This Day In Wrestling History– August 17th

Aug 17, 2014 - by staff


1998 – The Monday Night War continued: WCW Monday Nitro defeated WWF Monday Night Raw: 4.9 to 4.2 in the ratings

2003 – Hiroyoshi Tenzan won the NJPW G1 Climax Tournament, defeating Jun Akiyama in the final

2008 – Hirooki Goto won the G1 Climax Tournament, defeating Togi Makabe in the final


In 1997, ECW Hardcore Heaven was held at the War Memorial Auditorium, in Fort Lauderdale, Florida. With an attendance of 2,000. It was the 3rd Hardcore Heaven event, but the 1st to air on PPV:

– Taz defeated Chris Candido (with Rick Rude) to retain the ECW Television Titles
– Bam Bam Bigelow defeated Spike Dudley
– Rob Van Dam (with Bill Alfonso) defeated Al Snow
– The Dudley Boyz (Buh Buh Ray & D-Von) (with Jenna Jameson, Joel Gertner, Sign Guy Dudley, & Big Dick Dudley) defeated The Gangstas (New Jack & Mustafa Saed) via forfeit to win the ECW Tag Team Titles
– The Dudley Boyz (Buh Buh Ray & D-Von) defeated PG-13 (JC Ice & Wolfie D) to retain the ECW Tag Team Titles
– Tommy Dreamer (with Beulah McGillicutty) defeated Jerry Lawler
– Shane Douglas (with Francine) defeated Sabu (with Bill Alfonso) & Terry Funk in a 3-Way Dance to win the ECW World Title

In 2008, WWE Summerslam was held at Conseco Fieldhouse, in Indianapolis, Indiana. With an attendance of 12,480:

Dark Match:
Big Show defeated Bam Neely
– MVP defeated Jeff Hardy
– Glamarella (Santino Marella & Beth Phoenix) defeated Kofi Kingston & Mickie James to win the WWE Intercontinental Title for Marella & the WWE Women’s Title for Phoenix
– Matt Hardy defeated Mark Henry (with Tony Atlas) via DQ (Henry retained the ECW Title)
– CM Punk defeated JBL to retain the World Heavyweight Title
– Triple H defeated The Great Khali (with Ranjin Singh) to retain the WWE Title
– Batista defeated John Cena
– The Undertaker defeated Edge in a Hell In A Cell Match

In 2010, WWE Smackdown was taped at Rabobank Arena, here in Bakersfield, California. I was at this event live in person. This saw the WWE television debut of Alberto Del Rio:

Dark Match:
Tyler Reks defeated Trent Barreta
NXT Season #2:
Percy Watson was eliminated
– Zack Ryder defeated Michael McGillicutty (with Kofi Kingston)
– Kaval (Low Ki) (with Michelle McCool & Layla) defeated Husky Harris (Bray Wyatt) (with Cody Rhodes)
– Kofi Kingston defeated Alex Riley
– Husky Harris was eliminated
– Kofi Kingston defeated Dolph Ziggler via DQ (Ziggler retained the IC Title)
– Serena & Luke Gallows defeated The Big Show & Kelly Kelly
– Christian defeated Drew McIntyre
– Alberto Del Rio defeated Rey Mysterio Jr.
Dark Main Event:
– Kane defeated Jack Swagger & Rey Mysterio Jr. to retain the World Title in a Triple Threat Steel Cage Match

In 2014, WWE Summerslam was held at the Staples Center, in Los Angeles, California. With an attendance of 17,537:

– Rob Van Dam defeated Cesaro
– Dolph Ziggler defeated The Miz to win the WWE Intercontinental Title
– Paige defeated AJ Lee to win the WWE Divas Title
– Rusev (with Lana) defeated Jack Swagger (with Zeb Colter) via referee stoppage in a Flag Match
– Seth Rollins defeated Dean Ambrose in a Lumberjack Match
– Bray Wyatt defeated Chris Jericho (Erick Rowan & Luke Harper were banned from ringside)
– Stephanie McMahon defeated Brie Bella
– Roman Reigns defeated Randy Orton
– Brock Lesnar (with Paul Heyman) defeated John Cena to win the WWE World Heavyweight Title

Title Changes

1927 – Bert Willard defeated Jack Reynolds to win the World Welterweight Title in Columbus, Ohio

1960 – Verne Gagne & Joe Scarpello defeated Killer Kowalski & Tiny Mills to win the AWA World Tag Team Title in Minneapolis, Minnesota

1968 – Dr. X (Dick Beyer) defeated Verne Gagne to win the AWA World Title

1978 – Steve Rickard defeated Toru Tanaka to win the New Zealand NWA British Commonwealth Heavyweight Title in Auckland, New Zealand

1985 – Eric Embry defeated Super Medico I to win the WWC Puerto Rico Heavyweight Title in Bayamon, Puerto Rico

1986 – Nikita Koloff defeated Magnum TA to win the vacant NWA United States Title in Charlotte, North Carolina

1987 – George Barnes defeated Bill Dundee to win the CWA International Heavyweight Title in Memphis, Tennessee

1987 – Nikita Koloff defeated Tully Blanchard to win the NWA Television Title in Fayetteville, North Carolina

1992 – Jerry Lawler & Jeff Jarrett defeated The Moondogs (Cujo & Spot) to win the USWA Tag Team Title in Memphis, Tennessee

1997 – Trailer Park Trash became the 1st OVW Heavyweight Champion

2002 – Martin Nolte won a 20-man battle royal at “True Colors”  to win the vacant Westside Xtreme Wrestling World Heavyweight Title in Essen, Germany

2002 – the WWE Hardcore Title is passed from Tommy Dreamer to Raven, to Shawn Stasiak, & back to Dreamer

2002 – Jimmy Rave defeated Star to win the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title in Columbia, Tennessee

2007 – El Dandy & Rey Misterio, Sr. defeated The Punisher & Super Parka to win the vacant WWA World Tag Team Title in Tijuana, Mexico

2013 – reDRagon (Bobby Fish & Kyle O’Reilly) defeated The American Wolves (Davey Richards & Eddie Edwards) to win the ROH World Tag Team Titles in NYC, New York


Happy birthday to one-time USWA Heavyweight Champion Buddy Landel (53), current Shimmer Champion Cheerleader Melissa (32), former TNA wrestler Magno (30), current Zero1 Lightweight Tag Team Champion Susumu Yokosuka (36), & one-time IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Champion Dick Togo (45)

(Visited 25 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply