The Fabulous Moolah

Oct 17, 2009 - by Steve Gerweck

Photo credit: World Wrestling Entertainment, Inc.

Photo credit: World Wrestling Entertainment, Inc.

Real name: Mary Lillian Ellison
Height: 5’5″
Weight: 138 lbs.
Date of birth: July 22, 1923
Date of death: November 2, 2007
Hometown: Columbia, SC
Pro debut: 1949
Trained by: Mae Young
Finishing move: School-Girl Roll Up


– In 1954, Moolah became a valet for “Nature Boy” Buddy Rogers named “Slave Girl Moolah.”
– On September 18, 1956 in Baltimore, MD, Moolah defeated Judy Grable in a tournament final for her first taste of the Women’s World title.
– Moolah is first recognized as NWA Women’s champion in 1964 when June Byers retires from the ring.
– In 1966, Moolah regained the championship from Betty Boucher.
– In April 1968, Moolah defeated Yukiko Tomoe in Japan to regain the Women’s title.
– On August 27, 1971, Moolah successfully defended the Women’s title against Betty Niccoli in Los Angeles, CA.
– Moolah defeated Vicki Williams on August 12, 1972 in Cleveland, OH at the “Superbowl of Wrestling” event.
– On September 30, 1972 in Flushing, NY, Moolah defeated Debbie Johnson to retain the Women’s title.
– After dropping the Women’s title to Sue Green in 1976, Moolah regained it shortly thereafter in Madison Square Garden.
– On October 10, 1978, Moolah defeated Evelyn Stevens for the Women’s title in Fort Worth, TX.
– Moolah and Beverly Slade defeated Kandi Malloy and Peggy Lee on August 9, 1980 at the “Showdown at Shea.”
– On July 10, 1983, Fabulous Moolah pinned Princess Victoria in Toronto, Ontario.
– When the WWF withdraws from the National Wrestling Alliance, Moolah’s title was renamed the WWF Women’s title.
– At Wrestlemania I, Moolah accompanied Lelani Kai to the ring for her Women’s championship match.
– On November 25, 1985 in New York, NY, Moolah defeated Wendi Richter to regain the WWF Women’s title.
– At Wrestlemania 2, Moolah defeated Velvet McIntyre to retain the Women’s title.
– On July 9, 1986, Moolah defeated McIntyre to regain the WWF Women’s title in Sydney, Australia.
– At the 1987 Survivor Series, Moolah’s Team (consisting of Moolah, McIntyre, Rockin’ Robin, the Jumbing Bomb Angels [Itsuki Yamazaki and Noriyo Tateno]) defeated Sherri’s Team (consisting of Sensational Sherri, Marie Dawn, Donna Christianello, Judy Martin, and Leilani Kai).
– In 1995, Moolah was inducted into the WWF Hall of Fame.
– On October 17, 1999 at No Mercy in Cleveland, OH, Moolah defeated Ivory to reclaim the WWF Women’s title.
– At the 1999 Survivor Series, Moolah, Mae Young, Debra, and Tori defeated Ivory, Jacqueline, Luna, and Terri in an eight women “sudden death” match.
– At the 2000 Royal Rumble, Moolah served as a guest judge for the bikini contest, which was won by Mae Young.
– In Summer 2002, Moolah released her autobiography, The Fabulous Moolah: First Goddess of the Squared Circle.
– On the September 15, 2003 edition of “Raw,” Moolah defeated Victoria in a mere 31 seconds.
– On the September 23, 2004 episode of “Smackdown,” Moolah and Mae Young defeated Dawn Marie and Torrie Wilson in a “School girl” match.
– Moolah was voted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame on February 1, 2010.

Comments are closed.