This Day In Wrestling History – July 11th

Jul 11, 2014 - by staff


2007 – Jim Ross opened the doors on Jr’s BBQ, his 1st restaurant in Oklahoma

2007 – WWE released referee Chris Kay

2009 – Former WWF star Brock Lesnar defeated Frank Mir in the 2nd round of their UFC 100 main event in Las Vegas, becoming the undisputed UFC champion. Lesnar took Mir down and used ground and pound to win via TKO. Lesnar flipped off the crowd & cut a heel-like promo after the win

2011 – The Young Bucks requested & received their release from TNA, where they worked as Generation Me

2011 – The NWA issued a press release, announcing that The Sheik had been stripped of the NWA title. The situation had been brewing for several weeks as there had been some within the NWA who believed Sheik wasn’t going to show up for a planned title defense against Adam Pearce


In 1999, WCW Bash At The Beach was held at the National Car Rental Center, in Fort Lauderdale, Florida. With an attendance of 13,624:

Dark Match:
– CJ Afi (Tony Mamaluke) & Jeremy Lopez defeated Jet Jaguar & Jaime Howard (Noble)
– Ernest Miller (with Sonny Onoo) defeated Disco Inferno
– Rick Steiner defeated Van Hammer to retain the WCW Television Title
– David Flair (with Samantha (Torrie Wilson), Ric Flair, Arn Anderson, & Double D.) defeated Dean Malenko to retain the WCW United States Title
– The No Limit Soldiers (Rey Mysterio Jr., Konnan, Swoll, & Brad Armstrong) defeated The West Texas Rednecks (Bobby Duncum Jr., Curt Hennig, Kendall & Barry Windham) in an Elimination Match
– Fit Finlay won a Junkyard Invitational Match to win the WCW Hardcore Trophy (Defeated: Jerry Flynn, Ciclope, Johnny Grunge, Hak, Horace Hogan, La Parka, Hugh Morrus, Lord Steven Regal, Rocco Rock, Silver King, Squire Dave Taylor, Mikey Whipwreck
– The Jersey Triad (Bam Bam Bigelow, Diamond Dallas Page, & Chris Kanyon) defeated Perry Saturn & Chris Benoit to retain the WCW World Tag Team Titles
– Buff Bagwell (with Judy Bagwell) defeated Roddy Piper (with Ric Flair) in a Boxing Match with Mills Lane as special guest referee
– Randy Savage & Sid Vicious (with Madusa & Miss Elizabeth) defeated Kevin Nash & Sting (with Gorgeous George). Savage pinned Nash to win the WCW World Title

In 2004, WWE Vengeance was a Raw-exclusive event held at the Hartford Civic Center, in Hartford, Connecticut. With an attendance of 7,000:

Sunday Night Heat:
– Tyson Tomko (with Trish Stratus) defeated Val Venis (with Nidia)
– Rhyno & Tajiri defeated Garrison Cade & Jonathan Coachman
– Batista defeated Chris Jericho
– La Resistance (Robert Conway & Sylvain Grenier) defeated Ric Flair & Eugene via DQ to retain the World Tag Team Titles
– Matt Hardy (with Lita) defeated Kane in a No-DQ Match
– Edge defeated Randy Orton to win the WWE Intercontinental Title
– Victoria defeated Molly Holly
– Chris Benoit defeated Triple H to retain the World Heavyweight Title

In 2010, TNA Victory Road was held at the Impact Zone, in Orlando, Florida. With an attendance of 1,100:

– Douglas Williams defeated Brian Kendrick in an Ultimate X & Submission Match to retain the TNA X-Division Title (the wrestlers could either retrieve the title belt or make their opponent submit. Williams forced Kendrick to submit)
– Brother Ray defeated Brother Devon & Jesse Neal in a 3-way Match
– Angelina Love defeated Madison Rayne in a Title vs Career Match to win the TNA Knockouts Title
– AJ Styles & Kazarian defeated Samoa Joe & Rob Terry
– Hernandez defeated Matt Morgan in a Cage Match
– Jay Lethal defeated Ric Flair
– The Motor City Machine Guns (Alex Shelley & Chris Sabin) defeated Beer Money Inc. (James Storm & Robert Roode) to win the vacant TNA World Tag Team Titles
– Kurt Angle defeated “Pope” D’Angelo Dinero
– Rob Van Dam defeated Jeff Hardy, Mr. Anderson, & Abyss in a 4-Way Match to retain the TNA World Title

Title Changes

1958 – Angelo Savoldi defeated Dory Funk Sr. to win the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

1961 – Gene Kiniski defeated Verne Gagne to win the AWA World Title

1964 – Hiro Matsuda defeated Danny Hodge to win the NWA Junior Heavyweight Title

1981 – Ed Wiskowski & Mike George defeated Eddie Gilbert & Ricky Morton to win the TSW Tag Team Titles

1983 – Chris Adams defeated The Mongol to win the WCCW Television Title

1987 – Lex Luger defeated Nikita Koloff to win the NWA United States Title in Greensboro, North Carolina

1987 – Steve Williams defeated Bubba Rogers to win the UWF Heavyweight Title in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. Williams would be the final champion before UWF was absorbed into JCP

1989 – Stan Hansen & Genichiro Tenryu defeated Jumbo Tsuruta & Yoshiaki Yatsu to win the AJPW Unified World Tag Team Titles

1999 – Momoe Nakanishi defeated Chaparita Asari to win the WWWA Super Lightweight Title in Tokyo, Japan

2011 – Sting defeated Mr. Anderson to win the TNA World Title


Happy birthday to one-time AWA World Champion ‘The Destroyer’ Dick Beyer (84), one-time WCW Tag Team Champion Butch Reed (60), & former WWE Tag Team Champion Tyson Kidd (34)

Also, today would have been the birthday of 3-time AWA World Champion Reggie Lisowski (88), & southern-territories regular Jim White (72)

(Visited 32 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply