This Day In Wrestling History – February 28th

Feb 28, 2015 - by staff


2000 – The Monday Night War continued: WWF Monday Night Raw defeated WCW Monday Nitro: 6.5 to 2.1 in the ratings

2002 – WWE Tough Enough series 2 begins on MTV. The series was eventually won by Linda ‘Shaniqua’ Miles & Jackie Gayda-Haas, but also featured Matt Morgan & Kenny King

2010 – WWE released Charlie Haas

2011 – Chris Jericho is announced for ABC’s Dancing with the Stars series

2011 – WWE announced Bob Armstrong for the 2011 class of the WWE Hall of Fame

2015 – The Midnight Express (Bobby Eaton & Dennis Condrey) were inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame, with 81% of the fan votes


In 1976, The WWWF held an event at the Spectrum in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania:

– Johnny Rodz defeated Mark Tendler
– Baron Mikel Scicluna defeated Kevin Sullivan
– Louis Cyr defeated Pat Barrett
– Ivan Putski defeated Bugsy McGraw
– Dominic DeNucci defeated Jerry Blackwell
– NWA World Women’s Champion The Fabulous Moolah defeated Kitty Adams to retain the title
– WWWF Tag Team Champions Louis Cerdan & Tony Parisi fought Superstar Billy Graham & Ernie Ladd to a double-disqualification to retain the title
– WWWF Heavyweight Champion Bruno Sammartino defeated Ivan Koloff via DQ to retain the title

In 1982, A 10-team tournament was held in Atlanta, Georgia for the NWA World Tag Team Title. The title was vacated in December after Gene Anderson was injured in October, forcing he & Ole Anderson to give up the title:

First round:

– Jack & Jerry Brisco defeated Ron Bass & Kevin Sullivan
– Dory Funk, Jr. & Terry Funk defeated Rip Oliver and Buddy Rose
– Leroy Brown & Ron Fuller defeated The Masked Superstar & The Super Destoryer
– Genichiro Tenryu & Jumbo Tsuruta defeated Rick Harris (Black Bart) & The Mongolian Stomper
– Ole Anderson & Stan Hansen defeated Brad Armstrong & Tommy Rogers
– Jack & Jerry Brisco defeated Dory Funk, Jr. & Terry Funk
– Genichiro Tenryu & Jumbo Tsuruta defeated Leroy Brown & Ron Fuller
– Ole Anderson & Stan Hansen defeated Genichiro Tenryu & Jumbo Tsuruta
– Ole Anderson & Stan Hansen defeated Jack & Jerry Brisco to win the vacant NWA World Tag Team Title

In 1988, The WWF held an event at Maple Leaf Gardens in Toronto, Ontario:

– Bad News Brown defeated Johnny K-9
– Sika defeated Iron Mike Sharpe
– The Bolsheviks (Nikolai Volkoff & Boris Zhukov) defeated The Junkyard Dog & George Steele
– The Islanders (Haku & Tama) defeated The British Bulldogs (The Dynamite Kid & Davey Boy Smith) via DQ
– Jim Duggan defeated Butch Reed
– Rick Rude defeated Jake Roberts
– Don Muraco defeated The One Man Gang

Title Changes

1913 – Jean Paradis defeated Eugene Tremblay to win the World Lightweight Title in Montreal, Quebec

1934 – Charley Fischer defeated Joe Banaski to win the Midwest Wrestling Association World Light Heavyweight Title in Columbus, Ohio

1953 – Ray Greenfield defeated Len Holt to win the Australian Middleweight Title in Sydney, Australia

1957 – Dory Funk defeated The Great Bolo to win both the Amarillo NWA North American Heavyweight Title & Southwest Junior Heavyweight Titles in Amarillo, Texas

1961 – Dick the Bruiser defeated Bobo Brazil to win the Detroit NWA United States Heavyweight Title in Detroit, Michigan

1968 – Archie Gouldie defeated Pat O’Connor to become the first Stampede North American Heavyweight Champion in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

1969 – Johnny Valentine defeated The Spoiler to win the Texas Heavyweight Title

1973 – Mr. Kleen defeated Buddy Colt t0 win the Florida NWA Southern Heavyweight Title in Miami, Florida

1975 – Louie Tillet & John Tolos defeated The Hollywood Blonds (Jerry Brown & Buddy Roberts) to win the NWA Americas Tag Team Title in Los Angeles, California

1975 – The Great Mephisto defeated George Gouliovas to win the NWA Austra-Asian Heavyweight Title in Sydney, Australia

1976 – Roddy Piper & Crusher Verdu defeated Chavo & Gory Guerrero to win the NWA America’s Tag Team Title

1978 – Mike Graham & Steve Keirn defeated Jack & Jerry Brisco to win the Florida NWA United States Tag Team Title in Tampa, Florida

1986 – Dick Slater defeated Jake Roberts to win the MSW Television Title

1987 – Buddy Landel defeated Ron Fuller to win the NWA Southeast Continental Heavyweight Title in Chattanooga, Tennessee

1989 – Eddie Gilbert & Rick Steiner defeated Kevin Sullivan & Steve Williams to win the NWA United States Tag Team Titles

1991 – The Glamour Girls (Leilani Kai & Judy Martin) defeated Team America (Heidi Lee Morgan & Misty Blue Simmes) to win the Ladies’ Professional Wrestling Association Tag Team Title in Laughlin, Nevada

1992 – Barry Horowitz defeated Ben Jordan to win the GWF Light Heavyweight Title in Dallas, Texas

2000 – on Nitro, 3 Count (Shane Helms, Shannon Moore & Evan Karagias) simultaneously pinned Brian Knobbs to become co-holders of the WCW Hardcore Title

2003 – X (Sean Waltman) defeated Kaos to win the XPW Television Title in Los Angeles, California

2006 – Hawaii Allen defeated Omry Balely to win the Israeli Pro Wrestling Association Heavyweight Title in Tel Aviv, Israel

2012 – Eric Young & ODB defeated Gail Kim & Madison Rayne to win the TNA Knockouts Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to WWE Hall of Famer Ricky Steamboat (62), 2-time WCW Hardcore Champion Norman Smiley (50), former WWE wrestler Aaron ‘Jésus’ Aguilera (38), &former ECW World & Tag Champion Masato Tanaka (42)

Also, today would have been the birthday of former WWF wrestler ‘The Missing Link’ Dewey Robertson (76)

(Visited 4 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply