This Day In Wrestling History– August 12th

Aug 12, 2014 - by staff


1996 – The Monday Night War continued: WCW Monday Nitro defeated WWF Monday Night Raw: 3.3  to 2.0 in the ratings

2001 – Yuji Nagata won the NJPW G1 Climax Tournament, defeating Keiji Mutoh in the final

2008 – WWE released 3 developmental talents from FCW: Charles “The Hammer” Evans, Brad Attitude, & Matt O’Neal

2008 – Colt Cabana made his WWE main roster debut as Scotty Goldman during a Smackdown taping in Norfolk, VA

2012 – Kazuchika Okada won the NJPW G1 Climax Tournament, defeating Karl Anderson in the final. This final set several records; Okada became the youngest ever winner of the tournament & the 1st since 2008 to win it on their 1st attempt, whilst Anderson was the 1st foreigner to reach the final since Rick Rude in 1992


In 2000, CZW Blood, Sweat, & Violence was held at Champs Soccer Arena, in Sewell, New Jersey:

– Nick Berk defeated The Drew
– Rockin’ Rebel defeated Gabriel Knight
– Nate Hatred fought Mercury to a no contest in a Dog Collar Match
– Ric Blade & Nick Mondo defeated The Backseat Boyz (Trent Acid & Johnny Kashmere) to win the CZW Tag Team Titles
– Nick Gage fought Mad Man Pondo to a no contest to retain the CZW Iron Man Title
– Lobo defeated Justice Pain & Zandig to win the CZW Heavyweight Title in a Barbed Wire Whips & Boards Lumberjack 3-ay Match

In 2007, JCW Bloodymania was held at Hog Rock, in Cave-In-Rock, Illinois. With an attendance of 5,800:

– Ultimo Dragon defeated Jimmy Jacobs (with Scott D’Amore)
– Pogo The Clown defeated Abdullah The Butcher & Jake Roberts
– 2 Tuff Tony defeated Bull Pain in a Louisville Slugger Match
– Justin Credible & 2 Cold Scorpio defeated The Great Muta & Nosawa
– Ron Killings defeated Tracy Smothers
– Necro Butcher & Mad Man Pondo defeated Bad Breed (Ian & Axl Rotten), The Headshrinkers (Samu & Alofa), The Original Dream Team (Brutus Beefcake & Greg Valentine), Pimp & Gimp (Human Tornado & Zach Gowen), Jorge & Tito Santana, Team Japan (Brute Issei & Akira Raijin), and The Basham Brothers (Doug Basham & Damaja) to win the vacant JCW Tag Team Titles in a 8-team Tag Team Elimination Match
– Corporal Robinson defeated Scott Hall to retain the JCW Heavyweight Title in a Hardcore Match
– Sabu & The Insane Clown Posse (Violent J & Shaggy 2 Dope) defeated Trent Acid & The Young Alter Boys (Silas Young & Dysfunction) (with Annie Social)

In 2007, TNA Hard Justice was held at the Impact Zone, in Orlando, Florida. With an attendance of 900:

– Jay Lethal & Sonjay Dutt defeated Triple X (Senshi & Christopher Daniels) (with Elix Skipper), & The Motor City Machine Guns (Alex Shelley & Chris Sabin)
– Kaz defeated Raven (with Martyr & Havok)
– James Storm (with Jackie Moore) defeated Rhino in a Bar Room Brawl
– The Latin American Xchange (Hernandez & Homicide) defeated The Voodoo Kim Mafia (BG James & Kip James) (with Roxy Laveaux)
– Robert Roode (with Ms. Brooks) defeated Eric Young
– Chris Harris defeated Black Reign (Dustin Rhodes) via DQ
– The Steiner Brothers (Rick & Scott) defeated Team 3D (Brother Ray & Brother Devon)
– Abyss, Andrew Martin, & Sting defeated Christian’s Coalition (Christian Cage, AJ Styles, & Tomko) in a Doomsday Chamber of Blood Match
– Kurt Angle defeated Samoa Joe in a Winner Take All Match to retain the TNA & IWGP World Titles & win the TNA X-Division & Tag Team Titles. Sting would later win a Four Way Match to become co-holder of the Tag Titles

Also in 2007, New Japan Pro Wrestling held an untitled PPV in Tokyo, Japan:

– Hiroshi Tanahashi defeated Togi Makabe
– Yuji Nagata defeated Shinsuke Nakamura via TKO
– Riki Choshu & Shiro Koshinaka defeated Hiroyoshi Tenzan & Toru Yano
– Masa Chono, Giant Bernard & Akebono defeated Manabu Nakanishi, Takashi Iizuka & Naofumi Yamamoto
– Hiroshi Tanahashi defeated Yuji Nagata to win the G1 Climax

In 2011, JCW Legends & Icons iPPV was held live at Hatchet Landings, in Cave-In-Rock, Illinois:

– Greg “The Hammer” Valentine defeated Tito Santana in a Steel Cage Match
Zach Gowen won a 15 man Eliminations For Generations Battle Royal (Defeating: Brutus Beefcake, U-Gene, Jimmy Snuka, Viscera, Carlito, Head Banger Mosh, Disco Inferno, Head Banger Thrasher, Doink The Clown, Tony Atlas, Ronnie Garvin, Rob Conway, Rikishi, & Jim Duggan)
– The Rock n’ Roll Express (Ricky Morton & Robert Gibson) defeated The Midnight Express (Dennis Condrey & Bobby Eaton)
– Rhino defeated 2 Cold Scorpio, Al Snow, Sabu, Balls Mahoney, Raven, & Shane Douglas in a 7-way Philly Madness Match
– Bob Backlund defeated Ken Patera
– Austin Idol defeated Koko B. Ware, Brickhouse Brown, & Doug Gilbert, & Dutch Mantel in a 5-way Memphis Madness Match
– Tracy Smothers (with Isabella Smothers) defeated Tommy Rich
– Kevin Nash & X-Pac (with Scott Hall) defeated The New Age Outlaws (Jesse James & Bill Gunn) with Vampiro as the special guest referee
– Bob Orton Jr. & Roddy Piper defeated Terry Funk & Mick Foley

In 2012, TNA Hardcore Justice was held at the Impact Zone, in Orlando, Florida. With an attendance of 1,100:

– Chavo Guerrero Jr. & Hernandez defeated Kid Kash & Gunner
– Rob Van Dam defeated Mr. Anderson, D’Angelo Dinero, & Magnus in a 4-Way Falls Count Anywhere Match
– Devon defeated Kazarian to retain the TNA Television Title
– Madison Rayne defeated Miss Tessmacher to win the TNA Knockouts Title
– Bully Ray defeated James Storm, Jeff Hardy, & Robbie E. in a 4-Way Tables Match
– Zema Ion defeated Kenny King to retain the TNA X-Division Title
– AJ Styles defeated Christopher Daniels, Samoa Joe, & Kurt Angle in a 4-Way Ladder Bound For Glory Series Match
– Austin Aries defeated Bobby Roode to retain the TNA World Title

Title Changes

1983 – The Fabulous Freebirds (Terry Gordy, Michael Hayes, & Buddy Roberts) defeated The Von Erichs (David, Kerry, & Kevin) to win the WCCW World 6-Man Tag Team Titles

1983 – Tiger Mask retired from wrestling, vacating the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title

1988 – The Samoan SWAT Team (Samu & Fatu) defeated The Von Erichs (Kerry & Kevin) to win the WCCW World Tag Team Titles

1991 – The Patriots (Todd Champion & Firebreaker Chip) defeated The Fabulous Freebirds (Michael Hayes & Jimmy Garvin) to win the WCW United States Tag Team Titles

1991 – Jerry Lawler defeated Awesome Kong to win the USWA Unified World Heavyweight Title. Also, Danny Davis defeated Bill Dundee to win the USWA Junior Heavyweight Title

1992 – Masahiro Chono defeated Rick Rude in the final of the NJPW G1 Climax tournament to win the vacant NWA World Title

1995 – Brad Armstrong defeated Buddy Landel to win the vacant SMW Heavyweight Title

1997 – Chris Jericho defeated Alex Wright to win the WCW Cruiserweight Title in Colorado Springs, Colorado

2005 – James Gibson (Jamie Noble) defeated CM Punk, Christopher Daniels, & Samoa Joe in a Four Way Match to win the ROH World Title in Dayton, Ohio

2006 – Bryan Danielson defeated Nigel McGuinness to unify the ROH World Title & the ROH Pure Title in Liverpool, England. The Pure Title is discontinued

2011 – Hector Garza defeated Ultimo Guerrero to win the CMLL World Heavyweight Title

2012 – Hiroshi Yamato defeated KAI to win the AJPW Junior Heavyweight Title


Happy birthday to former WWE personalities Brian ‘Palmer Canon’ Mailhot (39), & Jonathan Coachman (42), former NWA Junior Heavyweight Champion Terry Taylor (59), & 2-time AAA Heavyweight Champion Dr. Wagner Jr. (49)

(Visited 60 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply