This Day In Wrestling History – August 14th

Aug 14, 2015 - by Jamie Cruickshank


2000 – The Monday Night War continued: WWF Monday Night Raw defeated WCW Monday Nitro: 5.9 to 2.4 in the ratings

2005 – Masahiro Chono won the NJPW G1 Climax Tournament, defeating Kazuyuki Fujita in the final

2009 – WWE released Nick “Eugene” Dinsmore, who had just been signed to return the week prior after he made 1 appearance on Raw & the company was unhappy with the shape he was in

2011 – Shinsuke Nakamura won to win the G1 Climax Tournament, defeating Tetsuya Naito in the final


In 1999, the final WCW Road Wild was held at the motorcycle rally in Sturgis, South Dakota. With an attendance of 5,500:

– Rey Mysterio Jr., Eddie Guerrero, & Billy Kidman defeated Vampiro & The Insane Clown Posse (Shaggy 2 Dupe & Violent J)
– Harlem Heat (Booker T & Stevie Ray) defeated The Jersey Triad (Chris Kanyon & Bam Bam Bigelow) to win the WCW World Tag Team Titles
– The Revolution (Shane Douglas, Perry Saturn, & Dean Malenko) defeated The West Texas Rednecks (Curt Hennig, Barry Windham, & Bobby Duncum Jr.) (with Kendall Windham)
– Buff Bagwell defeated Ernest Miller (with Sonny Onoo)
– Chris Benoit defeated Diamond Dallas Page in a No-DQ Match to retain the WCW United States Title
– Sid Vicious defeated Sting
– Goldberg defeated Rick Steiner
– Randy Savage defeated Dennis Rodman
– Hulk Hogan defeated Kevin Nash in a Retirement Match to retain the WCW World Title

In 2005, the 1st TNA Sacrifice was held at the Impact Zone, in Orlando, Florida. With an attendance of 775:

Apolo & Sonny Siaki defeated Mikey Batts & Jerrelle Clark
Sacrifice PPV:
Shark Boy, Chris Sabin, Sonjay Dutt defeated The Diamonds In The Rough (Simon Diamond, Elix Skipper, & David Young)
– Alex Shelley defeated Shocker
– Abyss (James Mitchell) defeated Lance Hoyt
– 3Live Kru (Konnan & Ron Killings) defeated Kip James & Monty Brown with BG James as special guest referee
– Christopher Daniels defeated Austin Aries. Aries was selected as Daniels’ opponent by an internet poll also including Roderick Strong, Jay Lethal, & Matt Sydal
– Jerry Lynn defeated Sean Waltman
– Team Canada (A-1, Bobby Roode, Eric Young, & Petey Williams) defeated America’s Most Wanted (Chris Harris & James Storm), & The Naturals (Chase Stevens & Andy Douglas)
– Samoa Joe defeated AJ Styles to win the 2005 Super X Cup Tournament
– Jeff Jarrett & Rhino defeated Raven & Sabu

In 2010, JCW Flashlight Wrestling: Legends & Loonies was held at Hog Rock, in Cave-In-Rock, Illinois. The event started at 4am as part of The Gathering of Juggalos. There was no hard lighting, as the fans brought flashlights, to light the ring with. Hence the name of the event:

– Tommy Rich & The Rock n’ Roll Express (Ricky Morton & Robert Gibson) defeated Kamala & The Haters (Pauly & Vito Thomaselli)
– Bob Armstrong defeated Bob Orton Jr.
– Breyer Wellington (with Geeves) fought Eugene to a no contest
– Breyer Wellington & Geeves defeated Brian Christopher & Eugene
– Jim Duggan defeated Tracy Smothers (Isabella Smothers)
– PG-13 (Wolfie D. & JC Ice) defeated Kevin Thorn & Gangrel

In 2010, AAA Verano de Escandalo was held in Orizaba, Mexico. The event was scheduled to be held in Monterrey, but the venue sustained damage from Hurricane Alex in July:

– Aero Star, Faby Apache, & Mari Apache defeated La Legion Extranjera (Alex Koslov, Christina Von Eerie, & Sexy Star). Mari pinned Sexy Star to win the AAA Reina de Reinas Title and as a result, Von Eerie & Koslov retain their AAA Mixed Tag Team Titles
– Jack Evans & La Hermandad 187 (Joe Lider & Nicho el Millionario) defeat La Legion Extranjera (Hernandez, Nosawa, & El Zorro)
– Dr. Wagner Jr. defeats Silver King & Vampiro in a 3-Way Match to retain the AAA Heavyweight Title
– Los Perros del Mal (Damian 666, LA Park, & Perro Aguayo Jr.) defeat Cibernetico, El Mesias, & La Parka

In 2011, JCW Bloodymania V iPPV was held at Hog Rock, in Cave-In-Rock, Illinois:

– Bill Martel defeated Sal the Man of 1,000 Gimmicks
– 2 Tuff Tony & The Weedman defeated US Marshall Adam Pearce & Officer Colt Cabana
– Zach Gowen defeated U-Gene via reversed decision
– Butler Jeeves defeated Breyer Wellington (with Mrs. Jeeves)
– Raven & Sexy Slim Goody defeated The Ring Rydas (Jake & David Crist), The Mean Old Bastards (Bull Pain & Tracy Smothers) (with Isabella Smothers), and Mad Man Pondo & Necro Butcher
– Kongo Kong defeated Rhino in a NO DQ Match
– Randy the Ring Girl defeated Amber O’Neal & Brittany Force
– X-Pac defeated Luke Gallows & Rob Conway
– Corporal Robinson defeated Vampiro to retain the JCW Heavyweight Title

In 2011, WWE Summerslam was held at Staples Center, in Los Angeles, California for the 3rd straight year. With an attendance of 17,404:

Dark Match:
– Dolph Ziggler (with Vickie Guerrero) defeated Alex Riley
Summerslam PPV:
– John Morrison, Rey Mysterio Jr., & Kofi Kingston defeated The Miz, Alberto Del Rio (with Ricardo Rodriguez), & R-Truth
– Mark Henry defeated Sheamus via countout
– Kelly Kelly (with Eve Torres) defeated Beth Phoenix (with Natalya) to retain the WWE Diva’s Title
– Wade Barrett defeated Daniel Bryan
– Randy Orton defeated Christian in a No Holds Barred Match to win the World Heavyweight Title
– CM Punk defeated John Cena with Triple H as special guest referee to become the ‘undisputed’ WWE Champion
– Alberto Del Rio cashed in his Money In The Bank & defeated CM Punk to win the WWE Title

Title Changes

1998 – The Border Patrol (Agent Gunn & Agent Maxx) defeated The New Midnight Express (Bob Holly & Bart Gunn) to win the NWA Tag Team Titles

1999 – Spike Dudley & Balls Mahoney defeated The Dudley Boyz (Buh Buh Ray & D-Von) to win the ECW Tag Team Titles

2000 – Several titles changed hands on Nitro: The Filthy Animals (Rey Misterio Jr & Juventud Guerrera) defeated The Dark Carnival (Vampiro & The Great Muta) to win the WCW Tag Team Titles. Also, Lance Storm awarded the WCW Cruiserweight & Hardcore Titles to Elix Skipper & Carl Ouelette respectively, though Ouelette would lose the Hardcore Title to Norman Smiley later in the show

2006 – Lita defeated Mickie James to win the WWE Women’s Title

2010 – Jon Moxley (WWE’s Dean Ambrose) defeated Nick Gage & Egotistico Fantastico to win the CZW World Heavyweight Title in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania


Happy birthday to 4-time WW(W)F Champion Bob Backlund (66), former WCW Tag & Television Champion and GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame member Bobby Eaton (57), 4-time WWE Intercontinental Champion Kofi Kingston (34), NWA & AWA legend Bobby Duncum Sr. (71), former WCW wrestler Jeff Farmer known for his appearances as Fake/nWo Sting (53), & indy star Johnny Gargano (28)

Also, today would have been the birthday of former ECW, USWA, AWA, WWC, & UWF Tag Champion ‘Hot Stuff’ Eddie Gilbert (54), & 6-time Texas Heavyweight Champion Gino Hernandez (58)

(Visited 2 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply