This Day In Wrestling History– September 17th

Sep 17, 2014 - by staff


1986 – At a WWF television taping in Salisbury, Maryland, Gorilla Monsoon & Bobby Heenan are permanently paired together as the hosts of Wrestling Challenge, creating 1 of the most celebrated announcing teams in wrestling history

2008 – After concern was made about his behavior after boarding a flight in Nashville, TN, WWE star Jeff Hardy was asked to remove himself from the flight.  Hardy left without incident

2009 – Playboy’s website released an interview and “preview photos” of TNA star Traci Brooks’ shoot


In 1982, the EMLL 49th Anniversary Show was held in Mexico City:

– Perro Aguayo defeated Tony Salazar in a Hair vs Hair Match
– Halcon Ortiz defeated Dr. Wagner to retain the Mexican Heavyweight Title

In 1995, WCW Fall Brawl was held at the Asheville Civic Center, in Asheville, North Carolina. With an attendance of 6,600:

Main Event:
– Big Bubba Rogers defeated Mark Thorn
– Disco Inferno defeated Joey Maggs
– Alex Wright fought Eddie Guerrero to a no contest
– The American Males (Scotty Riggs & Marcus Bagwell) defeated The Nasty Boys (Jerry Sags & Brian Knobbs)
Fall Brawl:
– Johnny B. Badd defeated Brian Pillman
– Sgt. Craig Pittman defeated Cobra
– Diamond Dallas Page (with Maxx Muscle & Diamond Doll) defeated The Renegade to win the WCW Television Title
– Harlem Heat (Booker T & Stevie Ray) (with Sister Sherri) defeated Bunkhouse Buck & Dick Slater to win the WCW World Tag Team Titles
– Arn Anderson defeated Ric Flair
– The Hulkamaniacs (Hulk Hogan, Randy Savage, Lex Luger, & Sting) (with Jimmy Hart) defeated The Dungeon of Doom (Kamala, The Zodiac, The Shark, & Meng) (with The Taskmaster) in a WarGames Match

In 2000, the final WCW Fall Brawl was held at the HSBC Arena, in Buffalo, New York. With an attendance of 8,638:

– Elix Skipper (with Major Gunns) defeated Kwee Wee (with Paisley) to retain the WCW Cruiserweight Title
– The Misfits In Action (Cpl. Cajun, Lt. Loco, & Sgt. AWOL) defeated 3 Count (Shannon Moore, Evan Karagias, & Shane Helms)
– The Harris Brothers (Don & Ron) defeated Kronik (Bryan Clark & Brian Adams) in a First Blood Chain Match
– Lance Storm (with Major Gunns) defeated General Rection with Jim Duggan as special guest enforcer to retain the WCW United States Title
– The Filthy Animals (Disqo, Rey Mysterio Jr., Konnan, Juventud Guerrera, & Tygress), Paul Orndorff, & Big Vito fought The Natural Born Thrillers (Johnny The Bull, Reno, Shawn Stasiak, Mark Jindrak, Sean O’Haire, Mike Sanders, & Chuck Palumbo)
– Shane Douglas & Torrie Wilson defeated Billy Kidman & Madusa in a Scaffold Match
– Sting defeated The Great Muta & Vampiro (with The Insane Clown Posse) in a Triangle Match
– Mike Awesome defeated Jeff Jarrett in a Bunkhouse Brawl
– Scott Steiner (with Midajah & Vince Russo) defeated Goldberg in a No-DQ Match
– Booker T defeated Kevin Nash in a Caged Heat Match to win the WCW World Title

In 2004, the CMLL 71st Anniversary Show was held in Mexico City:

– Atlantis, Blue Panther, & Mascara Sagrada defeated Pierroth Jr., Tarzan Boy, & Vampiro
– Ultimo Guerrero defeated LA Park to retain the CMLL Light Heavyweight Title
– Perro Aguayo Jr, Damian El Terrible, & Hector Garza defeated El Hijo Del Santo, Negro Casas, & Shocker
– Universo 2000 lost a 4-Way Mask vs Mask Match to Rayo de Jalisco Jr, Dr. Wagner Jr., & El Canek

In 2006, WWE Unforgiven was held at the Air Canada Centre, in Toronto, Canada. With an attendance of 16,105. This was a Raw-exclusive event, & featured the final match for Trish Stratus in her active wrestling career:

Dark Match:
– Super Crazy defeated Shelton Benjamin
– Johnny Nitro (with Melina) defeated Jeff Hardy to retain the WWE Intercontinental Title
– Umaga (with Armando Alejandro Estrada) fought Kane to a double countout
– The Spirit Squad (Kenny & Mikey) (with Mitch & Nicky) defeated The Highlanders (Robbie & Rory McAllister) to retain the World Tag Team Titles
– D-Generation X (Triple H & Shawn Michaels) defeated Vince McMahon, Shane McMahon, & The Big Show in a Handicap Hell In A Cell Match
– Trish Stratus defeated Lita to win the WWE Women’s Title
– Randy Orton defeated Carlito
– John Cena defeated Edge (with Lita) in a TLC Match to win the WWE Title

Also in 2006, AAA Verano de Escandalo was held in Naucalpan, Mexico:

– Laredo Kid defeated Gran Apache & Kaoma Jr. in a 3-Way Elimination Match to win the Lucha por una Suena tournament
– The Mexican Powers (Crazy Boy, Joe Lider, Juventud Guerrera, & Psicosis II) defeated The Black Family (Chessman, Dark Cuervo, Dark Escoria, & Dark Ozz)
– Team TNA (Homicide, Low Ki, Samoa Joe & AJ Styles) defeated Abismo Negro, Charly Manson, Electroshock, & Histeria via DQ
– Team TNA (Low Ki, Samoa Joe & AJ Styles) defeated The Mexican Powers (Crazy Boy, Joe Lider & Juventud Guerrera)
– Gronda II, Octagon, & La Parka defeated La Legion Extranjera (Abyss, Jeff Jarrett, & Konnan) via DQ

In 2011, ROH Death Before Dishonor IX was held at the Manhattan Center, in New York City. With an attendance of 1,200:

Andy Ridge defeated Grizzly Redwood to qualify for the 2011 Survivor of the Fittest
Death Before Dishonor:
– The Embassy (Rhino & Tommaso Ciampa) (with Ernesto Orisis, Prince Nana, Princess Mia, & RD Evans) defeated Jay Lethal & Homicide
– Shelton Benjamin defeated Mike Bennett (with Bob Evans)
– The Young Bucks (Matt & Nick Jackson) defeated Future Shock (Adam Cole & Kyle O’Reilly), & The Bravado Brothers (Harlem & Lancelot) in a 3-Way Elimination Match
– El Generico fought Jimmy Jacobs to a no contest
– Charlie Haas defeated Michael Elgin (with Truth Martini)
– Eddie Edwards defeated Roderick Strong (with Truth Martini)  in a 2-out-of-3 Falls Match
– The All Night Express (Kenny King & Rhett Titus) defeated The Briscoe Brothers (Jay & Mark) in Ladder War III

Title Changes

1958 – Billy Wicks defeated Buddy Fuller to win the NWA Gulf Coast Heavyweight Title in Lafayette, Louisiana

1966 – Bette Boucher defeated The Fabulous Moolah to win the NWA Women’s Title. Current WWE Title Histories do not recognize this change

1970 – The Texas Outlaws (Dick Murdoch & Dusty Rhodes) defeated Jose Lothario & Argentina Apollo to win the NWA Florida Tag Team Title in Jacksonville, Florida

1974 – Wrestling Pro defeated Ken Mantell to win the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title. This change is only recognized in the Gulf Coast region

1979 – The Spoiler & Mark Lewin defeated Kerry von Erich & Bruiser Brody to win the Texas Tag Team Titles

1981 – Ric Flair defeated Dusty Rhodes to win the NWA World Title in Kansas City, Missouri (this was Flair’s 1st World Title)

1982 – Harley Race defeated Dick The Bruiser to win the Missouri State Heavyweight Title in St. Louis, Missouri

1988 – TNT (Savio Vega) defeated Buddy Landel to win the WWC Caribbean Heavyweight Title in Bayamon, Puerto Rico

1988 – Ron Garvin defeated Greg Gagne to win the AWA International Television Title in Nashville, Tennessee. Garvin would be the only man to hold the title other than Gagne (the belt only existed for 2 years)

2001 – on Raw, The Dudley Boyz (Bubba Ray & D-Von) defeated The Brothers Of Destruction (The Undertaker & Kane) to win the WWF Tag Team Titles

2002 – Matt Stryker defeated Cody Hawk to win the HWA Heavyweight Title in Cincinnati, Ohio

2005 – Bryan Danielson defeated James Gibson to win the ROH World Title

2006 – Averno defeated Negro Casas to win the CMLL World Middleweight Title


Happy birthday to 4-time World Class Television Champion Bill ‘The Goon’ Irwin (60), 7-time IWGP Tag Team Champion Masahiro Chono (51), legendary manager Jim Cornette (53), & founder of ROH, Evolve, & Dragon Gate USA Gabe Sapolsky (42)

(Visited 29 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply