuted on Raw via a vignette. These video packages continued over the next few weeks
– On July 8, 2013, The Wyatt Family made their Raw debut, attacking Kane. They assaulted R-Truth a week later
– At Summerslam ’13, Wyatt made his full in-ring debut, defeating Kane in a Ring of Fire Match
– At Battleground ’13, Wyatt defeated Kofi Kingston
– At TLC ’13, The Wyatt Family (Wyatt, Harper & Rowan) defeated Daniel Bryan in a Handicap Match
– On December 30, 2013, Daniel Bryan joined The Wyatt Family
– On January 13, 2014, Bryan left The Wyatt Family once more
– At Royal Rumble ’14, Wyatt defeated Daniel Bryan
– At Elimination Chamber ’14, The Wyatt Family defeated The Shield (Roman Reigns, Seth Rollins & Dean Ambrose)
– At WrestleMania XXX, Wyatt was defeated by John Cena
– At Extreme Rules ’14, Wyatt defeated John Cena
– At Payback ’14, Wyatt was defeated by John Cena in a No-DQ Match
– At Battleground ’14, Wyatt was defeated by Chris Jericho
– At Summerslam ’14, Wyatt defeated Chris Jericho
– On September 8, 2014, Wyatt defeated Chris Jericho in a Cage Match
– In late-September, vignettes aired which suggested the breakup of The Wyatt Family
– At TLC ’14, Wyatt defeated Dean Ambrose in a TLC Match
– In early 2015, Wyatt began a ‘feud’ with The Undertaker
– At WrestleMania 31, Wyatt was defeated by The Undertaker
– At Payback ’15, Wyatt defeated Ryback
– In the summer of 2015, Wyatt began feuding with Roman Reigns
– At Battleground ’15, Wyatt defeated Reigns after an assist from Luke Harper, apparently signalling the reformation of The Wyatt Family
– At Night of Champions ’15, The Wyatt Family (Wyatt, Harper & Braun Strowman) defeated Roman Reigns, Dean Ambrose & Chris Jericho
– At TLC ’15, The Wyatt Family defeated The Dudley Boyz (Bubba Ray & D-Von), Rhyno & Tommy Dreamer in an Elimination Tables Match
– The next night on Raw, The Wyatt Family defeated the former ECW stars in an Extreme Rules Match
– In the 2016 WWE draft, Wyatt was allocated to Smackdown
– At Battleground ’16, The Wyatt Family (Wyatt, Rowan & Strowman) defeated The New Day (Big E, Kofi Kingston & Xavier Woods)
– At Backlash ’16, Wyatt defeated Randy Orton by forfeit (Wyatt had attacked Orton before the match so he could not meet the 10 count) but then lost an impromptu No Holds Barred Match to Kane
– At Survivor Series ’16, Wyatt was a member of Team Smackdown as they defeated Team Raw. He and Randy Orton were the last men standing
– At TLC ’16, The Wyatt Family (Wyatt & Orton) defeated Heath Slater & Rhyno to win the Smackdown Tag Team Titles
– At Elimination Chamber ’17, Wyatt defeated John Cena, AJ Styles, The Miz, Baron Corbin & Dean Ambrose in the Elimination Chamber Match to win the WWE World Title
– The next week on Smackdown Live, Wyatt defeated John Cena & AJ Styles in a Triple Threat Match to retain the WWE World Title
– On April 10, 2017, Wyatt was moved to the Raw roster
– At Payback ’17, Wyatt defeated Randy Orton in a House of Horrors Match
– At Great Balls of Fire ’17, Wyatt defeated Seth Rollins
– Following a defeat in the Ultimate Deletion Match, Wyatt aligned himself with Woken Matt Hardy
– At The Greatest Royal Rumble, Hardy & Wyatt defeated The Bar (Sheamus & Cesaro) to win the vacant Raw Tag Team Titles
– In August 2018, Hardy took time away from WWE to rehab various injuries, thus splitting up the team. Wyatt would also disappear from television
– Wyatt returned to WWE television in April 2019, portraying a creepy children’s entertainer gimmick. This would evolve into a ‘multiple personality’ gimmick, with Wyatt also portraying a monstrous character ‘The Fiend’
– At Summerslam 2019, The Fiend defeated Finn Balor
– In a much-derided match (including by the participants) The Fiend fought WWE Universal Champion Seth Rollins to a no-contest at Hell In A Cell 2019
– At Crown Jewel 2019, The Fiend defeated Seth Rollins in a Falls Count Anywhere Match to win the WWE Universal Title
– At Survivor Series 2019, The Fiend defeated Daniel Bryan to retain the WWE Universal Title
– At TLC 2019, Wyatt (in Firefly Funhouse gimmick) defeated The Miz
– At Royal Rumble 2020, The Fiend defeated Daniel Bryan in a Strap Match to retain the WWE Universal Title
– At WrestleMania 36, The Fiend defeated John Cena in a Firefly Funhouse Match
– At The Horror Show At Extreme Rules, Wyatt (in his old cult-leader persona) defeated Braun Strowman in a Swamp Fight
– At Summerslam 2020, The Fiend defeated Braun Strowman in a Falls Count Anywhere Match to win the WWE Universal Title, but would lose it to Roman Reigns a week later
– On July 31, 2021, Wyatt was released by WWE
– Wyatt returned to WWE at Extreme Rules 2022
– At Royal Rumble 2023, Wyatt defeated LA Knight in a ‘Mountain Dew Pitch Black’ Match

Comments are closed.