This Day In Wrestling History – May 14th

May 14, 2014 - by staff


1966 – Bulldog Brower defeated WWWF World Champion Bruno Sammartino via DQ in the main event of a WWWF event in Philadelphia, PA

1974 – Giant Baba wins the AJPW Champion’s Carnival, defeating Mr. Wrestling in the final

1984 – NWA World champion Kerry Von Erich defeated Superstar Billy Graham in Ft Myers, FL

1990 – Ole Anderson was named the booker of WCW, replacing Ric Flair, who resigned from the position, citing continued difficulties trying to run the creative end of the company (which had seen an amazing 1989 from an in-ring standpoint) under WCW Vice President Jim Herd

1998 – Taz introduced the FTW Title to ECW


In 1995, the 1st WWF In Your House PPV was held at the Onondaga War Memorial, in Syracuse, New York. With an attendance of 7,000. At this event the WWF gave away a free home to a viewer. Todd Pettengill drew the name & called Matt Pomposelli of Henderson, NV. to announce he had won the home:

Dark Match:
Jean-Pierre Lafitte (Carl Ouellet) defeated Bob Holly
– Bret Hart defeated Hakushi (with Shinja (Akio Sato)
– Razor Ramon defeated Jeff Jarrett, & The Roadie (Road Dogg) in a Handicap Match
– Mabel (with Mo) defeated Adam Bomb to qualify for King Of The Ring
– Owen Hart & Yokozuna (with Mr. Fuji & Jim Cornette) defeated The Smoking Gunns (Billy & Bart) to retain the WWF Tag Team Titles
– Jerry Lawler defeated Bret Hart
– Diesel defeated Sycho Sid (with Ted Dibiase) via DQ to retain the WWF Title
Post PPV Dark Matches:
– Bam Bam Bigelow defeated Tatanka (with Ted Dibiase)
– The Undertaker (with Paul Bearer) defeated Kama (with Ted Dibiase)
– The British Bulldog fought Owen Hart (with Jim Cornette) to a time limit draw in a King of The Ring Qualifying Match

In 2000, the final ECW Hardcore Heaven was held at The Rave, in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. With an attendance of 3,400:

Dark Match:
– Chilly Willy defeated Johnny Swinger
– Masato Tanaka defeated Balls Mahoney
– Little Guido (with Sal E. Graziano) defeated Mikey Whipwreck (with “The Sinister Minister” James Mitchell), & Simon Diamond (with Mitch, Prodigy, Prodigette, & The Muskateer) in a 3-Way Dance
– Kid Kash defeated C.W. Anderson (with Lou E. Dangerously & Elektra)
– Super Nova & Chris Chetti defeated Da Baldies (Angel & Tony DeVito), & Danny Doring & Amish Roadkill in a 3-Way Dance
– New Jack defeated Angel (with Vic Grimes & Tony DeVito)
– Tajiri defeated Steve Corino (with Jack Victory)
– Rhino defeated The Sandman to retain the ECW Television Title
– Jerry Lynn defeated Rob Van Dam (with Bill Alfonso)
– Justin Credible (with Francine) defeated Lance Storm (with Dawn Marie) to retain the ECW World Title

In 2005, Ring of Honor ran “Nowhere to Run” in Chicago Ridge, IL:

– James Gibson defeated BJ Whitmer
– Matt Sydal defeated Matt Stryker, Ace Steel, & the Masked Superstar from Milwaukee in a 4-corner Survival Match
– Chad Collyer defeated Jimmy Jacobs
– Homicide defeated Doug Williams
– Generation Next (Jack Evans & Roderick Strong) defeated Delirious & Alex Shelley
– Nigel McGuinness defeated Colt Cabana
– ROH World Champion Austin Aries defeated Bryan Danielson
– CM Punk defeated Jimmy Rave (with The Embassy) in a Steel Cage Match

In 2005, NJPW Nexess VI was held in Tokyo, Japan:

– Minoru Tanaka & Hirooki Goto defeated Koji Kanemoto & Wataru Inoue to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Tag Team Titles
– Tiger Mask IV defeated Black Tiger to retain the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title
– Keiji Muto defeated Ron Waterman
– Shinsuke Nakamura & Hiroshi Tanahashi defeated Manabu Nakanishi & Kendo Kashin to retain the IWGP Tag Team Titles
– Tatsumi Fujinami & Mitsuharu Misawa defeated Jushin Liger & Masahiro Chono
– Hiroyoshi Tenzan defeated Satoshi Kojima to win the IWGP Heavyweight Title

In 2006, TNA Sacrifice was held at the Impact Zone, in Orlando, Florida. With an attendance of 900:

– Jushin Liger (with Black Tiger IV, Minoru Tanaka, & Hirooki Goto) defeated Petey Williams (with Tyson Dux, Johnny Devine, & Eric Young)  in a World X Cup Match
– America’s Most Wanted (Chris Harris & James Storm) defeated AJ Styles & Christopher Daniels to retain the NWA Tag Team Titles
– Raven defeated A-1 (with Larry Zbyszko)
– Bobby Roode (with Coach D’Amore) defeated Rhino
– The James Gang (B.G. James & Kip James) defeated Team 3D (Brother Ray & Brother Devon)
– Petey Williams won a 16-Man World X Cup Gauntlet (Also in the match were: Chris Sabin, Puma, Minoru Tanaka, Sonjay Dutt, Eric Young, Black Tiger IV, Alex Shelley, Incognito, Magno, Jushin Liger, Jay Lethal, Shocker,  Tyson Dux, Hirooki Goto, & Johnny Devine)
– Sting & Samoa Joe defeated Jeff Jarrett & Scott Steiner (with Gail Kim)
– Christian Cage defeated Abyss (with James Mitchell) in a Full Metal Mayhem Match to retain the NWA World Title

Title Changes

1964 – Cyclone Negro & Gene Kiniski defeated Toyonobori & Michiaki Yoshimura to win the JWA All Asia Tag Team Titles

1975 – John Tolos defeated Al Madril to win the Texas Heavyweight Title

1975 – Danny Miller defeated Skandar Akbar to win the TSW North American Title

1983 – Carlos Colon defeated Ox Baker to win the WWC World Heavyweight Title in San Juan, Puerto Rico

2002 – on Smackdown, The Hurricane defeated Tajiri, & Billy Kidman in a Triple Threat Match to win the WWE Cruiserweight Title

2003 – Chris Sabin defeated Amazing Red, & Jerry Lynn in a 3-Way Dance to win the TNA X-Division Title


Happy birthday to former WCW trainer and occasional wrestler Sgt. Buddy Lee Parker (54), tag team legend Tommy Rogers (53), former USWA & AWA Tag Team Champion Robert Fuller (63), one-time WWE United States & Tag Team Champion Zack Ryder (29), & 3-time WCW World Champion Vader (59)

Also, today would have been the birthday of former All Japan, UWF & USWA Champion ‘Dr Death’ Steve Williams (54), & one-time WWWF Tag Team Champion Scott Irwin (62)

(Visited 15 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply