This Day In Wrestling History – November 12th

Nov 12, 2016 - by Bill Fenbers

1954 – Rito Romero and Pepe Mendietta defeat Roy Shire and The Great Scott, to win the NWA Texas Tag Team Championship.

1965 – Mad Dog Vachon defeats The Crusher, to win the AWA World Heavyweight Championship.

1966 – Dick the Bruiser defeats Mad Dog Vachon, to win the AWA World Heavyweight Championship.  Vachon had held the title for exactly one year before dropping the title on this night.

1971 – Luke Graham and Tarzan Tyler defeat The Mongols, to win the WWWF International Tag Team Championship.

1973 – Tank Morgan defeats Dewey Robertson, to win the Mid-South (Tri-State) North American Heavyweight Championship.

1979 – Billy Robinson defeats Super Destroyer Mark II, to win the AWA British Empire Heavyweight Championship.  Robinson is the last to hold the title before it is abandoned.

1984 – Jerry Lawler wins the AWA Southern Heavyweight Championship for the 39th time, defeating King Kong Bundy.

2001 – Two titles change hands WWF RAW.  The Hardy Boyz win the WWF Tag Team Championship for the 5th time, defeating Booker T and Test.  And Edge defeats Kurt Angle, to win the WCW United States Championship.

2006 – Vampiro becomes the inaugural Wrestling Society X (WSX) Champion, defeating 6-Pac (Sean Waltman).

2008 – In Ohio Valley Wrestling, Melody becomes the new OVW Women’s Champion.  Brewski wins a Fatal 4-Way Match for the title that also involved Serena, Reggie, and Josie.

2010 – In a six-way match, Eddie Edwards wins Ring of Honor’s “Survival of the Fittest.”  Other particpants include:  Claudio Castagnoli, Adam Cole, Kenny King, Kevin Steen,and Rhett Titus.

2010 – On this evening’s Friday Night SmackDown, Dolph Ziggler defeats MVP, to retain the WWE Intercontinental Championship.  Also, David Otunga wins a Lumberjack Match against Edge;  had Otunga lost he would’ve been kicked out of The Nexus, an ultimatum set by Wade Barrett.

2010 – Tag team “Impeccable” (Ken Carson and Joey Figueroa) defeat Pretty Flawless (Jerome Daniels and Nobe Bryant), to win the NWA Texas Tag Team Championship.

2011 – In Ohio Valley Wrestling, Taeler Hendrix defeats Lady Jo Jo, to win the OVW Women’s Championship.

2011 – At Combat Zone Wrestling’s Night of Infamy 10: Ultimatum, 4Loco (Azireal and Bandido Jr.) defeat Philly’s Most Wanted (Joker and Sabian), to win the CZW World Tag Team Championship.  Sami Callihan defeats Adam Cole, to win the CZW World Junior Heavyweight Championship.

2012 – On this evening’s WWE RAW, Ryback defeats Brad Maddox, in a match that would’ve earned Maddox $1,000,000 had he won.  It was also on this night, that Jerry “The King” Lawler returned to the announcer’s table for the first time since suffering a legitimate on-air heart attack, during a September episode of RAW.

2014 – On this evening’s Impact Wrestling, The Revolution (James Storm and Abyss) defeat The Wolves (Davey Richards and Eddie Edwards), to win the TNA World Tag Team Championship.

2015 – On this evening’s WWE SmackDown, Neville, Alberto Del Rio, and Kalisto all win first round matches in the World Heavyweight Championship tournament;  a new champion will be crowned at Survivor Series.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO: Former ECW wrestler / valet Elektra (46 years old);  former WWE diva & interviewer Lena Yada (38 years old);  former Ohio Valley Wrestling (OVW) Heavyweight & Tag Team Champion Matt Cappotelli (37 years old);  former WCW Cruiserweight, Tag Team, & Television Champion Disco Inferno (49 years old).

Today would’ve been the 36th birthday for former Combat Zone Wrestling (CZW) & Ring of Honor Tag Team Champion Trent Acid.

SOURCES: 411MANIA, The Internet Wrestling Database, Pro Wrestling Wiki, WrestleView,

(Visited 72 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply