This Day In Wrestling History – November 14th

Nov 14, 2016 - by Bill Fenbers

Happy birthday, Kalisto!

Happy birthday, Kalisto!

1957 – Dick Hutton defeats Lou Thesz, to become the new NWA World Heavyweight Champion.  This ends Thesz’s eight-year continuous run as champion.

1973 – Tony Garea and Dean Ho defeat Mr. Fuji and Professor Tanaka, to win the WWWF World Tag Team Championship.

1980 – Bruiser Brody defeats Stan Stasiak, to win the NWA Texas Brass Knuckles Championship.

1992 – FOX airs the final episode of the original WWF Saturday Night’s Main Event.  In 2006 he program would be revived by NBC (which aired the original Main Event from 1985-1991).  The revived run only runs until 2008.

1999 – WWF Survivor Series is held in Detroit in front of 18,735 fans.  The event is best known for Stone Cold Steve Austin being run down by a car, thus being unable to compete for the WWF Championship that night.  Austin would be replaced by Big Show, who would win the title from Triple H, with an assist from Vince McMahonThe Rock also participated in this match.  Two other title matches occurred:  Chyna retains the Intercontinental Championship after defeating Chris JerichoThe New Age Outlaws (Road Dogg and Billy Gunn) retain the WWF Tag Team Championship after defeating Mankind and Al Snow.  It was also at this event that Kurt Angle would make his TV debut in the WWF, defeating Shawn Stasiak in a singles match.  Full results can be found here.

2000 – Sabu defeats Mike Rapada, to win the NWA World Heavyweight Championship.

2004 – WWE Survivor Series is held in Cleveland in front of 7,500 fans.  Spike Dudley retains the Cruiserweight Championship in a Fatal 4-Way Match (also featuring Billy Kidman, Chavo Guerrero, and Rey Mysterio)Shelton Benjamin retains the Intercontinental Championship by defeating Christian.  And John “Bradshaw” Layfield retains the WWE Championship after defeating Booker T.  Full results can be found here.

2005 – WWE RAW pays tribute to Eddie Guerrero, who passed away one day earlier.  Along with a ten-bell salute, all matches were tribute matches to Eddie;  current storylines were put on hold and WWE talent were given the option to wrestle or not wrestle.   Performers also paid tribute to Eddie with video messages.

2012 – In Ohio Valley Wrestling, Taryn Terrell defeats Heidi Lovelace, to win the OVW Women’s Championship;  Taeler Hendrix served as guest referee.

2015 – Michael Elgin wins Ring of Honor’s Survival of the Fittest Tournament and earns a shot at the ROH World Championship.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO: Current head trainer at the WWE Performance Center in Orlando & former WWF Intercontinental Champion Matt Bloom aka Prince Albert (44 years old);  3-time Women’s Wrestling Council Champion (WWC), currently in SHINE Wrestling Black Rose aka La Rosas Negra (35 years old);  former WCW star & former CMLL World Tag Team Champion La Parka (51 years old);  and former WWE NXT Tag Team Champion (with Sin Cara as The Lucha Dragons) & 2-time WWE United States Champion Kalisto (30 years old).

SOURCES: WrestleView, Pro Wrestling Wiki, The Internet Wrestling Database,

(Visited 59 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply