This Day In Wrestling History – July 19th

Jul 19, 2014 - by staff


1999 – The Monday Night War continued: WWF Monday Night Raw defeated WCW Monday Nitro: 6.3 to 3.5 in the ratings


In 1997, ECW Heat Wave iPPV was held at the ECW Arena, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. With an attendance of 1,600:

Dark Match:
–Francine defeated Beulah McGillicutty
– Mikey Whipwreck & Spike Dudley defeated PG-13 (J.C. Ice & Wolfie D.) & Jason in a Handicap Match
– Axl Rotten defeated Tracy Smothers
– John Kronus defeated Pablo Marquez
– Bam Bam Bigelow & Chris Candido defeated Chris Chetti & Balls Mahoney
– Taz defeated Lance Storm to to retain the ECW World Television Title
– Terry Funk fought Shane Douglas to a no contest to retain the ECW World Heavyweight Title
– The Gangstas (New Jack & Mustafa Saed) defeated The Dudley Boyz (Buh Buh Ray & D-Von) to win the ECW Tag Team Titles in a Steel Cage Weapons Match
– Rob Van Dam, Jerry Lawler, & Sabu defeated The Sandman, Tommy Dreamer, & Rick Rude via referee stoppage in a Steel Cage Match

In 2003, All Japan Pro Wrestling held an untitled PPV in Tokyo, Japan:

– Big John Tenta, George Hines, & Robbie Brookside defeated Hiroshi Hase, Shigeo Okumura, & Masayuki Kono
– Kohei Sato & Hiro Yokoi defeated Tomoaki Honma & Kazushi Miyamoto to win the vacant AJPW All Asia Tag Team Titles
– The Great Muta defeated Gigantes
– Toshiaki Kawada & Satoshi Kojima defeated Naoya Ogawa & Kaysuhisa Fujii

In 2009, TNA Victory Road was held at the Impact Zone, in Orlando, Florida. With an attendance of 1,100:

– Angelina Love (with Madison Rayne & Velvet Sky) defeated Tara to win the TNA Knockout’s Title
– Matt Morgan defeated Christopher Daniels
– Abyss defeated Dr. Stevie
– Team 3D (Brother Ray & Brother Devon) defeated The British Invasion (Brutus Magnus & Doug Williams) (with Rob Terry) to retain the IWGP Tag Team Titles
– Jenna Morasca (with Awesome Kong) defeated Sharmell (with Sojourner Bolt)
– Kevin Nash defeated AJ Styles in a Title vs Career Match to win the TNA Legends Title
– The Main Event Mafia (Booker T & Scott Steiner) defeated Beer Money Inc. (Robert Roode & James Storm) to win the TNA Tag Team Titles
– Samoa Joe defeated Sting
– Kurt Angle defeated Mick Foley to retain the TNA World Title

In 2010, New Japan Pro Wrestling held an untitled PPV in Tsukisamu, Japan:

– Apollo 55 (Prince Devitt & Ryusuke Taguchi) defeated Koji Kanemoto & El Samurai to retain the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Titles
– Bad Intentions (Giant Bernard & Karl Anderson) defeated Blue Justice Army (Yuji Nagata & Wataru Inoue) & NO LIMIT (Yujiro Takahashi & Tetsuya Naito) in a Dogfight Match
– Hiroshi Tanahashi defeated Takashi Iizuka
– Togi Makabe defeated Shinsuke Nakamura to retain the IWGP Heavyweight Title

Title Changes

1960 – Verne Gagne & Leo Nomellini defeated Murder Inc. (Tiny Mills & Stan Kowalski) to win the AWA World Tag team Title in Minneapolis, Minnesota

1961 – Shoulders Newman & Ted Travis defeated Neff Maivia & Billy White Wolf for the NWA Hawaii Tag Team Title in Honolulu, Hawaii

1968 – Fritz von Erich & Grizzly Smith defeated The Spoiler & Gary Hart to win the WCCW American Tag Team Titles

1971 – Thunderbolt Patterson & Toru Tanaka defeated Johnny Valentine & Wahoo McDaniel to win the WCCW American Tag Team Titles

1980 – Pierre Martel defeated Mr. Fuji to win the WWC North American Heavyweight Title in Caguas, Puerto Rico

1982 – Bill Irwin defeated Brian Adias to win the WCCW Television Title

1990 – The Great Kabuki & Jumbo Tsuruta defeated The Miracle Violence Connection (Terry Gordy & Steve Williams) to win the AJPW Unified World Tag Team Titles

1996 – Aquarius defeated Dr. Wagner Jr. to win the CMLL World Light Heavyweight Title. This change is not currently recognized by CMLL

1997 – Yoshiko Tamura defeated Toshie Uematsu to win the WCW Women’s Cruiserweight Title

1998 – Yoshinari Ogawa defeated Satoru Asako in the final of a tournament to win the vacant AJPW Junior Heavyweight Title

2002 – Koji Kanemoto defeated Minoru Tanaka to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title


Happy birthday to tag team legend Robert Gibson (56), one-time GHC Junior Heavyweight Champion Michael Modest (43), former ECW & ROH Tag Team Champion Tony Mamaluke (37), former CMLL Lightweight, Tag & Trios Champion Rey Bucanero (40), 5-time AJPW Unified Tag Team Champion Yoshiaki Yatsu (58), former WWE wrestler Jinder Mahal (28), & TNA personality Jeremy Borash (40)

(Visited 13 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply