Da Pope

Sep 28, 2009 - by Jamie Cruickshank


Real name: Elijah Samuel Burke
Height: 6’1″
Weight: 230 lbs.
Date of birth: May 24, 1978
From: Jacksonville, FL
Pro debut: 2003
Trained by: OVW
Finishing move: DDE


– Prior to his wrestling career, Burke was an accomplished amateur boxer in Jacksonville
– Burke was signed to a WWE developmental contract in early 2004
– On March 24, 2004, Burke made his OVW debut, losing to Sean O’Haire
– On December 8, 2004, Burke defeated Chad Toland to win the OVW Heavyweight Title
– On January 12, 2005, Burke defeated Matt Morgan to retain the OVW Heavyweight Title
– On February 23, 2005, Burke defeated The Blueprint to retain the OVW Heavyweight Title
– On March 23, 2005, Burke defeated Tank Toland to retain the OVW Heavyweight Title
– On June 3, 2005, Burke fought OVW Heavyweight Champion Brent Albright to a no contest
– On July 6, 2005, Burke defeated OVW Television Champion Ken Doane by DQ
– In December 2005, Burke was offered a spot in the soon-to-debut Spirit Squad, but turned down the offer
– On July 28, 2006, Burke debuted on Smackdown as the manager/cornerman of Sylvester Terkay. The following week, he made his in-ring debut, defeating Scott Wright
– On November 7, 2006, the pair were moved to the ECW brand
– On November 14 and 21, 2006, Burke replaced the injured Tazz at the ECW announce table
– At December To Dismember 2006, Burke & Terkay defeated The Full Blooded Italians (Little Guido Maritato & Tony Mamaluke)
– On January 18, 2007, the duo were split as Terkay was released from his WWE contract
– In February 2007, Burke formed The New Breed stable alongside Matt Striker, Marcus Cor Von and Kevin Thorn
– On April 3, 2007, The New Breed defeated The ECW Originals (Sabu, Rob Van Dam, The Sandman & Tommy Dreamer) in an Extreme Rules Match
– On November 10, 2008, Burke was released from his WWE contract, having been off TV for nearly 6 months
– In May 2009, Burke competed in IWC’s Super Indy Tournament, but lost in the quarter finals
– On May 27, 2009, Burke defeated Shawn Spears in a TNA tryout match. He would sign an official TNA deal in July
– At Hard Justice 2009, Burke made his TNA debut as D’Angelo Dinero, competing in a Steel Asylum Match
– At No Surrender 2009, Dinero defeated Suicide
– At Final Resolution 2009, Dinero, Hernandez, Matt Morgan & Suicide defeated Brother Ray, Brother Devon, Rhino & Jesse Neal in an Elimination Match
– On January 20, 2010, Dinero defeated Orlando Jordan to qualify for the 8 Card Stud Tournament
– At Against All Odds 2010, Dinero defeated Desmond Wolfe, Matt Morgan and Mr Anderson in separate singles matches to win the 8 Card Stud Tournament
– On June 6, 2010, Dinero & Jeremy Prophet defeated Pauly Platinum & Fred Lauzon to win the CRW Tag Team Titles
– At Bound For Glory 2010, Dinero, Kevin Nash & Sting defeated Jeff Jarrett & Samoa Joe in a Handicap Match
– At Hardcore Justice 2011, Dinero defeated Devon in the Bound For Glory series
– Dinero’s TNA contract expired on January 1, 2013.
– On September 11, 2013, Burke defeated Flash Flanagan to win the OVW Television Title. Over the next month, he retained the title against Flanagan, Raul LaMotta & Rockstar Spud
– Dinero spent much of 2014 and early 2015 away from wrestling
– In June 2015, Dinero returned to TNA as a colour commentator
– In November 2015, Burke joined OVW’s Band of Brothaz as ‘General Pope’
– On December 5, 2015, The Band of Brothaz (General Pope & Private Anthony) defeated The Van Zandt Family Circus (The Ringmaster & Dapper Dan Van Zandt) to win the OVW Southern Tag Team Titles
– On January 27, 2016, The Band of Brothaz defeated The Tag Buddies (Adam Revolver & Stuart Miles) to retain the OVW Southern Tag Team Titles
– On November 16, The Pope & Big Jon defeated Big Zo & Hy-Zaya to win the OVW Southern Tag Team Titles
– In August 2017, The Pope left TNA
– On December 16, 2017, Cool Pimpin (Burke & JB Cool) defeated The Head Bangers (Mosh & Thrasher) to win the FEW Tag Team Titles
– On July 20, Burke defeated Adrien Herrera to win the FEW International Title
– On January 12, 2019, Burke defeated Ace Mayhem to retain the FEW North Heavyweight Title
– On August 23, Burke defeated Rey Xion, Jason Dugan & JD Amazing in a Gauntlet Match to win the ARW Rapid Fire Title
– On October 29, Burke & Steven Rummage defeated Adam Revolver & Shannon The Dude to win the World Heavyweight Radio Title for Rummage
– In December 2019, Burke revived his Pope moniker for the NWA
– On July 31, 2020, Burke defeated Chico Adams to win the ARW Next Level Title
– On October 20, The Pope defeated Zicky Dice to win the NWA Television Title
– At NWA Back For The Attack, The Pope fought Thom Latimer to a time-limit draw to retain the NWA Television Title
– On April 6, 2021, The Pope defeated Fred Rosser to retain the NWA Television Title
– On April 27, The Pope fought Tyrus to a time-limit draw to retain the NWA Television Title
– On May 18, The Pope defeated Matt Cross to retain the NWA Television Title
– On June 8, The Pope defeated Luke Hawx to retain the NWA Television Title
– On July 6, The Pope defeated Sal Rinauro to retain the NWA Television Title
– At the NWA’s 74th Anniversary Show, The Pope & Kratos defeated Aron Stevens & Rodney Mack in a Missouri Tornado Match
– On the NWA Hard Times III pre-show, The Pope, JTG & Anthony Mayweather defeated Jax Dane, Alex Taylor & Mercurio in a Hardcore War

Comments are closed.