This Day In Wrestling History– August 3rd

Aug 3, 2014 - by staff


1997 – Kensuke Sasaki won the NJPW G1 Climax Tournament, defeating Hiroyoshi Tenzan in the final

1998 – The Monday Night War continued: WWF Monday Night Raw defeated WCW Monday Nitro: 4.9 to 4.2 in the ratings

2008 – KAI won the AJPW Junior League, defeating Silver King in the final

2010 – China Broadband Inc. announced that they had appointed Shane McMahon as their CEO


In 1996, ECW The Doctor Is In was held at The ECW Arena, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. With an attendance of 1,500:

– Mikey Whipwreck defeated Devon Storm (with Lady Alexandra & Damian Kane) to retain the European Juniorweight Championship
– Johnny Smith defeated Louie Spicolli
– D-Von Dudley fought Axl Rotten to a no contest
– Stevie Richards (with Raven, Don E. Allen, The Blue Meanie, Super Nova, & Lori & Tyler Fullington) defeated The Sandman (with Missy Hyatt) (Raven’s ECW World Title was on the line, & a results Raven retains the title)
– 2 Cold Scorpio defeated Chris Jericho
– Shane Douglas defeated Pitbull #2 to retain the ECW World Television Title
– Brian Lee & Taz defeated Steve Williams & Tommy Dreamer
– The Gangstas (New Jack & Mustafa Saed) defeated The Eliminators (Kronus & Saturn), Ron & Don Harris, & The Headshrinkers (Samu & Fatu) to win the ECW Tag Team Titles
– Sabu defeated Rob Van Dam in a Stretcher Match

In 1997, WWF SummerSlam was held at the Continental Airlines Arena, in East Rutherford, New Jersey. With an attendance of 20,213. This was the final appearance of Todd Pettengill, &  the 1st of his replacement, Michael Cole. It also featured the match in which Steve Austin’s neck was broken, an injury which eventually led to his in-ring retirement:

– Mankind defeated Hunter Hearst Helmsley (with Chyna) in a Cage Match
– Goldust (with Marlena) defeated Brian Pillman, forcing Pillman to wear Marlena’s dress until he next won a match
– The Legion of Doom (Hawk & Animal) defeated The Godwinns (Henry & Phineas)
– The British Bulldog defeated Ken Shamrock via DQ to retain the WWF European Title
– Los Boricuas (Savio Vega, Jose Estrada Jr., Miguel Perez Jr., & Jesus Castillo) defeated The Disciples of Acopalypse (Crush, Skull, 8-Ball, & Chainz) in a 8-man tag team match
– Steve Austin defeated Owen Hart to win the WWF Intercontinental Title
– Bret Hart defeated The Undertaker with Shawn Michaels as special guest referee to win the WWF Title

In 2002, New Japan Pro Wrestling held an untitled PPV in Osaka, Japan:

– Hiroyoshi Tenzan defeated Yutaka Yoshie
– Osamu Nishimura fought Manabu Nakanishi to a time-limit draw
– Yuji Nagata defeated Masa Chono
– Kensuke Sasaki defeated Yoshihiro Takayama

In 2013, ROH All Star Extravaganza V was held at the Mattamy Athletic Center, Toronto, Ontario, Canada:

– Kushida defeated Adam Page
– Tommaso Ciampa defeated Silas Young in a ROH World Championship Tournament 1st Round Match
– Michael Bennett (with Maria Kanellis) defeated BJ Whitmer in a ROH World Championship Tournament 1st Round Match
– Roderick Strong defeated Matt Taven (with Scarlett Bordeaux, Truth Martini, & Seleziya Sparx) in a ROH World Championship Tournament 1st Round Match
– Michael Elgin defeated Paul London in a ROH World Championship Tournament 1st Round Match
– Adrenaline Rush (ACH & Tadarius Thomas) defeated The Young Bucks (Matt & Nick Jackson), & C&C Wrestling Factory (Caprice Coleman & Cedric Alexander) in a 3-way Tag Team Match
– Kevin Steen defeated Brian Kendrick in a ROH World Championship Tournament 1st Round Match
– Adam Cole defeated Jay Lethal in a ROH World Championship Tournament 2nd Round Match
– The American Wolves (Davey Richards & Eddie Edwards) defeated Forever Hooligans (Rocky Romero & Alex Koslov) to win the ROH World Tag Team Titles

Title Changes

1987 – Shane Douglas (subbing for Sting, who had been attacked earlier) defeated Eddie Gilbert to win the UWF Television Title

2002 – Bradshaw defeated Tommy Dreamer to win the WWE Hardcore Title, but would lose it back to Dreamer later in the night

2012 – Atlantis & Diamante Azul defeated Los Guerreros de la Atlantida (Dragon Rojo Jr & Ultimo Guerrero) to win the CMLL Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to Money In The Bank holder Damien Sandow (33) & Brawl For All competitor Eric ‘Butterbean’ Esch (48)

Also, today would have been the birthday of former WWWF Tag Team Champions Haystacks Calhoun (79) & Karl Gotch (90)

(Visited 27 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply