This Day In Wrestling History– July 23rd

Jul 23, 2014 - by staff


2010 – Randy Savage makes his final wrestling-related public appearance via video, when he announces his action figure will be included in the WWE action figure line produced by Mattel

2012 – WWE broadcast the 1000th episode of WWE Raw. Several legends made appearances on the show, including The Rock, Bret Hart, Roddy Piper, Jim Duggan, & DX (Triple H, HBK, X-Pac, & The New Age Outlaws). It also saw a few more obscure, yet still noteworthy returns, including that of Sean Mooney


In 1989, NWA’s The Great American Bash was held in Baltimore, Maryland. With an attendance of 12,500. The event was promoted by WCW under the NWA banner:

– Dan Spivey & Sid Vicious defeated Billy Irwin, Terry Gordy, Eddie Gilbert, Steve Williams, Mike Rotunda, Ranger Ross, Brian Pillman, Ron Simmons, Scott Hall, Kevin Sullivan, Scott Steiner, & Rick Steiner in a 2-ring King of The Hill Battle Royal (Spivey & Vicious were suppose to face off in a regular singles match to determine the winner, but their manager Teddy Long announced they would just split the $50,000 prize)
– Brian Pillman defeated Bill Irwin
– The Skyscrapers (Sid Vicious & Dan Spivey) defeated The Dynamic Dudes (Shane Douglas & Johnny Ace)
– Jim Cornette defeated Paul E. Dangerously in a Tuxedo Match
– The Steiner Brothers (Scott & Rick) (with Missy Hyatt) defeated The Varsity Club (Mike Rotunda & Kevin Sullivan)
– Sting (with Eddie Gilbert) defeated The Great Muta (with Gary Hart) to retain the NWA Television Title, but due to controversy in the match, the title is later vacated
– Lex Luger defeated Ricky Steamboat via DQ to retain the NWA United States Title
– The Road Warriors (Hawk & Animal), The Midnight Express (Bobby Eaton & Stan Lane) & Steve Williams (with Paul Ellering & Jim Cornette) defeated The Fabulous Freebirds (Jimmy Garvin, Michael Hayes & Terry Gordy) & The Samoan Swat Team (Samu & Fatu) (with Paul E. Dangerously) in a War Games Match
– Ric Flair defeated Terry Funk (with Gary Hart) to retain the NWA World Title

In 1995, WWF In Your House 2: The Lumberjacks was held at the Nashville Memorial Auditorium, in Nashville, Tennessee. With an attendance of 6,482. Immediately following this PPV, both Jeff Jarrett & The Roadie quit the WWF:

Dark Match:
Skip (with Sunny) defeated Aldo Montoya
– The Roadie defeated The 1-2-3 Kid
– Men On A Mission (Mo & King Mabel) defeated Savio Vega & Razor Ramon
– Bam Bam Bigelow defeated Henry Godwinn
– Shawn Michaels defeated Jeff Jarrett (with The Roadie) to win the WWF Intercontinental Title
– Owen Hart & Yokozuna (with Mr. Fuji & Jim Cornette) defeated The Allied Powers (Lex Luger & The British Bulldog) to retain the WWF Tag Team Titles
– Diesel defeated Sycho Sid (with Ted Dibiase) in a Lumberjack Match to retain the WWF Title
Dark Main Events:
– Bret Hart defeated Jean-Pierre Lafitte
– The Undertaker (with Paul Bearer) defeated Kama (with Ted Dibiase) in a Casket Match

In 2000, the 3rd & final WWF Fully Loaded was held at the Reunion Arena, in Dallas, Texas. With an attendance of 16,504. An event was scheduled for 2001, but was eventually replaced by the Invasion PPV:

Sunday Night Heat:
– Taka Michinoku defeated Essa Rios
– Steve Blackman defeated Funaki to retain the WWF Hardcore Title
– Dean Malenko defeated Crash Holly to retain the WWF Light Heavyweight Title
– The Dudley Boyz (Bubba Ray & D-Von Dudley) defeated Lo Down (D’Lo & Chaz)
– The Hardy Boyz (Matt & Jeff), & Lita defeated T&A (Test & Albert), & Trish Stratus in a 6-person Mixed Tag Team Match
– Taz defeated Al Snow
– Perry Saturn (with Terri) defeated Eddie Guerrero (with Chyna) to win the WWF European Title
– The APA (Bradshaw & Faarooq) defeated Edge & Christian via DQ (E&C retain the WWF Tag Team Titles)
– Val Venis (with Trish Stratus) defeated Rikishi in a Cage Match to retain the WWF Intercontinental Title
– The Undertaker defeated Kurt Angle
– Triple H (with Stephanie McMahon–Helmsley) defeated Chris Jericho in a Last Man Standing Match
– The Rock defeated Chris Benoit (with Shane McMahon) to retain the WWF Title. Benoit had won the title on a DQ earlier in the match, but it was restarted by Commissioner Foley

In 2006, WWE’s The Great American Bash was held at the Conseco Field House, in Indianapolis, Indiana. With an attendance of 9,750. This was a Smackdown-exclusive event:

Dark Match:
– Funaki defeated Simon Dean
– Paul London & Brian Kendrick defeated The Pitbulls (Kid Kash & Jamie Noble) to retain the WWE Tag Team Titles
– Finlay defeated William Regal to retain the WWE United States Title
– Gregory Helms defeated Matt Hardy
– The Undertaker defeated The Big Show in a Punjabi Prison Match
– Ashley Massaro defeated Kristal Marshall, Michelle McCool, & Jillian Hall in a Fatal 4-way Bra & Panties Match
– Mr. Kennedy defeated Batista via DQ
– King Booker (with Queen Sharmell) defeated Rey Mysterio Jr. to win the World Heavyweight Title

In 2012, WWE Raw 1000  was held live at the Scottrade Center, in Saint Louis, Missouri. With an attendance of 18,318:

– Sin Cara, Sheamus, & Rey Mysterio Jr. defeated Dolph Ziggler (with Vickie Guerrero), Chris Jericho, & Alberto Del Rio (with Ricardo Rodriguez)
– Brodus Clay (with Cameron & Naomi, & Dude Love) defeated Jack Swagger
– The Miz defeated Christian to win the WWE Intercontinental Title
– Lita (with The APA (JBL & Ron Simmons), Bob Backlund, Diamond Dallas Page, Doink The Clown, Rikishi, Road Warrior Animal, Sycho Sid, Roddy Piper, Sgt. Slaughter, & Vader) defeated Heath Slater
– John Cena defeated CM Punk via DQ (Punk retains the WWE Title). This was Cena’s Money In The Bank cash in, & he failed to win the title

Title Changes

1979 – Kerry von Erich & Bruiser Brody defeated Mark Lewin & Tim Brooks to win the vacant Texas Tag Team Titles

1984 – Wendi Richter defeated The Fabulous Moolah to win the WWF Women’s Title. This was Moolah’s 1st universally-recognized loss after a reign of 28 years

1999 – NO FEAR (Takao Omori & Yoshihiro Takayama) defeated Johnny Ace & Bart Gunn to win the AJPW Unified World Tag Team Titles

2001 – on Raw, Lance Storm defeated Albert to win the WWF Intercontinental Title

2005 – BJ Whitmer & Jimmy Jacobs defeated The Carnage Crew (HC Loc & Tony Devito) to win the ROH Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to former TNA X-Division Champion Sonny Siaki (40), & the 2012 AAA Rey de Reyes Perry Aguayo Jr. (35)

(Visited 29 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply