This Day In Wrestling History– August 23rd

Aug 23, 2014 - by staff


1999 –  The Monday Night War continued: WWF Monday Night Raw defeated WCW Monday Nitro: 5.7 to 2.9 in the ratings


In 2009, WWE Summerslam was held at Staples Center, in Los Angeles, California. With an attendance of 14,116:

Dark Match:
– Beth Phoenix won a 15-diva Battle Royal. Defeating: Kelly Kelly, Melina, Eve Torres, Gail Kim, Mickie James, Nikki Bella, Rosa Mendes, Brie Bella, Katie Lea Burchill, Natalya, Maria Kanellis, Jillian Hall, Alicia Fox, & Layla
– Rey Mysterio Jr. defeated Dolph Ziggler to retain the WWE Intercontinental Title
– MVP defeated Jack Swagger
– Jeri-Show (Chris Jericho & The Big Show) defeated Cryme Tyme (Shad Gaspard & JTG) to retain the WWE Unified Tag Team Titles
– Kane defeated The Great Khali (with Ranjin Singh)
– D-Generation X (Shawn Michaels & Triple H) defeated The Legacy (Ted Dibiase Jr. & Cody Rhodes)
– Christian defeated William Regal (with Vladimir Kozlov & Ezekiel Jackson) to retain the ECW Title
– Randy Orton defeated John Cena to retain the WWE Title
– CM Punk defeated Jeff Hardy in a TLC Match to win the World Heavyweight Title

Title Changes

1961 – Whipper Billy Watson defeated Gene Kiniski to win the Vancouver NWA British Empire Heavyweight Champion in Vancouver, British Columbia

1961 – Dick Dunn defeated Dr. Jerry Graham to win the NWA Gulf Coast Heavyweight Title in Mobile, Alabama

1963 – Bearcat Wright defeated Fred Blassie via countout to win the World Wrestling Association World Heavyweight Title in Los Angeles, California

1973 – Ken Lucas defeated Rocket Monroe to win the NWA Mississippi Heavyweight Title in Hattiesburg, Mississippi

1977 – The Medics (1 & 2) defeated Porkchop Cash & Mike George to win the TSW United States Tag Team Titles in Shreveport, Louisiana

1978 – Karl Krupp defeated The Lawman to win the vacant Texas Brass Knuckles Title in Abilene, Texas

1980 – Wahoo McDaniel defeated Tully Blanchard to win the Southwest Championship Wrestling Heavyweight Title in San Antonio, Texas

1984 – The Uptown Boys (Marty Jannetty & Tommy Rogers) defeated The Grapplers (Tony Anthony & Len Denton) to win the NWA Central States Tag Team Title in Kansas City, Kansas

1986 – Dump Matsumoto & Bull Nakano defeated The Crush Gals (Lioness Asuka & Chigusa Nagayo)to win the WWWA World Tag Team Title. At the same event, Yukari Oomori defeated Devil Masami to win the WWWA World Singles Title in Kawasaki, Japan

1993 – Masanobu Fuchi defeated Dan Kroffat to win the AJPW Junior Heavyweight Title

1999 – on Raw, Triple H defeated Mankind with Shane McMahon as special guest referee to win his 1st WWF Title. Also, Jeff Jarrett awarded the WWF European Title to Mark Henry as a reward for his assistance against D’Lo Brown

1999 – on Nitro, The West Texas Rednecks (Barry & Kendall Windham) defeated Harlem Heat (Booker T & Stevie Ray) to win the WCW World Tag Team Titles

2002 – Madison defeated Bam Bam Bambi to win the vacant NWA World Women’s Title at an ECCW event in Surrey, British Columbia


Happy birthday to one-time AJPW Unified Tag Team Champion TARU (50), & former Stampede Tag Team Champion Fumihiro Niikura (57)

Also, today would have been the birthday of 3-time IWA:MS Light Heavyweight Champion JC Bailey (31)

(Visited 5 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply