This Day In Wrestling History– September 16th

Sep 16, 2014 - by staff


1996 – The Monday Night War continued: WCW Monday Nitro defeated WWF Monday Night Raw: 3.7 to 2.1

2009 – World Wrestling Entertainment, Inc. announced that Linda McMahon has stepped down as Chief Executive Officer after announcing her candidacy for the United States Senate, representing the state of Connecticut. Vince McMahon assumed the duties of Chief Executive Officer in addition to his current position as WWE® Chairman. McMahon will be supported by the seasoned executive management team already in place & led by Chief Operating Officer and board member, Donna Goldsmith.

2011 Dwayne Johnson announced he would be returning to the ring at the 2011 WWE Survivor Series to team with John Cena

2011 Claudio Castagnoli officially signed a WWE developmental deal, & currently competes on the WWE roster as Cesaro

2011 – La Sombra won the CMLL Universal Championship Tournament, defeating Averno in the final


In 2001, New Japan Pro Wrestling held an untitled PPV in Nagoya, Japan:

– Gedo & Jado defeated Katsuyori Shibata & Wataru Inoue to retain the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Titles
– Masayuki Naruse defeated El Samurai to retain the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title
– Kokushi & Hakushi defeated Masa Chono & Mike Barton
– Ten-Koji (Hiroyoshi Tenzan & Satoshi Kojima) defeated Mitsuya Nagai & Toshiaki Kawada
– Don Frye defeated Scott Norton to win the G-1 World League
– Manabu Nakanishi defeated Gary Goodridge

In 2005, the CMLL 72nd Anniversary Show was held in Mexico City:

– Marcela defeated Dark Angel to win the vacant CMLL Women’s Title
– Dr. Wagner Jr., Mistico & Negro Casas defeated Damian El Terrible, Mephisto, & Tarzan Boy
– Averno, Rey Bucanero, & Ultimo Guerrero defeated Shinsuke Nakamura, Shigeo Okumura, & Hiroshi Tanahashi
– Hector Garza lost a 3-Way Hair vs Hair Match to Perro Aguayo Jr & Universo 2000

In 2007, WWE Unforgiven was held at the FedExForum, in Memphis, Tennessee. With an attendance of 12,000:

Dark Match:
– Kane defeated Kenny Dykstra
– CM Punk defeated Elijah Burke to retain the ECW Title
– Matt Hardy & MVP defeated Deuce n Domino (with Cherry) to retain the WWE Tag Team Titles
– Triple H defeated Carlito
– Candice Michelle defeated Beth Phoenix to retain the WWE Women’s Title
– Batista defeated Rey Mysterio Jr. & World Champion The Great Khali (with Ranjin Singh) in a Triple Threat Match to win the World Heavyweight Title
– Lance Cade & Trevor Murdoch defeated Paul London & Brian Kendrick to retain the World Tag Team Titles
– Randy Orton defeated John Cena via DQ (Cena retains the WWE Title)
– The Undertaker defeated Mark Henry

Also in 2007, AAA Verano de Escandalo was held in Guadalajara, Mexico:

– The Mexican Powers (Crazy Boy, Extreme Tiger, Joe Lider & Juventud Guerrera) defeated Los Vipers Revolution (Antifaz del Norte, Histeria, Mr Niebla & Psicosis II)
– Los Guapos VIP (Decnis, Scorpio Jr & Zumbido) defeated Los Bello Stones (Super Calo, Alan & Chris Stone)
– Laredo Kid, Latin Lover, La Parka & Ricky Marvin defeated La Legion Extranjera (Abismo Negro, Ron Killings, Kenzo Suzuki & Sean Waltman)
– El Mesias defeated Chessman via DQ to retain the AAA Heavyweight Title
– Los Hell Brothers (Charly Manson, Chessman, Cibernetico, & El Zorro) defeated The Black Family (Dark Cuervo, Dark Escoria, Dark Espiritu, & Dark Ozz) in a Hair vs Hair Cage Match. Espiritu was the last man in the cage, so was forced to shave his head

In 2012, WWE Night Of Champions was held at the TD Garden, in Boston, Massachusetts. With an attendance of 14,886:

– Zack Ryder won a 16-man Battle Royal to earn a US Title match later in the night. (Also in the match were: Brodus Clay (with Cameron & Naomi), Primo & Epico (with Rosa Mendes), Tensai (with Sakamoto), Tyson Kidd, Justin Gabriel, JTG, Titus O’Neil, Heath Slater, Jinder Mahal, Drew McIntyre, Santino Marella, Ted Dibiase Jr., Darren Young, & Michael McGillicutty)
Night of Champions:
– The Miz defeated Rey Mysterio Jr., Sin Cara, & Cody Rhodes in a Fatal 4-Way Match to retain the WWE Intercontinental Title
– Team Hell No (Daniel Bryan & Kane) defeated Kofi Kingston & R-Truth to win the WWE Tag Team Titles
– Antonio Cesaro (with Aksana) defeated Zack Ryder to retain the WWE United States Title
– Randy Orton defeated Dolph Ziggler (with Vickie Guerrero)
– Eve Torres (subbing for the injured Kaitlyn) defeated Layla to win the WWE Divas Title
– Sheamus defeated Alberto Del Rio (with David Otunga & Ricardo Rodriguez) to retain the World Heavyweight Title
– CM Punk (with Paul Heyman) fought John Cena to a double-pinfall draw to retain the WWE Title

Title Changes

1972 – Harley Race defeated Pak Song in a tournament final to become the 1st ever NWA Missouri Champion.

1975 – John Tolos defeated Al Madril to win the Texas Heavyweight Title

1981 – Gerald Brisco defeated Les Thornton to win the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title

1988 – Michael Hayes & Steve Cox defeated The Samoan SWAT Team (Samu & Fatu) to win the WCCW World Tag Team Titles

1995 – The Pitbulls (#1 & #2) defeated Raven & Stevie Richards to win the ECW Tag Team Titles

2002 – on Raw, Chris Jericho defeated Rob Van Dam to win the WWE Intercontinental Title

2002 – Low Ki defeated Spanky to win the NWA International Light Heavyweight Title in Tokyo, Japan on a Zero-One event. Low Ki’s 1st championship in Japan, he would hold it for almost a full year.

2003 – on Smackdown, Los Guerreros (Eddie & Chavo) defeated The World’s Greatest Tag Team (Charlie Haas & Shelton Benjamin) to win the WWE Tag Team Titles

2006 – The Kings of Wrestling (Chris Hero & Claudio Castagnoli) defeated Austin Aries & Roderick Strong to win the ROH Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to former AJPW regular Richard Slinger (43), AAA regular “Girl Dynomite” Jennifer Blake (31), & former AJPW &  ECW Tag Team Champion Phil Lafon (53)

(Visited 26 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply