Shark Boy

Sep 9, 2009 - by Steve Gerweck


Real name: Dean Roll
Height: 5’10”
Weight: 180 lbs.
Date of birth: January 28, 1975
From: Lebanon, OH
Pro debut: May 3, 1997
Trained by: Les Thatcher
Finishing move: Dead Sea Drop


– On April 2, 1998, Shark Boy defeated Chip Fairway in Louisville, KY for the IWA (Independent Wrestling Association) Mid South title.
– On May 19, 1999, Shark Boy downed Fairway, Terik the Great, and Matt Stryker at the second annual Brian Pillman Memorial show.
– Shark Boy defeated Bobby Kane on May 26, 1999 in Fort Mitchell, KY for the HWA (Heartland Wrestling Association) Cruiserweight title.
– WCW offered Shark Boy a dark match, and was eventually signed to a contract.
– As a result, Shark Boy vacated the HWA Cruisweight title, unfortunately, however, he was released by WCW soon after.
– On February 19, 2000, Shark Boy defeated Stryker to capture the vacant HWA Cruiserweight title in Hamilton, OH.
– On April 28, 2000, Shark Boy defeated Fairway in Greenburg, PA in a “ladder” match.
– Shark Boy defeated Crusher Hansen and Cody Hawk in a three way match to claim the PWX (Pro Wrestling Express) Television title on February 25, 2000 in Pittsburgh, PA.
– At the third annual Brian Pillman Memorial show on May 25, 2000, Shark Boy defeated Jamie-san (Jamie Noble).
– On September 29, 2000, Shark Boy defeated GQ Masters III in West Union, OH for the RWA (Real American Wrestling) Cruiserweight title.
– On November 4, 2000, Shark Boy pinned Rory Fox in a tag team match while teaming with Race Steele for his third HWA Cruiserweight title.
– Shark Boy won a battle royal on February 27, 2001 in Cincinnati, OH for the HWA title.
– On March 11, 2001 in Geneva, OH, Shark Boy downed El Tiburon for the NEPW Cruiserweight title.
– On August 30, 2001, Shark Boy and Molly Holly defeated Evan Karagias and Victoria in Covington, KY.
– Shark Boy won a single night tournament in Hollywood, FL on July 13, 2002 to capture the HWC title.
– Shark Boy made his NWA TNA PPV in August 2002.
– On December 6, 2002, Shark Boy defeated Frankie Kazarian at the WWA’s (World Wrestling All-Stars) PPV offering “Retribution.”
– Shark Boy defeated Ron “The Truth” Killings on February 22, 2003 in Hornell, NY.
– At the TNA 2005 Slammiversary PPV, Shark Boy defeated Zach Gowan, Delirious, Jerrelle Clark, The Amazing Red and Elix Skipper in a “Six Man X Division” match.
– At the 2005 Sacrifice PPV, Shark Boy, Sonjay Dutt and Chris Sabin defeated David Young, Simon Diamond, and Elix Skipper.
– At Destination X ’08, Shark Boy and Christopher Daniels (as Curry Man) defeated Team 3D in a “fish market street fight” match.
– At No Surrender ’08, Prince Justice Brotherhood (Super Eric, Shark Boy, and Curry Man) defeated The Rock N’ Rave Infection (Lance Rock, Jimmy Rave, and Christy Hemme).
– On October 19, 2008, Shark Boy defeated Dave Crist to retain the BPW Heavyweight Title.
– On September 19, 2009, Shark Boy defeated Eddie Gonzales to retain the BPW Heavyweight Title.
– At Destination X ’11, Shark Boy & Eric Young defeated Generation Me (Max & Jeremy Buck). Shark Boy was granted his TNA release soon after.
– At One Night Only: Ten Reunion, Shark Boy made his TNA return, competing in a Battle Royal match.
– At One Night Only: Hardcore Justice 2, Shark Boy won a 9-Man Hardcore Battle Royal.
– On November 21, 2013, Shark Boy made his first Impact appearance in nearly 5 years, losing to Ethan Carter III.
– In September 2014, Shark Boy returned to TNA once more, losing to Manik and Tyrus across two TV tapings.
– On October 24, 2015, Shark Boy defeated Xavier Justice to win the vacant BWCW Cruiserweight Title
– On March 12, 2022, Shark Boy & Onyx defeated Shane Douglas & Mr Pittsburgh Stealer #7 to retain the Ohio State Tag Team Titles
– Shark Boy returned to Impact Wrestling for a brief run in May 2022, ending with victory in the Reverse Battle Royal on the Slammiversary 2022 pre-show
– On August 10, Shark Boy & Onyx defeated The Masked Super-Starr & James Runyon to retain the Ohio State Tag Team Titles
– On October 15, Shark Boy & Onyx defeated Josh Benson & Bob Orton to retain the Ohio State Tag Team Titles

Comments are closed.