This Day In Wrestling History – May 31st

May 31, 2014 - by staff


1981 – Caballero Blanco lost his mask to Águila Solitaria in Mexico City, Mexico

1999 – The Monday Night War continued: WWF Monday Night Raw defeated WCW Monday Nitro:  6.9 to 3.3 in the ratings

2010 – Rick Rude was inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame, securing 85% of the reader votes

2012 – Dixie Carter announced the inauguration of the TNA Hall of Fame. The 1st inductee was later revealed to be Sting

2013 – Triple H was inducted into the the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame, securing with 76% of the reader votes

2014 The Ultimate Warrior is inducted into the GERWECK.NET Hall of Fame, securing 85% of the reader votes


In 1998, WWF Over The Edge: In Your House was held at the Wisconsin Center Arena, in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. With an attendance of 9,822:

– L.O.D. 2000 (Hawk & Animal) (with Droz & Sunny) defeated D.O.A. (8-Ball & Skull) (with Chainz)
– Jeff Jarrett (with Tennessee Lee) defeated Steve Blackman
– Marc Mero defeated Sable in an Intergender Match
Kaientai (Dick Togo, Men’s Teioh, & Sho Funaki) (with Yamaguchi-san) defeated Taka Michinoku & Justin Bradshaw
– The Rock defeated Faarooq to retain the WWF Intercontinental Title
– Kane (with Paul Bearer) defeated Vader in a Mask vs Mask Match
– The Nation (Owen Hart, Kama Mustafa, & D’Lo Brown) (with Mark Henry) defeated D-Generation X (Triple H, Billy Gunn, & Road Dogg) (with Chyna & X-Pac)
– Steve Austin defeated Dude Love in a Falls Count Anywhere Match with Vince McMahon as special guest referee, & The Undertaker as ringside enforcer to retain the WWF Title

In 2012, TNA Impact Wrestling was broadcast live from the Impact Zone, in Orlando, Florida:

Dark Match:
Crimson defeated Cliff Compton
Sting defeated TNA World Champion Bobby Roode in a Lumberjack Match to earn a title shot at Slammiversary
– Austin Aries defeated Chris Sabin to retain the TNA X-Division Title
– Jeff Hardy fought Devon to a no contest. As a result Devon retains the TNA Television Title
– AJ Styles defeated Christopher Daniels

Title Changes

1937 – Red Berry defeated Hugh Nichols to win the World Light Heavyweight Title in Tulsa, Oklahoma

1940 – Jules Larance defeated Gil Knutsen to win the Midwest Wrestling Association World Junior Heavyweight Title in Columbus, Ohio

1971 – Tom Jones & Billy Red Lyons defeated The Spoilers (1 & 2) to win the TSW United States Tag Team Titles

1974 – Gene & Ole Anderson defeated Bob Armstrong & Robert Fuller to win the NWA Georgia Tag Team Title in Atlanta, Georgia

1976 – Jim Breaks defeated Vic Faulkner to win the British Welterweight Title in Bradford, England,

1979 – The Great Kojika & Motoshi Okuma defeated Butch Miller & Sweet Williams to win the AJPW All Asia Tag Team Titles

1980 – Dick the Bruiser defeated King Kong Brody (Bruiser Brody)  to win the World Wrestling Association World Heavyweight Title in Indianapolis, Indiana

1981 – Jake Roberts defeated The Grappler to win the Mid-South North American Heavyweight Title in Shreveport, Louisiana

1991 – Bill Dundee defeated Tom Prichard (subbing for Eric Embry) to win the USWA Texas Heavyweight Title in Dallas, Texas

1999 – on Raw, Jeff Jarrett defeated The Godfather to win the WWF Intercontinental Title

1999 – on Nitro, The Jersey Triad (Kanyon & Bam Bam Bigelow) (with Diamond Dallas Page) defeated Raven & Perry Saturn to win the WCW Tag Team Titles

2002 – Los Guerreros del Infierno (Rey Bucanero & Ultimo Guerrero) defeated Negro Casas & El Hijo del Santo to win the CMLL Tag Team Titles

2003 – JC Bailey defeated Michael Todd Stratton to win the IWA Mid-South Light Heavyweight Title in Clarksville, Indiana

2004 – on Raw, La Resistance (Robert Conway & Sylvain Grenier) defeated Chris Benoit & Edge to win the World Tag Team Titles


Happy birthday to one-time WCW Tag Team Champion Vampiro (47), & one-time GHC Heavyweight Champion Takashi Sugiura (44)

(Visited 5 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply