This Day In Wrestling History – February 17th

Feb 17, 2017 - by Bill Fenbers

1989Robert Fuller & Jimmy Golden win the WCWA World Tag Team Championship, defeating Kevin & Kerry Von Erich.

1991 – At a house show in Atlanta, the team of Junkyard Dog, Ricky Morton, & Tommy Rich become the inaugural WCW World Six-Man Tag Team Champions, defeating the team of Buddy Landel, Dutch Mantel, & Dr. X.

1996 – In the United States Wrestling Association, PG-13 (J.C. Ice & Wolfie D) defeat Tracy Smothers & Jesse James Armstrong, to win the USWA World Tag Team Championship.  It’s PG-13’s eleventh time as tag champs.

1996 – At a house show in Baltimore, Lex Luger defeats Johnny B. Badd, to win the WCW World Television Championship.

1997 – In the Monday Night Wars, WCW Monday Nitro (2.9 TV rating) beats WWF Monday Night RAW (2.1 rating).  On Nitro, Prince Iaukea defeats Steven Regal, to win the WCW World Television Championship.  Over on RAW, Sycho Sid defeats Bret Hart, to win the WWF Championship (Stone Cold Steve Austin interfered and hit Bret with a steel chair, while Hart had the sharpshooter applied on Sid).  Hart had just won the title the night before, at the In Your House: Final Four pay-per-view.

1998 – Randy “Macho Man” Savage receives Harvard Lampoon’s “Real Man” of the Year Award.  The humor magazine gives out the award every year to “that male specimen of the human species who best exemplifies universal manliness.”

2001 – At a house show in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, Steve Blackman defeats Raven, to win the WWF Hardcore Championship.  With the 24/7 rule in effect, Raven later pins Blackman, to reclaim the title.

2002 – WWF No Way Out is held in Milwaukee in front of 15,291 fans.  The original nWo trio of Hollywood Hogan, Kevin Nash, and Scott Hall made their return to the WWF;  Hogan had left in 1993 while Hall & Nash left in 1996.    The three address the crowd in the ring, to open the show.  They tell the crowd they want a clean slate, didn’t want any trouble, and were grateful to Vince McMahon for allowing the them to return to the WWF.

Also at No Way Out, Kurt Angle defeats Triple H, to become the #1 contender for the Undisputed WWF Championship;  Stephanie McMahon served as special guest referee.  In the main event, Chris Jericho defeats Stone Cold Steve Austin, to retain the Undisputed Championship.  Despite what they said to open the show, the nWo played a factor in this match, helping Jericho retain the title, and spray-painting NWO on Austin’s back to end the show.

2002 – In Pro Wrestling NOAH, Takeshi Morishima & Takeshi Rikio win the GHC Tag Team Championship, defeating Takao Omori & Yoshihiro Takayama.

2003 – In the main event on WWE RAW, General Manager Eric Bischoff defeats commentator Jim Ross in a No Holds Barred Match.  Full match in the two videos below.  Chief Morley assists Bischoff in the match.

2007Toshiaki Kawada & Taiyo Kea win the AJPW World Tag Team Championship, defeating RO’Z & Suwama.  Also Katsuhiko Nakajima wins the AJPW World Junior Heavyweight Championship, defeating Shuji Kondo.

2007 – In Pro Wrestling NOAH, Kishin Kawabata & Kentaro Shiga win the GHC Hardcore Tag Team Championship, defeating Go Shiozaki & Shuhei Taniguchi in a tournament final.

2007 – At Ring of Honor’s Fifth Year Festival in Philadelphia, Takeshi Morishima defeats Homicide, to become the new ROH World Champion.

2008Togi Makabe & Toru Yano win the IWGP Tag Team Championship, defeating Giant Bernard & Travis Tomko.  Also, Jushin Thunder Liger & Akira win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Championship, defeating Minoru & Prince Devitt.

2008 – WWE No Way Out is held in Las Vegas in front of 13,306 fans.  In an Elimination Chamber Match, The Undertaker wins a World Heavyweight Championship Match at WrestleMania XXIV;  Undertaker defeats Batista, Finlay, MVP, The Great Khali, & Big Daddy V.  In a second Elimination Chamber Match, Triple H wins a WWE Championship Match at WrestleMania;  Triple H defeats Jeff Hardy, Shawn Michaels, Chris Jericho, Umaga, & John “Bradshaw” Layfield.  In other matches, Edge defeats Rey Mysterio, to retain the World Heavyweight Championship.  John Cena defeats Randy Orton via disqualification (Orton retains the WWE Championship).  And Ric Flair defeats Mr. Kennedy, in a match where Flair had to retire if he lost.

2009 – Sarah Stock, aka Sarita, signs a contract with TNA Wrestling.

2013 – WWE Elimination Chamber is held in New Orleans in front of 13,000 fans.  In the only Elimination Chamber match of the night, Jack Swagger defeats Mark Henry, Daniel Bryan, Randy Orton, Kane, & Chris Jericho.  Swagger earns a World Heavyweight Championship Match at WrestleMania 29.  In the main event, The Rock retains the WWE Championship, defeating CM Punk.  This is the final night the “Spinner Belt” would be used, as The Rock would unveil a new WWE Championship belt the next night.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO: former WWE manager Ricardo Rodriguez (31 years old);  CMLL performer Magnus (24 years old, not to be confused with the former TNA World Heavyweight Champion Magnus);  and 5-time ROH World Tag Team Champion Jimmy Jacobs (33 years old).

SOURCES:, The Internet Wrestling Database,

(Visited 103 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply