This Day In Wrestling History– August 2nd

Aug 2, 2014 - by staff


1977 – Antonio Inoki defeated kickboxer Eddie Everett in the 5th round of a Wrestler vs. Kickboxer match via knockout in Tokyo, Japan

1998 – WWF Sunday Night Heat aired for the 1st time on the USA Network

1998 – Shinya Hashimoto won the NJPW G1 Climax Tournament, defeating Kazuo Yamazaki in the final

1999 – The Monday Night War continued: WWF Monday Night Raw defeated WCW Monday Nitro: 5.9 to 3.1 in the ratings

2007 – Jimmy Rave, who was under contract to Ring of Honor, parted ways with the company & will no longer be working for ROH or its sister promotion Florida’s Full Impact Pro

2008 – Ric Flair was released, at his request, from WWE after retiring, choosing to instead work outside of the company doing appearances


In 1998, ECW Heat Wave was held at the Hara Arena, in Dayton, Ohio. With an attendance of 4,400. This was the 5th Heat Wave event, but the 1st to air on PPV:

Dark Match:
– The Hardcore Chair Swingin’ Freaks (Balls Mahoney & Axl Rotten) defeated The F.B.I. (Little Guido & Tracy Smothers)
– Justin Credible (with Nicole Bass, Jason, & Chastity) defeated Jerry Lynn
– Chris Candido (with Tammy Lynn Sytch) defeated Lance Storm
– Masato Tanaka defeated Mike Awesome
– Sabu & Rob Van Dam (with Bill Alfonso) defeated Hayabusa & Jinsei Shinzaki to retain the ECW Tag Team Titles
– Taz defeated Bam Bam Bigelow in a Falls Count Anywhere Match to retain the ECW FTW Title
– Tommy Dreamer, Spike Dudley, & The Sandman defeated The Dudley Boyz (Buh Buh Ray, D-Von, & Big Dick) (with Jeff Jones, Sign Guy Dudley, & Joel Gertner) in a Street Fight

In 2008, ROH Death Before Dishonor VI was held at the Hammerstein Ballroom, in New York City, New York:

–The Briscoe Brothers (Mark & Jay) defeated The Vulture Squad (Jigsaw & Ruckus)
– Chris Hero (with Sweet N Sour Inc.) defeated Delirious
– Eddie Edwards (with Sweet N Sour Inc.) defeated Roderick Strong
– Brent Albright defeated Adam Pearce (with Sweet N Sour Inc.) to win the NWA World Heavyweight Title
– Austin Aries defeated Necro Butcher & Jimmy Jacobs
– Naomichi Marufuji defeated Go Shiozaki
– El Generico & Kevin Steen defeated The Motor City Machine Guns (Chris Sabin & Alex Shelley)
– Nigel McGuinness defeated Bryan Danielson, Tyler Black, & Claudio Castagnoli in a Fatal 4-way to win the Ring of Honor World Title

In 2008, WWE Saturday Night Main Event was broadcast from the Verizon Center, in Washington DC. It was taped on July 28th. This would be the last Saturday Night Main Event to date. It also featured Jenny McCarthy live in the arena, & numerous other celebrities Ben Stiller, Jeff Foxworthy, & Carmen Electra speaking about Autism:

Dark Match:
Paul London defeated Charlie Haas
– JBL, Kane, & WWE World Tag Team Champions Legacy (Cody Rhodes & Ted Dibiase Jr.) defeated Batista, John Cena, & Cryme Tyme (JTG & Shad Gaspard) in a 8–man tag match
– The Great Khali (with Ranjin Singh) defeated Jimmy Wang Yang
– Edge defeated Jeff Hardy

Title Changes

1962 – Almost a year before their WWF World Title match, Bruno Sammartino defeated Buddy Rogers to win the NWA World Heavyweight Title in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.  However, Sammartino refused to accept the championship since Rogers was injured, and the title remained with Rogers

1985 – Harley Race defeated Jerry Blackwell to win the NWA Missouri Heavyweight Title in St. Louis, Missouri. This marked the record setting 7th & final Missouri Title run for Race. The belt would be vacated when Jim Crockett Promotions purchased the Missouri territory

1986 – Steve Regal defeated Denny Brown to win the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title

1991 – Takako Inoue & Mariko Yoshida defeated Esther & Cynthia Moreno to win the All Japan Women’s Tag Team Title in Tokyo, Japan

1992 – Ron Simmons defeated Big Van Vader to win the WCW World Title, becoming the 1st African-American to hold a World Championship

1993 – Luna Vachon defeated Miss Texas (Jackie Moore) to win the USWA Women’s Title in Memphis, Tennessee

1996 – Guerrero de la Muerte defeated Mascara Magica to win the CMLL World Welterweight Title in Mexico City, Mexico

2003 – Danny Daniels defeated Chris Hero to win the IWA–Mid South World Title

2003 – Chris Draven defeated Rocky Reynolds to win the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title

2005 – on Velocity, Nunzio defeated Paul London to win the WWE Cruiserweight Title

2008 – Brent Albright defeated Adam Pearce to win the NWA World Title


Happy birthday to former WWF/E Tag Team Champions Harry Smith (29) & Jim Neidhart (59), former GHC & IWGP Tag Team Champion Takashi Iizuka (48), & Mexican stars El Hijo Del Santo (51) & Skayde (50)

Also, today would have been the birthday of former Mexican National Champion Angel Blanco (76)

(Visited 32 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply