This Day In Wrestling History– September 9th

Sep 9, 2014 - by staff


1996 – The Monday Night War continued: WCW Monday Nitro defeated WWF Monday Night Raw: 3.7 to 2.4 in the ratings

2008 – Kurt Angle was found not guilty of driving under the influence and careless driving today in an Allegheny County, PA courtroom.  Judge David Cashman made the ruling in a non-jury trial on charges filed Sept. 28, 2007.  Angle had been arrested for DUI after a witness filed a complaint.  Angle’s lawyer challenged the use of the witness since police couldn’t corroborate her claims


In 2007, TNA No Surrender was held at the Impact Zone, in Orlando, Florida. With an attendance of 900:

– Pacman Jones & Ron Killings defeated Kurt Angle & Sting to win the TNA Tag Team Titles after Angle turned on Sting
– Rhino defeated James Storm (with Jackie Moore)
– Robert Roode (with Ms. Brooks) defeated Kaz
– Jay Lethal defeated Kurt Angle to win the TNA X-Division Title
– Chris Harris defeated Black Reign in a No-DQ Match
– Tomko & AJ Styles won a 10-team gauntlet match to earn a TNA World Tag Team Title shot at Bound For Glory. (The other teams were:  Petey Williams & Sonjay Dutt, The Voodoo Kin Mafia (Kip & BG James),  Triple X (Senshi & Christopher Daniels), Eric Young & Shark Boy, The Motor City Machine Guns (Chris Sabin & Alex Shelley), Serotonin (Raven& Havok), Team 3D (Brother Devon & Brother Ray), & The Rock ‘n Rave Infection (Lance Hoyt & Jimmy Rave), & The Latin American Xchange (Hernandez & Homicide)
– Christina Cage defeated Samoa Joe via DQ
– Kurt Angle defeated Abyss to retain the TNA World Title

In 2012, TNA No Surrender was held at the Impact Zone, in Orlando, Florida. With an attendance of 1,100:

– Jeff Hardy defeated Samoa Joe to reach the final of the Bound For Glory Series
– Bully Ray defeated James Storm to reach the final of the Bound For Glory Series
– Miss Tessmacher defeated Tara to retain the TNA Knockouts Title
– Zema Ion defeated Sonjay Dutt to retain the TNA X-Division Title
– Rob Van Dam defeated Magnus
– Christopher Daniels & Kazarian defeated AJ Styles & Kurt Angle to retain the TNA Tag Team Titles
– Jeff Hardy defeated Bully Ray to win the Bound For Glory Series

Title Changes

1970 – Waldo von Erich defeated Jack Curtis to win the TSW Mississippi Title

1980 – The Wild Samoans (Afa & Sika) defeated Tony Garea & Rene Goulet in the final of a tournament to win the WWF Tag Team Titles

1980 – The Grappler defeated Ted DiBiase to win the MSW North American Title

1986 – Dusty Rhodes defeated Arn Anderson to win the NWA Television Title in Columbia, South Carolina

1988 – Shinichi Nakano & Shunji Takano defeated Footloose (Samson Fuyuki & Toshiaki Kawada) to win the AJPW All Asia Tag Team Titles

1993 – Shane Douglas defeated Tito Santana via forfeit to win the NWA-ECW Title. This was a “phantom” title change, as the supposed show in Roanoke, Virginia where Douglas vs. Santana was to have taken place never really happened

1993 – Doug Furnas & Dan Kroffat defeated The Eagle & The Patriot to win the AJPW All Asia Tag Team Titles

2000 – Rhino defeated Kid Kash to win the  ECW Television Champion in Mississauga, Ontario (Rhino would be the last champion, before the company would be bought out by WWF in 2001)

2006 – Naomichi Marufuji defeated Jun Akiyama to win the GHC Heavyweight Title


Happy birthday to former AAA star El Intocable (38), one-time CZW Junior Heavyweight Champion Jun Kasai (40)

In Memoriam

The wrestling world has lost 2 personalities on this date:

Firstly, in 1944, one-time World Heavyweight Champion Gus Sonnenberg died aged 46. Like many wrestlers of his day, Sonnenberg began his sports career as a football player. After playing at Marquette High School, Dartmouth College and the University of Detroit, he turned professional with the Buffalo All-Americans in 1923. Over the next 4 years, he won the Anthracite League Championship with the Pottsville Maroons and the NFL Championship with the Providence Steam Roller. While still with Providence, Sonnenberg made his in-ring debut in January 1928, defeating Ivan Ludlow. Despite his little wrestling experience, crowds took to Sonnenberg & he quickly became a main event wrestler for Boston’s Paul Bowser. After leaving to compete for the Steam Roller once more, Sonnenberg returned to the ring for good in 1929 and soon defeated Ed Lewis to win the World Heavyweight Title. He would hold the belt for 2 years, by which time he was arguably the top-drawing wrestler in the country. After a series of health problems in the following years, he again won a world championship, albeit only recognized in Boston, by defeating The Shadow. He lost the title after only 2 weeks, but continued to wrestle until 1942, when he joined the Navy. It was while serving that he contracted and later succumbed to leukemia

Secondly, in 1988, 3-time NWA Light Heavyweight Champion Leroy McGuirk died at the age of 77. McGuirk endured a difficult childhood, losing his father aged just 12, before losing the sight in one eye in a swimming pool accident. Despite this, McGuirk still became a successful amateur wrestler, competing in 3 NCAA Tournaments, winning the 155-pound title in 1931. He began his professional career working for Sam Avey in Tulsa, where he would remain for most of his professional life. He won his first championship, the World Light Heavyweight Title, in 1934 and would win a total of four Light/Junior Heavyweight Titles between then and 1949. In 1950, his wrestling career was abruptly ended after he was completely blinded in a car accident; his driver, Bob Clay, locked the car’s brakes in an attempt to avoid a collision, causing McGuirk’s head to hit the front windshield. McGuirk’s glasses shattered into his eye, causing irreparable damage. After a period of recovery, McGuirk returned to the wrestling business, working as a partner to Sam Avey, before accepting the post of NWA Vice-President, which he held from 1950-56 and 59-60. During his time with the NWA, he was lead booker for the Junior Heavyweight Champion whilst also coordinating talent across several southeastern states. In 1958, Avey retired and McGuirk took over the Tri-State territory full-time, employing a series of bookers to aid him. It was one of these bookers who prompted McGuirk’s downfall from the wrestling business; Bill Watts fell out with his former employer/partner in 1979 and later founded Mid-South Sports, which he would bring into the Tulsa area, and with it’s superior star power, would eventually force McGuirk out of business. McGuirk lived out a relatively quiet retirement, passing away at his home in Claremore, Oklahoma

(Visited 5 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply