This Day In Wrestling History – June 10th

Jun 10, 2014 - by staff


1996 – The Monday Night Wars in it’s early stage: WWF Monday Night Raw defeated WCW Monday Nitro: 2.7 to 2.6 in the ratings

2008 Taryn Terrell debuted on WWE TV as Tiffany, an assistant to Teddy Long

2011 Kota Ibushi won the NJPW Best of the Super Juniors tournament, defeating Ryusuke Taguchi in the final

2012 Ryusuke Taguchi won the NJPW Best of the Super Juniors tournament, defeating Low Ki in the final


In 1995, AAA TripleMania III-A was held in Orizaba, Mexico:

– Los Villanos (I, II & III) defeated Los Payasos (Coco Rojo, Coco Verde & Coco Amarillo) in a Six-Man Lucha Libre Rules Tag Team Match
– Super Calo & Winners fought Marabunta & Angel Mortal to a draw in a Relevos Suicidas Tag Team Match
– Konnan, Perro Aguayo, La Parka, & Octagon defeated Cien Caras, Mascara Ano 2000, Pentagon, & Jerry Estrada in an Eight-Man Atomicos Tag Team Match
– In a 13-man Cage Mask vs Mask Elimination Match, Payasito Rojo is forced to unmask after being the last man left in the cage

In 2012, TNA Slammiversary X was held in at the College Park Center, Arlington, Texas. With an attendance of 5,500. The event broke the record for the largest TNA attendance in the USA. During the show, Sting was announced as the 1st TNA Hall of Fame inductee. & WWE-contracted wrestler Christian (under his former TNA ring name Christian Cage) made an appearance:

– Austin Aries defeated Samoa Joe to retain the TNA X-Division Title
– Hernandez defeated Kid Kash
– Garrett Bischoff & Devon defeated Robbie T. & Robbie E.
– Mr. Anderson defeated Jeff Hardy, & Rob Van Dam in a 3-Way Match to become the #1 contender for the TNA World Heavyweight Title
– James Storm defeated Crimson
– Brooke Tessmacher defeated Gail Kim to win the TNA Knockout’s Title
– Joseph Park defeated Bull Ray in a No Disqualifications Match
– Kurt Angle & AJ Styles defeated Bad Influence (Christopher Daniels & Kazarian) to win the TNA Tag Team Titles
– Bobby Roode defeated Sting to retain the TNA World Title

Title Changes

1960 – Ray Gunkel defeated Fred Blassie to win the Florida version of the NWA Southern Heavyweight Title

1974 – Jerry Lawler defeated Ricky Gibson to win the NWA Southern Junior Heavyweight Title in Memphis, Tennessee

1978 – Ricky Steamboat defeated Paul Jones to win the NWA Television Title

1978 – Dutch Savage & Jimmy Snuka defeated Bull Ramos & The Iron Sheik to win the NWA Pacific Northwest Tag Team Title

1979 – Bruiser Brody defeated Mark Lewin to win the Texas Brass Knuckles Title

1983 – Harley Race defeated Ric Flair to win the NWA World Title

1984 – Superstar Billy Graham defeated Billy Jack to win the Florida State Heavyweight title in Orlando, Florida

1985 – Tim Brooks defeated Scott Casey to win the WCCW Television Title

1988 – Johnny Smith defeated Chris Benoit to win the Stampede British Commonwealth Mid-Heavyweight Title in Calgary, Alberta

1988 – Masa Saito & Riki Choshu defeated Kengo Kimura & Tatsumi Fujinami to win the IWGP Tag Team Titles

1988 – Jumbo Tsuruta & Yoshiaki Yatsu defeated The Road Warriors (Hawk & Animal) to unify the PWF Tag Team Titles & the NWA International Tag Team Titles. The new title is referred to as the AJPW Unified World Tag Team Titles

1995 – Hiroyoshi Tenzan & Masahiro Chono defeated Junji Hirata & Shinya Hashimoto to win the vacant IWGP Tag Team Titles

1998 – David C. defeated Nick Dinsmore to win the NWA Ohio Valley Heavyweight Title in Jeffersonville, Indiana


Happy birthday to Mexican star Ephesto (49)

Also, today would have been the birthday of former NWA star Dick Dunn (84)

In Memoriam

In 1968, Polish wrestler & strongman Wladek Zbyszko, born Wladek Cyganiewicz, passes away at age 76

(Visited 21 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply